Basements


When I was a little shivver, my grandparents rented a nice split-level house in Bothell for a while mid-way between living on their farm in Machias and the care-taker job they took on Ketren Island for a while.  In my childish estimation, the it was very fancy and modern and the neighborhood was clean and friendly but it was the basement I loved the house for.  My toys were down there and so was the swing Bumpa hung for me from the rafters.  It was a big open space, so I could swing out as far as I wanted to.  Besides this there was my hideout under the stairs, room to rollerskate, and tunnels through some empty cupboards and behind a wall or two.  Given my life-long love of anything even remotely resembling spelunking, I especially loved that last little asset.  I could happily entertain myself for hours down there.

This is me at age 5…

 photo Debbie_age_5.jpg

I was maybe 7 or 8 when my grandparents moved to Bothell but I can’t find a picture of that age offhand.

And these are my grandparents on their farm just before they moved to Bothell…

 photo 53_GrandparentsSnowbough.jpg

So now I’m putting some effort into my basement design on the floor plan I’m presently working on and I’m thinking about ways to make it kid friendly for my grandchildren.

This is my devilly little granddaughter Vanessa, age 4…  She doesn’t hold still very often…

 photo Vanessas4th_zps2ba1703d.gif

… and this is my cutey little grandson, Levi…

 P1010046_zps8c428e94

Wow.  Strange.  I was my Nana’s little grand-kid myself just yesterday.  She must have been just a little older than I am now when she and Bumpa lived in that house.  I’m about to turn 51 and I have grandchildren of my own.  Time flies in leaps and bounds once you get past childhood and it’s not all fun and games, though it certainly should be.  I can almost hear the heavy beat of its hard working wings thrumming through my mind.

Anyway, basement ideas…

Must have a pair of swings for the grandkiddies and maybe tunnels of some sort.  Definitely roller skating space and toys.  Maybe something like this one, only more…

Hints of cavishness… but in a cozy sort of way; not claustrophobia inducing.  It would be so cool if I could figure out how to do stalactites on the ceiling painted with glow in the dark sparkles.  I mean, you know, without doing it the natural way of minerals being leaked in through the ceiling.  I don’t really want a leaky ceiling.

Home theater.  Of course.

Dance floor.  Absolutely.

A pool table and other games to keep the boys happy.

Tunnels.

Cozy spots.

A mini kitchen.

A cold cellar.

A craft shop to make really creative messes in.

Am I missing anything important?

Isn’t this basement cool? 

It’s in Chillon Castle in Switzerland.  It’s cillin’ man!  Very Romanesque!

or this basement…

Or this one…

Too big and fancy for anywhere I’m likely to ever live, but if you happen to live here, PLEASE INVITE ME OVER!  I’d love to keep you company here!

Okay, what more than a pool, jacuzzi, waterfall, couch, and big screen television does one need out of a house’s recreation area?  Hmm.  Maybe it’s not too fancy for me.  I could cope.  I’m kind of tough that way.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Architecture, Dancing, Design, Family, Kids, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Basements

  1. Wow, your basement is going to have everything! Make sure to leave room for me! 😀

    Like

  2. whyzat says:

    When we were kids, we would get a bunch of cardboard boxes and fix them together into a tunnel maze in our kinda scary basement. Fun days.

    Like

  3. Great ideas for the basement. Right now my basement is just creepy lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

