Religion Blinders


Knowing my parents have become very religious “born again” Christians over the years, Jeb playfully asks, “Shall we tell them all about the conference we’re going to?” referring to the Concious Life Expo in Los Angeles, Feb 11-13.

“I wouldn’t.”

He grins.  “Why not?”

“Because they don’t want to hear it.  It would either disillusion or anger them… if they listened at all.  This is why I don’t talk religion with them.”

“Ever?”

“Well, not other than the Christ parables which are worth taking to heart, whether they’re ficition or non-fiction… except, yeah, okay, a few other things too, like there being two different human creation stories in Genesis.  I’ve mentioned that the word Ellohim in the Old Testement is always plural too up until it gets to the part about a particular Ellohim named Yaweh demanding that Abraham make a blood sacrifice of his son and then relents at the last second.  Very cruel that.  But there Yaweh tells Abraham he’s to worship no god before him.  Yaweh isn’t denying the other gods exist; he’s just telling Abraham that he’s Abraham’s master alone.  Oh, and the fact that Genesis comes straight out of what the Sumerian people considered their history, not religion, about the extraterrestrial beings, plural, that bioengineered them as slaves from existing lifeforms.”

“How did they take that?”

“Are you kidding?  They carefully ignored it.  I told you they don’t want to hear or even see it even if it’s right in front of their faces.  They won’t draw any conclusions separately from what their religion tells them they’re allowed to conclude or think or feel.  There’s a reason religions when in power use force to curb the ‘crime’ they call heresy.  That’s what the Burning Times were really about.  Free thought and questioning undermines their absolute power.”

If my parents are happy in their beliefs, far be it from me to try and upset them.  They’re not doing any harm.  Let them be as they let me be when after so much pressure to go to church with them, I finally told them I didn’t believe what they believed and I didn’t want to go to church with them because it was uncomfortable for me.  Being there would imply I shared their beliefs, which would be a visual lie and I’ve always been a very honest person.  After that, we no longer discussed it by mutual agreement.  I’m not going to be the one to break the truce.

Have you ever gone through this kind ideological deadlock with family members of different beliefs?

All that said, none of this is to say I’m at all prone to excessive peeceeism with religionists.  Far from it!  I expect the same level of human decency from religionists as I would anyone else and do not hesitate to tell anyone to their face what I think of it when I think they’re being indecent, inhumane, or are infringing on the rights of others in the name of their religion.  Same if they invade my personal space by evangelizing at my front door or trying to otherwise cram religion down my throat. 

Religion is often a reason but not an excuse for behaving badly.  Period. 

I don’t care what others choose to believe.  I mean, sure I’m curious and want to understand people to a point, but that’s where is stops.  The religion and/or paranormal sections on any blog sites are invariably the most interesting.  I’ll admit that.  But there is such a thing as being too peecee about religion.  The people within it are still accountable for their actions to the rest of humanity as they effect them.  Your rights end where mine begin and vice versa.  As overpopulated as this world is getting we all have to live together so we’d best find harmonious ways to do it and are all responsible for curtailling the nonharmonious elements amongst us for the benefit of all.  Right?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

