Tween Night and Day


You know the day destroys the night; Night divides the day…” – from The Doors, Break on Through (To the Other Side) lyrics and the Egyptian Book of the Dead.

My own saying is that the darkest part of night is just before dawn, my own little font of optimism.

Dawn is something special… it’s the tween place between night and day when color comes flooding into the night sky, birds sing, and the sun is a pool of butter melting over the sharp mountain peaks calling up the dew into mist like souls ascending to the light.  The air is fresh and perspectives are even fresher.

According to ancient Celtic lore, tween places are where magic happens, which makes perfect sense to me.  They’re always where one thing or place or essence is on the verge of becoming another.

Dawn is the time when we’re first waking up, our souls returning to our bodies from wherever they’ve been, sleep still in our eyes, dreams still lingering in our minds, rising from our warm beds of repose like butterflies from the chrysalis, ready or not to face the new day.  It’s the closest we come in the physical realm to being our truest selves, the spiritual beings we really are.

If you’re thinking at this point that I must be a morning person, you’d be really wrong, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. 

Even when I get up EARLY, before sunrise more often than not, I still don’t actually wake up until around 7 AM at the very earliest.  I’m just going through the motions of being awake: getting dressed, getting driven to work by my husband, carrying on the occasional incoherent conversation, while all the while still half dreaming or trying to remember my dreams. 

I can’t work worth a dang in this state. I do things wrong or forget what I’m doing.  I can’t focus. I use the wrong words when I’m trying to say something, often to comical effect, and nod off a lot… Even so, this is the time of day when I’m at my creative best.  This is when what I’ve brought back with me from the other side is predominant in my mind. 

It helps to waken slowly.  This is when my spirit knowing is most able to download into my physical brain.  If I woke like my husband does, switching from sleep to wakefulness as fast a light switches on bouncing up like Tigger does in Winnie the Pooh, I wouldn’t remember a thing, as he usually doesn’t.  As it is, my time is still limited.  I have to write these things down while I’m still half asleep, or I lose them.

What kinds of things? Dreams and poetry, digested thoughts and impressions from things that have happened hours or days or even years before, movies I’ve seen, books I’ve read, memories from a heightened perspective, many an “Eureka!” moment, and some very strange thoughts, many of which make me laugh later one but most of which prove themselves of some value.  It’s generally my shortest pieces of writing (long winded though it might seem to some) but also my very best I think.

I wonder if this is the normal place for a writer or artist to find their inner muse?  All I really know is that it works for me and, like I’ve said, dawn is a tween place.  In tween places you find magic and I do believe inspiration comes in that very same package. 

Where do you find your own muse?  And what does she look like?  I’m pretty sure mine must look like Tinkerbell, flitting all over the place leaving a trail of golden pixie dust, glowing in the dark before dawn like so many love struck courting fireflies….

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Magic, Paranormal, Poetry, Spiritual, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Tween Night and Day

  1. I’m pretty smart in the shower. My muse never shows his/her face and I never know when or where he/she will appear.

    Like

  2. In my books, Cassie finds peace of mind by talking to her dead husband in the hour before the sun comes up. And for me, as a writer, that’s when I find my muse. My author bio says, “You can usually find Jeff at his computer at 5:30 in the morning, plotting someone’s murder.”

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      Scary. You’d think your friends would hide from you when you’re so busily plotting murder in the AM. LOL

      Like

    • Ha! what your bio says is great!
      I saw an interview with Stephen King’s wife years ago…she said, “When he gets this certain look in his eyes, I know it’s best for me to not speak to him…sometimes I leave the house.” The expression on her face when she said that was so great…I had to laugh. As I think her hubby has a weird mind!
      HUGS!!! 🙂

      Like

  3. ampbreia says:

    Run? Flee with your life while you can? LOL.

    Like

  4. webofsimplicity says:

    Hmm… I am a morning person, but I don’t like to have to rush around in the mornings. If I have time, I am more like what you describe. I like to linger, ponder, awake slowly. However, my muse often visits me on my walks; she apparently enjoys nature as much as I 🙂 But also, late evenings can be really reflective times for me, too–and especially Saturdays for some strange reason I have yet to figure out!

    Like

  5. Stargirl says:

    My muse usually finds me late at night. Strangely, I get the best creativity going when I just sit or lay down and listen to some kind of melodic noise with my cochlear implant. Summer night time sounds, or music. Having sleeping dogs scattered around me helps too.

    Like

  6. This was interesting to read. I’m not a morning person…but I like the feel, smell and vibes of the early a.m.!
    I do my best writing late at night/early a.m…like 2, 3 a.m. I write some of my best poems when I am very sad. I have a muse…he is someone I adore…someone I feel understands me better than anyone else ever has…and when I write about love, sex, relationships…he is who I am thinking about.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  7. I’m so like that. If I half awake in the middle of the night with the line for a story and say “I’ll write it down in the morning” come normal waking hours the power of it has vanished, and I can’t quite remember what it was I was going to say. frustrating

    Like

  8. I’m a night person. I wake up in the morning if I have to, but I don’t like it lol

    And I don’t know about my muse. I just know inspiration strikes whenever it feels like it.

    Like

  9. Lauren says:

    I don’t have a set schedule, so I find my muse at all hours and in weird places. My favorite time of day would be between midnight and 3am, but I also love those in-between times of dusk and dawn. The only thing I know about my muse is that she stirs when I feel the most. 😉

    Like

  10. ampbreia says:

    Midnight and 3AM… Prime-time for dreaming. Sounds about right.

    Like

  11. neegee says:

    Dawn is the part I roll over. It’s magic because it is too early to get up if I wale then so it makes me smile to know I can sleep a few more winks. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

