Pineapple Stir-Fry


Since Jeb had brought home a fresh pineapple and rib-eye steak from the commissary on Friday and my garden is producing quite a lot of sugar peas this year, I decided to make pineapple stir-fry for dinner on Sunday.

For this recipe, you need to marinate the steak in a mixture of freshly cored pineapple (with the juice), 1 chopped sweet onion, a few TBSPs minced garlic, 1/4 to 1/2 cup soy sauce, and an equal amount of either red wine or Japanese sweet Mirren.

I had neither red wine or Mirren, so I used Saki this time.

Bad idea. 

NOTE FOR FUTURE REFERENCE:  Don’t use Saki!

Despite my use of Saki, the dish turned out well, but not as well as it should have.

I should explain about me and wine.  I am not a connesierre.  I don’t drink the stuff.  I can’t stand the taste of alcohol and I’m wary of it’s possible effects on my brain.  Might make me goofier than I already am or seriously ill.  But I’ve discovered that it can be very good for cooking.  It’s a good addend when making Terriyaki or Beef Imperial or French style chicken.  The alcohol cooks out and leaves a nice flavor in its wake.  It also tenderizes the meat better than even a good pounding does… more so if you give the meat time to marinate in it.

Well, the Saki served its purpose in tenderizing the meat anyway.  The meat sat in it for nearly two whole days and when Jeb put it on the grill just to sear it for me prior to my stir-frying it with the other ingredients, it almost fell apart then and there.

Impressed, Jeb took a little taste of the meat fresh off the grill and almost spat it out again.  Unlike red wine or Mirren, Saki does not a pleasant taste impart.  It was so bad that Jeb was kind of gloomy and fearful of it when he handed it over to me to do the stir-fry with.

Suspicious of his unspoken reaction, I tasted it myself and almost spat it out.  I didn’t find the taste as objectionable as he did, but the texture was weird.  It was as though the meat had been heavy floured… gummy like it was coated in raw, wet, flour.  Yuck.  But I am not so easily derailed as that.  After all, I’d prepped this for TWO days.  I was not giving up on it without a fight.

After getting the mis… steak back seared (browned on the outside with pinapple grilled right onto it and pink on the inside), I cut it into small pieces and threw it in the electric skillet to stir fry with a little pre-heated olive oil, margarine, sugar peas fresh washed and cut in half, some red and green sliced bell peppers, and the strained off onions and pineapple from the marinade.

To the liquidy part of the marinade, I added a few TBSPs of corn starch and added to the stir-fry when I could see it was nearly cooked through.  I also added some sweet soy sauce to the mixture.

Meanwhile, I cooked the rice.  It was all ready pretty quickly.

Despite the fact that the saki was in there, cooked together with the other ingredients, the dish still turned out very good.  Even Jeb liked it though it did take him a comically long time to brave that first bite.  LOL.  Then he relaxed seeing it wouldn’t kill him and enjoyed it after all.

 

 

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Family, Recipes/Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pineapple Stir-Fry

  1. That sounds pretty good. It inspired me to mix some london broil with pineapple juice and give that a go, but I ran out of time and did it regular. whatever that means.

    Like

  2. whyzat says:

    Hmm, pineapple and steak…I think I would rather have them separately. Sometimes, marinating can go too far. I’ve stopped eating chicken in Chinese resaurants because it’s usually marinated to the point of mushiness. Mouth feel is important to me, and things that shouldn’t be mushy, well, shouldn’t be mushy.

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      Well, I must admit the Saki took it a bit far. Didn’t run it, but it was way tenderer than it needed to be. I’ve never had that effect from using red wine or Mirren.

      Like

  3. I love pineapple! Thanks for sharing your cooking “adventure” with us! Ha! Glad Jeb tried it and enjoyed it! 🙂
    I want to try your recipe now!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. ampbreia says:

    Hugs back! Just remember: wine; not saki.

    Like

Leave a Reply

