The Devil on My Left Shoulder


Typical conversation with Jeb:

JEB:  “Would you like that last piece of Boston creme pie for dessert?”

ME:  “No thank you.  I’m full.  You have it.”

JEB:  “How about chocolate chip cookies warm from the oven?”

ME:  “No thank you.  As I said, I’m full.  Besides, I’m already fat enough as it is.”

JEB: “You’re not fat.”

ME:  “Yes I am.  I’ve seen me.  I’m fat.”

JEB:  “I’ve seen you and you’re not fat.  You’re curvy.”

ME:  “Yeah, exactly: the curve of my belly proceeds me down every path.”

JEB:  “So do you want ice cream?  We have ice cream.  It’s really good; sweet and creamy and we have bananas, green like you like them, and chocolate and carmel sauce to go with it.”

That conversation is quoted from last night. Like I said: typical.

He tries sooooo hard to aid and abet me in my every downslide both real and potential which makes it an especially good thing that I have no inclination whatsoever toward drugs or alchohol. 

“Oh look!  Here’s a cliff!  Isn’t it beautiful?  Let’s jump!”

“Uh-huh.”

“Better yet, you jump.  I’ll just stand here and give you moral support.”

“Oh joy!”

And no I did not give into temptation this time.  Instead, I tell him “Get thee behind me Devil.”

He grins as though he’d just LOVE to do that… but I know otherwise. Gotta love him though.

Who’s the Devil on your shoulder?  Do we all have them or is it just me?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Family, Marriage, Relationships, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Devil on My Left Shoulder

  1. Tracy says:

    I just want to say that I would like to come to your house for dinner!

    Like

  2. ampbreia says:

    Everett, WA. The dessert options are fattening.

    Like

  3. grannyandthebaldguy says:

    Very cool you are in Everett and I am in Aberdeen, WA. Very cool.

    Like

  4. grannyandthebaldguy says:

    The devil on my shoulder is probably my grand daughter<:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

