Boom


My workload has been getting heavier and heavier lately as more equipment is being brought into the company and, our lab staff being small, so much is being sent out for calibrations and repairs that would otherwise be done in-house.  I’m the one who will check it in, set up the histories and files, get quotes, fill out the shippers for the various services, enter the certifications when it comes back, track it while its gone, receive it back, and approve the invoices as I verify each job has been completed to my satisfaction, double-check the work of the technicians here, file reports, and archiving.  That’s the nutshell version of what I do here.  Part of it anyway. 

For the last two years, it got more complicated because we were trying out a new database system so everything had to entered both on the new system and the old and the new one was clunkier, requiring all sorts of extra steps and unnecessary redundancies.  But I survived it and was glad when the new system was finally done away with as not being worth the trouble. 

I had maybe a month or two to enjoy being free of the extra system, albeit still with a heavy work load.  Then SURPRISE!  We were bought by another company and given a whole new operating system not just to track and manage calibrations and repairs on but also to purchase things on and enter our time cards and everything else.  It covers everything we do and it’s not as clunky as the other system we tried out.  In fact, it could be quite efficient except for one little thing: there are bloody codes for everything in the new system and most of them don’t make any intuitive sense at all.  It’s crazy making!

Yes, I said bad words. LOTS of them.

See, the way I learn specific skills is on a purely need-to-know, hand’s on, basis.  Pour something into my brain that I can see an immediate use for and it will not only stay put there but I will very rapidly figure out everything about it.  Pour something in that I can not see an immediate use for, then it drains right out my ears.  Algebra had that effect on me.  I mean, what the hell is it for? 

What bugged me on the new system was a whole bunch of training on areas of the program I will probably never use because it doesn’t touch on my job at all.  Hours were wasted on that training while the work piled up on my desk and I had to go through it repeatedly because I could not manage to absorb the parts of it that I would not be using.  Why do they want to waste my time that way?  I get paid quite a decent wage for them to be wasting my time like that. 

The parts of the new system I will be using, I got the hang of right away.  The rest just frustrated me because it was being crammed down my throat at a time I really needed to be getting other stuff down.

Frustrated is too weak a word.  I was PISSED.  I was so upset at having so much piled on top of me that I beginning to consider a bunch of job offers I’d received through Linked-In.  In fact, I wanted to walk out straightaway but lest it be said that I fled when things got a little rough, I decided to at least hang in there a day or two more.  Then I’d run away to the mountains to be a hermit or a crazy cat lady or something far from the trials and tribulations of the high-tech, high stress modern world and even my husband who does, after all, drive me into it every day.

I forgot that it was my 15th anniversary at work.

My boss told me we were having an impromptu meeting so I followed him to the conference room straightway figuring now would not be a great time to tell him I was leaving.

Everyone was there.  He thanked me for 15 years service and handed me a gift box.

I had to fight either throwing up right there on the table or bursting into tears.  I couldn’t even bring myself to touch the box, let alone look inside.  I wanted to LEAVE, damn it anyway!  So I didn’t say anything and turned away so that I wouldn’t have to look at the box.  When a coworker behind me demanded a speech, the lump in my throat almost choked me and another coworker, Sue, who could see my face, commented, “Now would not be a good time for a speech I don’t think.”

Subject dropped, we proceeded with some training.

Unable to bring myself to touch the box, I left it behind me when we left the conference room.

I know.  How awful of me.  And now I’m never going to know what was in the box either.  *SIGH*

Training afterwards clarified that I would only need to study the areas pertinent to my job and not have to waste any more time on the useless stuff.  It would have been nice to know that before.  It really would have!  Gah.

End of rant.  Good morning!

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Boom

  1. Awww *hug* Job after so many years must be something very personal and emotional to you. I hope the stress and load of work eases and you can enjoy a place where you seem to be very much appreciated 🙂

    Like

  2. I love the about section – I learned more about you personally here in one post than I did in the years on Xanga.
    About the work stuff – how confusing. On one hand being fed up, on the other being pissed they took this moment to appreciate you. Uggh. I have to admit, even I wonder what was in the box now 🙂 Hang in there, this will pass, one way or the other.

    Like

  3. whyzat says:

    Wow, all that changing around! I can understand that your were frustrated. I’ve never been through anything that big, but change in any form can throw me for a loop. When I had to switch from old Windows (whatever number it was) to Vista, I moaned and groaned. When we got a new list of TV channel numbers, I growled (I still only have a few memorized). When my blog site threatened to shut down and I changed to WordPress….I’m still slamming my head on the desk!

    Like

  4. rainbow76 says:

    Sorry it’s been rough for you. I hope the rest of your day is better! Hugs.

    Like

  5. neegee says:

    That sounds very frustrating. But You didn’t open the box? WOW I would have then if it sucked then left it. 🙂

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      My husband snuck it into my file tray so I finally got a peek: It’s a framed achievement award and a catlog I can choose a gift from: jewelry, back pack, watch, or luggage….

      Like

  6. cocosangel says:

    I am sure you must have been frustrated because of the changes around you. I am sure getting away to the mountains and meditation will do some good. It is easier than said. So you will never know what was in that box? 😦

    Like

  7. Aw. 😦 Your frustration and pissed-ness is understandable.
    A tough 15 anniversary at work. 😦
    HUGS!

    Like

  8. Stargirl says:

    Changes are difficult! I probably would have reacted the same way!

    Like

  9. ampbreia says:

    I’d say that it’s good to have company but, really, I behaved rather badly. Thank you for understanding though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

