The pool and the hyenna


Dream this morning…

I dreamt I was a homeless student on a university campus. 

It’s happening a lot.  There are some very brave American kids out there so determined to get an education that they’ll work three or more jobs to pay the outrageous tuition rates themselves even if it leaves them little to nothing for food and housing.  They face up to this because the economy is so bad right now they know it’s their best chance of gainful employment if only they have the smarts sufficient to be accepted.

I know some personally that I’ve tried to help by sending them food at least now and then.  I just get irked though when foreign students of other nations hit on me for the same support or more.  I see the sense of helping my own, but I’m not rich.  I can’t afford to send my own kids to college.  Why should I even attempt to do it for strangers in a foreign land who are probably only Nigerian scammers in disguise anyhow?

Back to the dream though… It was winter and cold out with patches of snow frozen on the ground.  I hadn’t succeeded in hiding in the library before it closed for the night so I was wondering where else to go to sleep in relative warmth.

There was an unfinished swimming pool area on one side of the campus with a huricane fence around it.  The fence wasn’t latched very securely though, so I slipped through, thinking to sleep out of the wind at least in the bottom of the pool.  I new that much of the construction was done though the cement around the permimeter had yet to be laid and was now just gravel and frozen mud.  Coming close to it, however, I saw my assumptions were wrong: the pool was full of warm water, gently steaming in the moonlight and the formerly frozen mud around the pool had thawed.

Delighted, I quickly shed my outer clothing, hanging it with my book bag on a bush, then braved the chill night air just long enough to levitate over the mud and into the blessed welcoming warmth of the pool.  There I floated and slept, rocked like a baby on the water.

Yes, I slept in my dream.  I must have been REALLY tired.

Shortly though, some other students came in the same way I had.  I wasn’t sure if they were there for a swim or just to sleep someplace warm like me.  In any case, they saw me and left me well alone.  They too got into the water and floated quietly.  But being aware of them, I openned my eyes to glance at them, eight in all, and beyond them to the other side of the enclousure which seemed to be onto pastureland or open savannah.  As I looked, I saw unnaturally enormous African animals striding about…  One I was most fascinated with was a hyenna larger than an elephant that looked back at me with equal interest.

I got out of the pool for a closer look, elevating across the gravel and mud so not to hurt or dirty my feet.  The beast was staring intently at me now and one of the girls behind me said, “I wouldn’t do that, Honey.  They get waaaaay too excited when dinner comes so close to them and you realize, don’t you, that they’re big enough to very easily knock that fence down.”

I had a feeling she was right about that but was too curious to stop myself.  Luckily, Jeb woke me then so I was spared seeing the inside of the hyenna’s tum-tum.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

