Weird Dreams


Okay, so I admit it.  My dreams are ALWAY weird.  But I haven’t tried to record my dreams for the past week or so because they’ve been weirder than average though… hm.  Don’t know how to put it.  They were dreams without distinct endings, answerless, ominous…

The Ant People

In one of them I dreamed I was assistant or apprentice to an old man who was keeping a secret.  He had like a magic shop and people came to consult with him in private behind a black velvet curtain in the corner… but that wasn’t the secret.  The secret was a trap door in the floor hidden beneath a rich Abysian carpet.  After one of his mysterious consultations, he gave me a silver tray full of strange oddiments I didn’t recognize and then he rolled back the carpet and showed me the trap door for the first time even as he opened it for me and told me to take the tray down to the “Ant People” that were awaiting it down there.

That freaked me out some.  “Ant people?” I repeated, sure I must have misheard that.

“Yes,” he said.  “They protected our people before and are going to protect us again so I protect them.  I guard this entrance to their abode and send them tokens now and then.”

I immediately pictured giant black ants with a taste for human flesh like something from an old B-grade horror flick and asked, “I’m not the token this time am I?”

“No, My Dear,” he said, reminding me of stangers who have similarly addressed me and making me, if possible, all the more leery.  “You take the tray down and they’ll be happy with that.”

I have no idea why I just obediently did as he said and took the tray down.  After the ladder-like steps, I followed a maze of black tunnels lit only by green flecks of something that glowed slightly in the rock until there they were suddenly standing: giant gray ants with huge black eyes and small antennas wearing long silver robes.  Their heads were ant-like but they weren’t really ants.  More like… well… Grays I guess.  There were several standing in an almost motionless row.  The closest to me reached out with 4 fingered hands and I put the tray into them, noting the scent of cinnamon he gave off as I stepped close to do that then stepped quickly away and ran back the way I’d come.

The Circus

It wasn’t really a circus, not exactly, but something close to that.  It was in the middle of two campgrounds, a haunted house set up with clowns and spooks and acrobats to enliven it for the amusement of audiences of campers.  First I sat watching it, laughing and clapping at the goofy antics and derring do being performed and then the show came to a lavish close and I was suddenly one of the performers going through tunnels beneath the haunted house, thinking, Oh those poor unwitting fools! about the the audience, as if they were being roundly fooled about our untrue innocent appearance.  Then we went up a lift chute and were on the other side of the house, also made out to be the front, and were performing for the campers of the other campground.  At the end of this, as I suddenly realized must have happened before, the audience were invited down into the tunnel as if to explore the make believe haunted house.  Only something here wasn’t make believe.  They were being made captive of something quite ominous.

Pikachu and the Peaches

In this one, I was watching a real life Pikachu, this cute little children’s Anime character…

…just hopping and skipping around a mountain meadow in the aforementioned campground of the Circus.  There were peaches scattered around the meadow and Pikachu LOVED them, going from one to another to chow down on that succulent juicy sweetness, leaving only the pits behind.  He must have eaten hundreds of them and his appetite was yet unflagging.  I could sympathize as I was somehow tasting and enjoying those peaches with him. 

Then he got over to one side of the meadow and stopped eating the whole peaches.  These weren’t so perfect as the others had been.  They had flaws, deep ugly ant covered clefts in them and rotting areas.  He ate around the bad parts but was now watching me as he did so, almost as though he wanted me to notice.  So I did.  I stepped close and started looking at the bad parts left behind.  I saw the ants and the rot and I shuddered.  It was about something far more disturbing than mere spoiled fruit, but I don’t know what it was.  If I did know, I don’t recall it now.

So I have to ask: is it just me, or are other people having really weird ominous dreams lately as well?  Ha!  As if anyone will ever talk to me here, especially after this…  *SIGH*

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

