Toying with time travel


My character Moira at the age of 40 goes back in time to her 17-year-0ld self to alter the timeline she’s on.  She does this with the help of a ghost (named Evangeline) and her soulmate (Trevor), who is grandson to Evangeline.  Too complex?  Just messing around with ideas here.

In various otherworldly communications I’ve come across, the general concensus is of time being linear here on earth in the physical but considerably less so, if at all, from vantage points above the physical.  As from an airplane or a space shuttle, you can look down at the rivers and see where they flow to a far greater extent than you can from on the ground.  Hence, for those that can divest themselves from the physical long enough to gain a higher perspective, including in dreams, the future can be extrapolated. 

It’s not a good idea to read the future for someone however.  The minute they know it, change has already gone into motion in that they will react differently to what’s coming up than they would otherwise unknowingly have done.  Maybe it will save their lives.  Maybe it will just go off into the realm of the unpredictable, the same as an earthquake can change the landscape and thus the course of rivers.  Some times there’s a good reason for things taking the course that they do.  But then, that’s just me.  I know others who can read futures that don’t seem to mind this probability and maybe I’m being silly to mind it.  Whatever…

In any case, the story is practically writing itself to the extent that I was as surprised as Moira when Trevor let drop the hint that he understood the mechanism of time travel, as did his grandmother, and were guiding her through it all for the sake of placing Evangeline in another life as sister to Moira’s grandmother Marie, her best friend, as they had been in a Civil War era life that had been disrupted.  So I was googling around for said mechanism and undertook to look at time travel in relation to reincarnation.

I came across a statement I just instinctively disagreed with on some forum or other called High Thought… that it would be cool to go back in time to meet earlier selves only it wouldn’t be possible for two of the same soul to exist at once, therefore time travel was impossible.

I wanted to argue the point, but there was no way to do so.  It was a closed forum.  It did have some comments from other forumers though.  One agreed to the first poster that meeting an earlier self would be akin to the grandfather paradox, therefore impossible.  Another asked, well why couldn’t two selves exist in the same time-space?  Whoever he is, I liked the way his mind worked.  Why not indeed?

In See You Later by Chistopher Pike, the main character and his girl friend unknowingly encounter their only moderately disguised future selves who have come back in time to set a few things right that will result in saving the world from otherwise certain destruction.  In short, their future selves are guardian angels to their past selves and time above the physical is only helpful illusion, more about organized thinking than actual reality.

At the Conscious Life Expo this year, this was a certain author / regressive-progressive hypnotherapist whose works I’d read and much admired: Bruce Green… something-or-other.  Meeting him in person, however, was a different story – though I don’t feel justified in trusting my instinct in this case.  It’s not his fault he has a New Jersey accent.  He was probably raised there.  The trouble with that as soon as he started speaking he struck me sounding like a high pressure salesman and my BS dector went straight into high geer.  His discussion was interesting despite this.  He spoke of soul journeys both to the past AND the future… that the future, while possible to extrapolate from the higher perspective of higher consciousness, was nonetheless not set in stone.  We could still change the path we were on if only we knew where it led.

As he had done earlier to regress the audience into a past life (not sure if what I saw actually was or not), he then proceeded to progress the audience into five different future timelines in our present life, allowing our higher consciousness to relay these various paths to us and the decision points we could take from NOW to get to our ideal future.  His accent bothered me.  I could not subject myself to his progressive hypnosis command.  My mind just balked at it no matter how hard I tried to persuade it to cooperate.  No way.  Wasn’t happening.  Notwitstanding the circumstances, I still found the notion a perfectly acceptable one.  It even had a familiar ring to it like, Oh yeah… I knew that.  I knew it all along.

There was something else too, not just from him and reiterrated by any number of other speakers: there is such a thing as multiple incarnations into a single space time frame even though most will never meet because they have different objectives to meet – multi-tasking on a sophisticated multidimensional level.  It feels right to me.  So why not meet one’s past self?  That’s kind of the same thing, isn’t it?

Bruce had something about that too… that not onlyl could we change the path we were on, we could shift back in time a bit, as my chacter did, to relive a line slightly differently.  At least I think that’s what he said.  Either way…  Hm.  But then he aggravated my BS detector again with the answer he gave to someone asking, “What then happens to the time line that was?”

“It ceases to exist.”

I don’t know about that one.  It would be convenient except for the fact that we don’t exist in this space-time alone but share it with countless other souls.  What about them?  And why shouldn’t multiple time lines exist, one for every decision point probability?

Thinking back to what I read of the Montauk experiements with time, I seem to recall two men coming through from another time line and being somewhat out of place here but unable to get back to the exact one they left.  They’re leaving it had changed it in some irrepairable way…?  Wish I could remember more about that.  That was a very strange tale.

Oh well.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, Romance, Spiritual, Thoughts and Dreams, Time, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

