Dream Haunts


Just a passing thought to record before it drifts off again…

In reading and hearing about the ghostly experiences of other people, one regular pattern has emerged regarding the spirits of people known personally by the experiencer: they visit in dreams more often than in any other format. 

I specify “spirits” rather than “ghosts” in the instance of dream visitations of relatives since ghosts are a subsets of the spirit form that have yet to free themselves of their physical ties.  Just because a physically deceased spirit visits you in your dreams does not mean they are earthbound.  They could be, but it’s not a requirement of their ability to so visit you.  It only means they want to talk to you.

One particular phrase about that was mentioned to me by one of these experiencers was “come meet me in the void.”  This phrase was spoken by a very brief visual manifestation of her newly dead brother appearing in her bedroom just as she slipped into the threshold state between wakefulness and dreaming, the same state required for an OBE.  The dream that followed of course featured her brother telling her some things he felt she needed to know.  I forget what it was.  The preceeding phrase of “come meet me in the void” is what fixated my attention.  Interestingly, the girl that told me about this did not make the connection between that phrase and the following dream.  I don’t know why.  It seems obvious enough to me.

The void is the world underlying all worlds… the place of dreaming.

Where do we go when we die?  I believe we go everywhere and nowhere.  We go into the limitless expanse of dreamworlds unending and limited only by our own imaginations.  Believing that, I pity the poor fool whose beliefs are governed with fear and guilt.  In the same way that nightmares are formed, I suspect they form their own hells until they can get past that.

Those with bodies and without can meet on equal footing in the void.

Thinking of this, some of the dreams I’ve had as well as some I’ve heard from others make a specific type of sense…

Have you ever had a dream about exploring a haunted place and meeting its ghosts as though you too were a ghost?  Talking one on one with them… understanding why they linger or at least what they’re attached to?  I have and know I’m not the only one.  And they’re always very realistic feeling dreams, like it would be no problem to recognize said haunted place if I came across it in my waking hours.  I would know it and I would also know its ghosts.  They were speaking to me because I listening.  I was on the right frequency to recieve them as it were.

I also think this explains how people not physically dead can nonetheless be sometimes witnessed as a ghost or apparent doppleganger by their loved one or by persons thinking of them.  This would account for the seeing and talking to someone who is known to be faraway elsewhere or even in a coma as though they were right there as well as the magic known as Dream Walking, which I have personally experienced.  This is where you meet another soul in the void whether they’re living or dead and interact the same with them as you would in physical, being fully aware of both realities at once.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

