Halloween Town


I dreamt I was among a large crown of people, all ages, in an almost cinamatically spooky looking castle, but no one was acting at all spook.  It was more like a cheerful convention with conferences going on in various rooms.  In one large room where seating was vyed for around a great round table.  Noble family crests hung on the stone walls.  Children either slept on the couches by the walls or ran to play in the two adjoining playroom while the adults decided what to do about… something.  It was important, but for the life of me I can’t recall what it was.

There was a man there that surprised everyone when he came in and began distributing presents to the people at the round table, myself and Jeb included.  The present was clothing… costumes of various sorts.  Jeb and I received matching Hawaiian shirts of blue with orange flowers.  I breifly put the shirt on over whatever I was wearing, thanked the giver and then quietly exchanged my shirt with the man sitting to my left, who’d received a female Gypsy costume he had no intention of putting on even briefly. 

I took the Gypsy costume behind a curtained alcove and changed into it, coming out to find that other people had changed as well.  One large man was wearing a purple velvet and gold Renaissance costume with tights and cape included.  He had a large sword hanging on a leather scabard over his shoulder and under his cape.  He also had a feathered round cap and looked like a muskateer of sorts sans musket.

I hadn’t been paying attention.  I was confused about what we were doing when Jeb, still in the Hawaiian shirt, guided me by the arm out of the dreat hall, down some spiral steps, out a small door, across a stone courtyard, and out a portculis into the streets of a little town.

It was nearly sunset and all the people were wearing costumes of all sorts and busily decorating the streets and buildings as though for Halloween.  I was puzzled about this because, last I checked, this is the first day of February and I was fully aware of that even in my dream.  “Why are you decorating for Halloween?” I asked a woman costumed like a witch with a man dressed like a vampire hoisting a scarecrow up in a noose hung over the branch of a tree.

“Because we feel like it.”

It was delightful, really, the whole town turning into a timeless spooky village as everyone went cheerfully about its transformation.

By sunet and moonrise, music was playing and costumed people were dancing in the square, opening their hands to let Jeb and I join the circle. 

We danced to Halloween tunes from out of the 1930’s, “Dem bones, dem bones…” something like that, and everyone letting go hands at the chorus line to sweep down in a bow then rise up with sweeping, shaking, hands up to the moon saying, “Woooooooooo” before taking hands again and doing this odd little crisscrossing bowed over walking step in the circle opposite to the direction they’d gone before.

I was having so much fun I didn’t want to wake up when I heard Jeb telling me that it was time to get up.  I didn’t want to!  I even tried hiding my head under the covers, but it did no good.  It was STILL time to wake up.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

