Calling all beauticians: How Permanent is Permanent?


Chorus from an old song called Time…

“Time, time, rolls the hills along,

makes the stars go round

to the sky’s bright song… 

Time, time, stirs the endless sea…

Maybe time will bring you back to me….”

Yes, I know the whole thing by heart.  When I was younger and still played the piano, I memorized many a song to entertain myself with whenever I couldn’t have my favorite audio cassessettes with me as happened, for instance, when I was stuck in Iran for a year.  Pianos were rare there too, so I played piano in the air and sang along while my fingers did all the right things such that it was though I practiced every day and could still play perfectly when I escaped back home to the States finally…  Which is entirely beside the point. 

But just for the hey of it, I’ll invent some lyrics of my own…

Time tosses us about like tumble weeds through a ghost town,

Through memories solidified of all that once was,

Through silence and dust,

Where music used to play,

Dancers danced,

And lovers laughed…

I know that you loved me once,

As much as I loved you,

But the tumble weeds tumbled on through,

And it was gone like a flash a pan…

The kind they used to pan for gold with

Before all the gold was gone,

And the life in this town faded.

Okay, also entirely beside the point.  I meant “hay,” not “hey.”  It’s not just for horses.  Sometimes it’s just for fun.

Anyway, not that anyone’s going to be reading my nonsense, but I have a very dim hope that a beautician might.  Please, please, please…?

See, I’ve been all excited about going to the Conscious Life Expo in Los Angeles in about 10 more days (but who’s counting?), thrilled not only at the prospect of learning some more grand secrets of the universe, but also a little awestruck at the fancy facilities it’s going to be in and so many people I dearly admire all in one place.  So woman-typical, I’ve been busily planning my wardrobe and jewelry and fretting over my impossible nails and hair… especially the hair. 

GAH!  It ALWAYS wants to do it’s own damn thing!

Well my hair is ALMOST straight but always has some wild hairs available to put on the curly performance even when the rest is having none of it.  This does NOT make it doo friendly.  It’s quite aggravating.  So I thought, well the wild hairs are the most difficult of them, so why not give them their way, let them lead the charge as it were?  Hence, I decided to get a permanent.

But when I went to the salon and found out a perm would take at least two and a half hours and $90, I realized there were better ways to spend time and money and bought a $5 home perm instead.  Unfortunately, they don’t seem to sell perming rods anywhere that they sell permanents these days (What is up with that?!) and I had to settle for plastic ringlett curlers instead, which are too big to be a great substitute, but it was all I could find.

Can you tell this is already not going well? 

Since a little more than a year ago, my once perfect eyesight has waned to the point where I now need glasses to read any small print.  So glasses on, I carefully read the instructions when I got home but, for the life of me, who used to memorize whole books of songs, both words and music, I couldn’t memorize more than the first step. 

Is this a sign of age or something?  Unfair!  My heart is still young…  It is!

I told Jeb, then, that after we took our shower after dinner, since clean wet hair was required, I wanted to do the permanent and needed his help in reading the directions when I could no longer put my glasses on in the process to read.  He cheerfully agreed to this.  So far so good.

He  helped me with the rollers, he timed me on the setting, but we did not do the S test, just relied on the timer because the plastic rollers I’d gotten were not even remotely amenable to quick unrolls and rerolls without tangling and getting bearishly messy.  So we skipped that part.

At the end of the set timing, I asked him to read me what came next.

“You rinse the solution off for 3 minutes,” he told me.

“With or without the curlers still in?” I asked.

“Without, I guess.”

“Are you sure?”

“It makes sense, doesn’t it?”

I should have known from that answer that he was simply taking a WAG at it, but I trust him.  I took out all the curlers and rinsed.  Then, as he directed me, I applied the neutralizer and then rinsed that.

Meanwhile, he’d put his glasses back on and was re-reading the directions as I was toweling up my hair. 

“Uh… um… Oops,” he said.

“What?”

“Uh… I was… a bit wra-wra.”  Wra-wra is his way of saying “wrong” when he doesn’t really want to admit it.

“About what?”

“You were… uhm… supposed to leave the curlers in when you rinsed.”

*SIGH* 

I decided to quickly dry and then curl my hair with regular foam curlers then in the hope of salvaging my perm.  I went to bed with them on like my mother always has, but unlike her, I’m completely incable of sleeping with that kind of discomfort.  I finally got up and took them out at 3:30 AM so I could get some sleep. 

I was relieved when I woke for real later that morning to see that the curls had taken quite nicely and resolved not to wash my hair again until the 48 hours recommend for perming were up.  Tonight that time will be up and I’ll wash my hair.  Meanwhile, my once nice curls are now only mild waves.

Question: if I try another perm right away since this one didn’t take, will it damage my hair?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calling all beauticians: How Permanent is Permanent?

  1. Jess Rotzi says:

    It will. I may not be a beautician, but my gramma gets my mom to do home perms for her and when she or my mum botch one they give it at least a week.
    My roomie suggested to call a stylist just to make sure on that, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

