Goldfish and the learning curve


1.  On Sunday, I finally had time made time to clean out my murky fish pond. 

Unlike my indoor aquariums which I’m pretty zealous about keeping sparkling clean and beautiful, I’m a little more lacksidazical about my ponds.  They are sooooo much more trouble to clean and I’m not at all inclined to do them unless the weather is going to be nice for me while I do it.  Then too, I must admit I have addictions to various artistic projects I do on my computer and have trouble breaking away from: Corel Draw, Windows Movie Maker, HGTV Home and Garden Designer, and various manuscripts I’m working on, not to mention all the blogging I do…

Yeah, it’d been a while… since last of our Indian Summer 2012… meaning the water was so dark green and thick I could stick a finger in it and couldn’t see any of it below the surface except maybe a vaguely lighter shade of green there.  Not much.

One thing I did see, which surprised me, was glimmering hints of orange swimming around.  OMG!  The feeder goldfish I’d put it toward the tail end of last summer to keep mosquito larvae from growing up in the pond.  I’d forgotten all about them!  I’m a terrible person!  Yet there they were, still alive and grown larger and healthier in all this time.  What miraculously tough little beauties!

Guilt driven, I made the time and began cleaning the pond, skimming out nets full of pine needles, leaves, drowned angle worms, and sludge.  Yucky, smelly stuff. 

Then there was flapping in the net as I raised it and I’d realized I’d accidentally caught a fish. I dipped it back in the water and tried to persuade the fish to swim out of it.  Nothing doing, not even when I let it sit there awhile.  So I got a small pre-formed black plastic waterfall segment I’d been saving, filled it with clean water, picked the fish out of the sludge, and put him in there.  He seemed to like this strange clear water and happily swam around in it, no shock evident.  That was good.  The other 3  fish, all accidentally caught as well, soon followed suit.

It was past my bedtime but not yet quite dark out when I finally finished with all the skimming and dumping of ugly water, finally replacing it with the fresh suff except for a layer of mud I left in the deepest part for my water lilies.  I then positioned the fish filled waterfall segment at the head of the pond and the turtle spitter spitting into it.

The fish danced happily in the spitter current, playing with it like kids do a merry-go-round while I filled the pond up to the top.  When the pond was full, I pushed them over the lip of the falls into it, the last one trying to stay in the current the longest; not shy of me, just clearly reluctant to leave the fun park.

Afterwards, Jeb and I looked down on them from the deck in the last light of day and saw them swimming merrily about in their newly sparkling clean home.  They’d surely never seen it so clean before.  They seemed pleased, playful even.  They were still nibbling at the food I’d sprinkled for them too.

I checked on them again when I got home from work last night and it was a different story: they were all dead!  How could that be?  Cleaner water should have been healthier for them, shouldn’t it?  What did I do wrong?  They hadn’d seemed shocked last night, yet they must have been.

I want there to be goldfish in my pond, so of course I’m going to go and get some more, but what on earth can I do to ensure the next ones don’t die the next time I clean the pond?  Any suggestions?

2.  I’ve been learning wonderful new things on my aforementioned HGTV software.  Since I didn’t have any help learning these things, no guidance from the manufacturer, no customer support, no teacher, and had to learn everything the hard way through trial and error and a great frustration that I stubborned my way through, I think maybe I should do a little tutorial on that shortly.  That way, another fellow struggler with it will have somewhere to learn these things without having to do it that way. 

Not really complaining about learning it that way myself though.  Yes, it was frustrating to get through but I honestly enjoyed the challenge.  I just would have liked a cheat sheet now and then.  You know?

3.  Oooh!  I made an amazing discovery about Gravatar this morning!  That’s our profile thingy here.  I discovered that it works for other blog site besides just WordPress!

A Xanga friend gave me his Blogspot address yesterday and I went to comment on his blog, hit “Publish” and got a security wall of sorts right in my face.  Basically, it wanted to know who I was and what I was doing there and wanted proof of whatever I said.  It was VERY off-putting.  I thought maybe it thought I was a member and wanted me to sign in, but I couldn’t recall being a member and I didn’t want to have yet another blog site to confuse me.  So I gave up trying to post the comment in light of that.

This morning, I visited the site of another friend who’d gone to Blogspot and again attempted commenting.  This time, I noticed something I hadn’t yesterday:  Somewhere below the “Publish” button there’s a drop-down menu of online blog identities: no Xanga, but Facebook, Google, Blogspot, WordPress and some others.  Since I was signed in online through WordPress this morning, I clicked on that one and lo and behold it let me publish! 

Wow.   Turns out Gravatar is attached to all of those.  It’s the head of the octupus whose arms are various social networking sites.  Cool huh? 

Yeah.  You all probably knew that already.  What can I say?  I’m a slow learner but I am so damn pleased with this discovery all the same!

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Goldfish and the learning curve

  1. cocosangel says:

    Hey Ampbreia, I finally found you.
    I am looking for the others, and I feel as if I am lost in a jungle.

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      Was I hard to find? I don’t know how to use the search function here yet either… but the browser bar works dandy to plug WordPress addresses into once people give them to me. You may find some of the others commenting here on my blog and maybe track them back to their pages that way. If clicking on their faces leads back to their Gravatar instead of their blog, then click on one of the links above it naming various networking sites and just choose the one you think they’re at: WordPress, Blogspot, Google, Facebook, or whatever and I think that will lead you to their blog. Not positive. But I think that’s what’s seemed to work for me… but only if they’ve actually posted a blog under one of those. If they haven’t, then there’s nothing to go to. Don’t even know how to message them in that case. There must be a way though you’d think. Still trying to figure out how all of this works. Meanwhile, glad to find you here! HUGS

      Like

  2. grannyandthebaldguy says:

    So sorry about your gold fish and I am wondering if the water needed to be treated before you filled the pond with it.
    City water here where I live always has to be treated before putting into fish tanks or ponds.
    I am liking being here on word press more and more.

    Like

  3. ampbreia says:

    I did treat the water but I know now that wasn’t what killed them. My mistake was feeding them while they were sitting in the waterfall section while I finished cleaning the pond. I remember reading something about goldfish back in the fall. I knew they could winter in the pond. I’ve known a long time that fish can literally be frozen alive and thaw out in the spring just fine and still alive so no need to take them in for the winter, but I wondered about feeding them during cold weather when the pond wasn’t frozen. Turns out you’re not supposed to feed them during cold weather because they don’t have stomachs and can’t digest anything unless they’re warm. They’re like lizards that way. They don’t need to eat for however long it takes for the weather to get warm again, even if it takes months. They won’t even try to eat during those times if left to their own devices. The only way they’ll eat while cold is if you put the temptation right in front of them: fish food. And that’s what I was dumb enough to do. They ate what I offered them and were dead the next day being unable to absorb it. I could tell that’s what happened by the discoloration in their undersides when I went to bury them. Poor little guys! And here I’d thought I was doing them a favor.

    Like

  4. axiomatika says:

    what an undertaking. i am tired just from reading. there are lots of motor skills involved here haha. congratulations

    Like

  5. axiomatika says:

    and so sorry about your fish

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      I am too. Looks like I did them no favor by cleaning the pond and feeding them. I put 6 new fish in there on Friday and danged if a blue heron didn’t happen by and have them for a light snack, dang it anyway. Poor fish!

      Like

Leave a Reply

