Things I’ve learned recently.


1. “Add Media” is the button you want to use to add pictures, video, or music here by browsing your harddrive and picking something.

2. However, I’ve only been able to see this button while in QuickPress or after posting the regular way I’ve then gone in to edit. I’ve had trouble posting. Not that it’s stopped me, but things have been kind of sticking and I always ending up having to post things unedited first, which is annoyingly what shows up on Facebook, and then going back to edit. *SIGH*

2. Plugging in long strings of html code in leiu of that hasn’t worked for me despite the fact that when editing you have a button to choose html code view or regular (“visual”) view. Go figure.

3. When I see one of my Xangan friends or anyone else’s name/face pop up in comments to another blog and want to connect with them, I click on their personal link which leads me to their Gravatar which I can then follow by links below it to their blog IF THEY HAVE A BLOG. You may have created a Gravitar in order to comment on other people’s blogs, but they can’t return comment on your site until you have a blog for them to go to. That’s how it seems anyway.

Maybe there’s a method to that I haven’t discovered yet. Meanwhile it’s driving me crazy. Please post something.

4. After much trial and tribulation, I have learned how to make skylights in my HGTV software. There are no such things as skylights listed in the inserts. No. What you have to do is create a floor with walls around it above the floor you want the skylight over. Just that spot… or wherever you want skylights.

For instance, you want a skylight over the kitchen on the ground floor, you go to the 2nd floor in the drop-down even though you don’t intend to make a second story, make a closed square (or whatever shape) of walls (I used 4″ wood wall with an appearance on all sides of Wood Planks# 7). A floor will be automatically generated among them, but you will only be able to access it in the 3D view.

Select the floor in 3D, change it to tinted glass on the top surface, regular glass on the bottom, and glass of whatever sort on the edges and then elevate it 3′ to 4′ feet.

Go back to the 2D view, ground floor, and insert a ceiling over the kitchen and then cut out the section where you can see the faint outline of the skylight/floor above it. Then add the ground floor roof.

Go back to 3D view, 2nd floor, and from about a 15′ foot perspective, adjust the height of the walls around the skylight. Also make sure the skylight itself is exactly level with the top of those walls and the walls above or level with the roof so that there is no well there for rain to catch. That would be bad.

5. Ghosts can apparently be walkins without anyone’s having to walkout.

Usually, a walkin will enter an body and the walkout/original soul will leave by mutual agreement, but sometimes the details haven’t been hashed out in advance and it’s a whim sort of thing where a lingering spirit, a ghost, will attach to the body and mind of someone they percieve to be a kindered spirit so to live a vicarious new existence through the other person’s senses, both sharing equal residency.

It’s not a hostile takeover, though it could be just as easily. But the attaching spirit cannot push the original owner of the body out unless a) they’re willing to go or b) they’re drunk or high and so already mostly out of it anyway so unable to put up any resistance.

This is one of the reasons I’m nervous of being around people I’m fond of if they’re in one of those states. They can too easily be replaced as I can see by their diminished auras and it’s damn disconcerting when that happens even if it’s temporary and the souls that tend to take advantage of such weaknesses tend to be of a crimminal sort or at the very least very selfish/unsavory in one way or another. A lot of recent crimes seem tied to this hostile sort of takeover.

Anyway, that’s not the new thing. The new thing is the very idea of a non-hostile takeover. Something I’ll have to write more about. Just beginning the investigation right now and fairly intrigued about it. Have you ever heard of such a thing before?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Things I’ve learned recently.

  1. You’re learning a lot! 🙂
    Here’s something that has helped me…on the top right hand side of your WordPress page you see your “name” at the top…if you place your cursor/arrow on it, a list will come down…and one of the choices in blue ink is “Helps”. If you click on that it takes you to a Support page…Lots of info there…and Under “Topics” there…I have learned a lot! I’m still learning as I navigate around. 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. I have heard about ghosts doing that. My mom says it’s not good to go to bars because ghosts hang out at them waiting for people to get drunk. They can’t take over a person’s body, but for a while, they can feel what it’s like to have a body again. Sometimes a ghost actually does attach themselves to a person, but not really taking over the body.

    Like

  3. ampbreia says:

    Has your mother witnessed it herself? I’ll bet she has some interesting things to say on the topic.

    Like

  4. LoveIn102 says:

    I definitely understand your frustration with the Gravatar situation. I have NO idea why the set it up like that. IF you can find the person’s WP account name you can Google them and usually that will find the link for their blog, if they have one. as for adding media into the editor there’s a button on the top right in the regular editor that will say “insert photo” and that will let you put a picture directly into your blog.

    Like

  5. kaylar says:

    a. thank you for ANY hints about how to handle this wordpress thingy 😉
    b. yes, i remember reading the same but even darker, re bars and beings hanging about them. maybe it will pop up in my head today, re which of my strange collection of books had the reference. in nutshell, this guy was being shown, with spiritual sight, what happens around bars. it was almost enough to keep me from drinking. but i drank alone, which gives hints as to my ability to self-regulate. (argh. better now.)
    c. i had a lover once that was kind of sad and dramatic. he showed up at my house in tears one evening because there was indeed someone attached to him. my poor guy was trying to talk to him, to find out what was going on and to say NO, he could not hitch a ride, thank you, now be gone!

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      I’d like to hear the rest of those stories! As for me, my experience with that is far less direct and a lot of my deductions may very well be based on assumptions. For instance, I can feel the energy levels and types of people around me and sometimes even people in photographs. I notice people are radiating the most energy from the core of their beings when they’re happy and healthy. I notice that same energy shrinks down to almost nothing when they’re sick, drunk, high, depressed, or about to die with a few days to a few years. In that last, it doesn’t matter whether they’re going to die from an illness or a car accident; it’s almost a though it’s planned and the soul is withdrawing from the body in careful stages. You know? And when I’ve been around people I know who are drunk and uncomfortably witnessed their drop in energy and then also sometimes witnessed a new energy take over… another personality entirely. It freaks me out. I know the going theory in some circles is that this is only because alchol relaxes their inhibitions, but I’ve seen the personality/energy change and I don’t believe it. So in recent years when I’ve read books by psychics and regressionists and the like espousing the idea of temporary spirit takeovers, it makes MUCH more sense to me than a simple loss of inhibitions.

      Tell me the rest of those stories? Could you please blog them or something? You’ve really perked up my curiousity you know.

      Like

      • kaylar says:

        That’s the little i know, about that particular & specific subject. i only knew about the walk-ins from reading a book by Ruth Montgomery. (she was pretty amazing.) But, i had not known about the ‘temporary’ take-overs, except for the one lover that had the hitchhiker. now if you ask me for james bond miracle stories, i could blow your socks off. but in private. (and now i’ve reminded myself how much i am going to miss that little perk of xanga 😦

        Like

  6. Thanks for the WP hints! Still getting used to it over here. Maybe it won’t be permanent, but I figure we should adapt as well as possible, eh? And at least there are a bunch of us over here now. It’s like we picked up our little Xanga town and dropped it in the middle of Manhattan or something!
    I’m not sure what I believe about ghosts. I believe that there are spirits. That there are good ones and evil ones. But I’m not sure how I feel about ghosts.

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      You’re welcome and thank you for coming to visit.

      There are good and bad people as well and all shades of gray in between. (Hmmm… still haven’t read 50 Shades of Gray yet. Must remedy that. Anyway…) I figure ghosts are simply the lingering souls of people not ready to go on for whatever reason: They don’t know or can’t accept the fact of their death and are ignoring those who come to help them as figments of their imagination or something, or their worried about their loved ones, or feeling angry over their deaths, maybe they have a vendetta, or a promise to keep, or they’re addicted to something, like sex or alchohol, or cigarrettes they suddenly can’t get but are still trying to…. And maybe, sometimes, it’s just those emotions imprinted on the atmosphere.

      Yeah… our little Xanga village dropped into Manhattan. It does seem like that. Who were you on Xanga?

      Like

Leave a Reply

