Dreams of neurogene, civet cats, and a carnival


Sleeping in the car this morning, nested in a caccoon of blankets because Jeb, whom I carpool with, wanted to get here two hours before I have to start, I dreamt as few dreams or so in quick succession….

I dreamt I’d gotten a small glass tube of clear blue-green liquid called neurogene from a breeder of civet cats in Avesbury England as the stuff could only be created in the bodies of these cats.  How they got it from the cats I don’t know; only that they weren’t harmed in the process.  I drove a long way from there to meet Kenny in a parking lot to give it to him to save someone else.  He arrived and I glimpsed his face beneath one of the lamps in the parking lot as he got out of his car and came over to me saying as I unrolled the window, “It’s too late.”

I know where most of the elements in that dream came from: the other day I was reading about “cat poo coffee” on Xanga, beans processed through the bodied of civet cats; I’d also read of a time-slip incident at Avesbury England in 1901.  Yes, and I knew Kenny’s wife had suffered neurological damage from being hit by an SUV some years ago.  I knew she suffered a lot of pain from that and I think I wanted to help.  The dream, while not prophetic, was correct about it being too late.  I got an email from Kenny this morning saying that she’d died in her sleep after trying a new medication.

Flash to another dream… I’m in a small festival oriented town like San Francisco at night, lots of hills, lots of street vendors and music and trollies.  There are twinkle lights adorning everything.  Oddly enough, I’m travelling all over this town, highspeed, in a wheeled office chair dodging people, cars, and trolleys as I go up and down the hills.  I’m also evading Jeb for some reason but it’s all in fun, a game of some sort.

Flash… and I’m back in  the car half asleep, half awake, aware of cars parking nearby and people walking past unaware of me there.  But when I glanced up at the ceiling of the car I saw that I’d somehow gotten into the state of mind immediately preceeding an OBE: the ceiling was transparent.  I could see the coulds moving above it and then rushing up through I could see the stars unobstructed… all while still seeing the foggy impression of the transparent ceiling.  I focussed on what I realized was a planet, a rusty red orb but not Mars because it had a dusty ring plane orbitting it’s middle.

Shifting… focus… or something else…?  Jeb is standing by the car saying, “Come on, let’s go.”

And inanely I answered, “But I have to get the neurogene,” and tried to explain about it coming from civet cats.

I got out anyway and we walked up the hill together as usual, but nothing was as usual otherwise and, dream-like, I was okay with that.  Instead of work campus, it was a carnival in its place and it looked like the very same place I’d gone speeding through on my office chair so merrily.  It was deepening day, though… morning, with fresh air and morning sounds, echoing voices, birdsong, rushing waves, and some rides starting up.  There were also scents of coffee and freshly baked good a little diesel and kelp. 

I had a sense of this being the future somehow and watched with interest as Jeb bought bottled water from a kiosk.  I was expecting the price to be ridiculously high, but it wasn’t, it was low so I thought I must be mistaken about the time after all.

I followed him over to a ride and let him go up the steps ahead of me.  It wasn’t a roller coaster exactly, but set up a little like one with up and down hills through a mountain scenery the indepent and oft spinning cars went through on a circuit.  He’d been directed to get in a car at the top of the circuit and I was supposed to get in with him but didn’t.  When I got there I didn’t see him so just kept walking and then down the steps of the otherside and out the gate.

Flash and it was night again.  I woke in another car but it wasn’t ours – it was a limosine – and this time I was reclined in the back.  I looked through the ceiling expecting it to go transparent for me and it started to but then solidified again as I settled more into my body and then wondered where all my blankets had gone and why I wasn’t cold without them.  Even as I wondered, a strange man in a fancy tailored suit and long open coat stepped up to the door, opened it, and offered me a hand out.  I took his hand as I got out and then apologized profusely for having been there, explaining that I didn’t know what I was doing there, and he frowned, looking puzzled at me.  I turned and hurried away, embarrassed.

I was still in the carnival though now it was night and the twinkle lights were lit again.  My grown kids, Andy and Amelia came up and walked beside me as I looked for Jeb.  Finally I asked them if they’d seen him and Amy said, “No of course we didn’t.  You MURDERED him three and a half years ago.  Where have you been all this time?”

I was relieved at that point to be woken by the real Jeb.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreams of neurogene, civet cats, and a carnival

  1. Trinity says:

    I love the part “travelling all over this town, highspeed, in a wheeled office chair .” Picture the wind whipping through your hair. Were you wearing goggles? Fascinating 🙂

    Like

  2. Ampbreia says:

    It was fun! And yes I probably was wearing googles and shouting “Weeeeee” as I went. LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

