Sleepy thoughts and Fettuccini Alfredo with Sausage and Shrimp


1.  Frustrated.  Buyer bugs me rather frantically yesterday to receive in some invoices and I do all I can.  That includes all that have a working PO.  After spending an hour looking up all the individual items, I find that I already received most of them.  The unreceived ones have in common an expired PO which I knew and requested a replacement for a month ago.  So I check status on said PO only to find she’d rejected it on various technicalities so, being the patient person I am, I did a couple of new PRs for it.  There were two very distinct GL accounts I need to receive against and didn’t see and way to do this on the new system without two POs.  She rejected them both saying I didn’t need them!  GAH.  I guess she doesn’t need her invoices received either then!  I just wish she’d stop bugging me for them if she’s going to keep preventing my doing them as she has.  *POUNDS HEAD ON DESK*  Ow.

2.  Almost finished with my current house design, Stone Underground.  I was ready to say I was finished with it a couple of nights ago and was putting the walk through images into a slide show for posting when I stopped abruptly at the stairwell down to the full basement. 

I’d put a full basement in because I’d read how much more secure against natural earth movements a house is if it has a basement as opposed to just a slab.  A mere crawl space has it’s own problems.  If there’s any flooding in the area, the unfinished foundation area floods first.  In fact, it may flood long before you realize you have a flooding problem.  So how far from your ground level floors do you want that flood if it happens?  0 to 2 inches or a few feet?  (Of note is the fact that much of the time said flooding wouldn’t have happened in the first place had the contractor placed draintile around the foundation).  Also, with all the wiring and piping that goes under the main level floors, do you really want to have to crawl through dirt and cobwebs to fix them when something goes wrong?  You would?  Well I wouldn’t. 

So I made a full basement but figured I wouldn’t have to do anything special with it.  I’d just put in the requisite support columns and plain cement floors and used it for a work shop or storage area, maybe a haunted house for the kids at Halloween.  But there was no way to express any of those mundane uses with my HGTV software.  It doesn’t include power tool, boxes, or haunted house decor icons.  So all that could be seen of the basement from my perch in the stairwell was wide open space.

Nature abhors a vacuΓΌm and so do I.  Besides, an empty basement that has no regular concourse or air flow with the house above gets a stale musty smell to it. So I’m fixing it up now.  I can hardly wait to show you.  Meanwhile, take a look at these basements:

Anyway, just some pretty ideas.  I think I’d like to turn it into party space as well as a workshop and maybe a small gym and/or even a home theater.  What do you think?

3. We came home last night to find that one of our darling cats had upchucked a nasty hairball on the bed.  Said darling cats are no longer allowed in the bedroom I decided as I set about cleaning up the mess.  Couldn’t find a fresh set of bedding I liked in the linen closet so decided to go out and buy a new one.  Jeb and Stephen came, Jeb driving, having decided to take us out to dinner at the food court in the mall since it was clear I wasn’t going to be cooking dinner any time soon. 

As we pulled into the parking lot, so did a dozen police cars with sirens blaring.  NOT a good sign!  Jeb STILL looked like he wanted to park and go in.  Both Stephen and I chimed in saying, “NO, not now!”  It sure didn’t look like a situation we wanted to blunder into! We both guessed it was a shooting and expressed the opinion that too many crazy people could get guns these days and that the sane people that got guns seemed to be going crazy these days.  Jeb loudly decried this notion.  He loves his right to own a gun.  But he did agree to go to Arby’s for dinner instead of the mall.  A good thing, too!  It did, in fact, turn out to be a shoot out going on there.  Sheesh!  We’re back to the wild west again, are we?

4.  New bed set is lovely purple, white and grey and the cats are allowed nowhere near it.

5.  I cooked fettuccine Alfredo with Sausage and Shrimp for dinner the night before last and Jeb asked that I repeat it sometime because it turned out really good, so I figure I’d better record the recipe:

Brown two large Italian sausage links in the deep pan-almost-a-pot.  Don’t cook all the way through; just enough that they can then be taken out and sliced up into bite-size circlets.

After removing the browned sausage from the pan, put water in it.  Do not rinse the fat away first.  You want the fat.  It’s flavorful.  When it comes to a boil, put in the fettuccine noodles, and a large handful of chopped fresh herbs (basil, sage, thyme, & mint) in and cook just until the noodles are al dente. 

NOTE:  I’d have added fresh spinach of collard greens if I’d had them on hand, but I didn’t so I didn’t.

Drain through either a wire mesh colander or a regular colander lined with paper towel so as not to drain off the herbs.  Don’t rinse!

Put a little olive oil in the pan along with the sliced Italian sausages, 1 sliced Polish dog, a chopped onion, mushrooms, 2 TBSPs minced garlic, sliced bell peppers, and fully shelled, deveined, pre-cooked large shrimp.  Sautee until all are suffiently cooked… most specifically when the Italian Sausages are cooked thoroughly and the onions are golden.

Stir in the pasta with the herbs, using two large spoons to lift and toss together.

Add a jar of 4-cheese alfredo sauce. 

If you don’t have it in a jar, you can always make it from scratch by melting some butter in a pan, mixing an equal amount of flour with it, then stirring in a 1/2 pint of heavy cream and a handful of shredded Italian cheeses (adagio, parmesan, mozerella, etc) and stir while cooking on medium heat until smooth and bubbly.

Warm through and serve.

It came out sooooo good!

6.  Had a dream the other night of living in a hotel in Palestine of all places when my daughter’s family comes to visit.  My grandkiddie Vanessa turns out to be a terrorist that doesn’t kill anyone but wrecks everyone’s property in the whole hotel, turning it into a rubble-strewn disaster zone.  End result is that the management asks us to move.  We’re trying to gather up our broken things from the rubble and sneak out of there before Vanessa can catch on and follow us, wreaking more havoc. 

LOL.  She really is a cutey, though.  Honest she is.  Just don’t let her play with anything you’d mind her wrecking, because she WILL wreck it.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Architecture, Computers and Internet, Design, guns, Kids, Pets, Recipes/Food. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sleepy thoughts and Fettuccini Alfredo with Sausage and Shrimp

  1. What do I think about your house design?! May I come and live with you there? Pweeeeeeeeze!!! πŸ™‚ It’s amazing and beautiful!!! πŸ™‚
    The purple, white and grey bed set sounds loverly! Those are my fav colors! πŸ™‚
    Thanks for the recipe here! Sounds yummy! πŸ™‚
    Ha! On your dream! How old is Wrecking V?! πŸ˜€ This just made me snort-laugh! I have some preschoolers in my life that are good wreckers! πŸ˜€
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      1. I do believe I’d like that. You’d be fun to have around. Good luck too. Wait’ll you see though! I hope I can post the walk-through here. Not all of my designs work out. Either I get bored with them or I make them so complicated that my software up and quits on me and refuses to do a single thing more. Now that I’m getting fancy with the basement, its beginning to show its stubborn streak so I hope I can sneak my changes in before it quits on me.

      2. I really like it. I should post a picture of it.

      3. It is.

      4. She’s 4. This is year two/three (?) of the Terrible Twos. *SIGH* And she’s soooooo angelic looking too!

      Like

  2. I really like the chair in the picture with the fire place.

    Like

  3. rainbow76 says:

    I love fettuccine and that sounds really good! The second basement looks similar to my brother’s. I absolutely love the last picture! You have such interesting dreams! Have a good weekend. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

