Grrrr-Guys


Please don’t get me wrong: I like guys in general. As friends, I mostly prefer them to women in a lot of ways. Oh. And I’m straight, so prefer them in that way too. But not the willfully dumb, arrogant, chauvinist, misogynist types. Rush Limbaugh tops this list as do many of the Arab and Iranian Muslims I’ve met. I could do without those.

1. Go ahead and come on to me if you feel like it. I won’t judge you for that. I might even find it flattering. My husband doesn’t want me that way so it’s nice to know someone does. But when I tell you I don’t want you that way… maybe don’t want you at all, take a hint and STOP. We can still be friends… unless you persist. Then I will judge you. What part of “I’m not interested in that” didn’t you understand? Going straight on oblivious to pestering me for my email, snail mail, phone number, or, heaven forbid, naked pictures is NOT going to change my mind. It will only convince me you’re a complete idiot and a classless one at that. Stop it already. I don’t like you at all anymore if you don’t. Were you raised by gorillas or what?

2. Don’t act like you’re giving me permission to be feminine or masculine in whatever way. I’m culturally very feminine by nature but I don’t let it limit me when I really want to do something and CAN do it. Gender may define us to some extent, but it’s not an impenetrable barrier, nor should it be. Thought I left that crap back in Iran. I’m in the U.S.A. now. Oh… and don’t think you’re going to tell me I HAVE to be a certain way or other either. That just won’t fly.

3. I let the neighboring department here borrow the orignal cal certs whenever they need it to identify equipment they need to sticker themselves. In exchange, I expect the cert back in good condition when they’re done with it. I’ve asked them to put the old sticker on the bottom not covering any text since I will have to re-print the certs otherwise. I don’t really need the old stickers back, I just need to know it was removed from the equipment before a new one was placed on. Dumb sh*t – despite being told this repeatedly and my finally putting a notice of my requirements on the folder he receives the cert in – repeatedly returns them to me with the sticker on top covering the text. He says I never told him not to when I tell him to stop doing that. I finally stop giving him the certs. I tell him I don’t care what he does with the old stickers, just take them off. He throws the stickers at me and says he can’t find the items then and demands a meeting with me and my boss. His is the only department that has ever gotten to borrow the certs at all for this purpose, btw. But I compromise, I give him copies of the reports his department generated in order to identify the equipment. I just don’t give him our certs. Don’t really see the need. But we all meet anyway. He tries to give me the paperwork I did give him back… WITH the sticker on the top and over the print. My boss tells him what I told him. I tell him again as well. He accuses me of changing the rules every time I see him. He says I never told him not to put the stickers on top or cover print. He says I don’t communicated clearly enough to him. He doesn’t know what to do. He says “everyone” has this trouble with me. He’s so full of it, it’s coming out his mouth now. Dumb as a sack of hammers! How do I deal with this idiot? He never hears a word I say to him. GRRRRRRRR. He wants it all written down in an Operating Procedure. Fine. But our calibration system is about to go paperless anyway. There will be no cert for him to borrow.  It will all be online.  THEN what will he do? He’s such a meat head.

Okay. Done with rant now. You can all return to regularly scheduled programming.

Ever had to deal with meat head at work? How did you handle it?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Relationships, Uncategorized, Women's Issues, work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grrrr-Guys

  1. whyzat says:

    Oh, gotta love people who refuse to admit they were wrong even when it’s staring them in the face. Sure, it’s hard, but at least just grumble and walk away; don’t say everything is everyone else’s fault! I’m not very patient, I might have used a few words on him that i would regret later.
    And I agree about sexism, of course. I cannot understand why it is that men think that women aren’t fit to work in restaurant kitchens or drive race cars, or anything else that doesn’t require a penis. It’s the 21st century, guys!
    Sorry I left a rant comment on your rant!

    Like

  2. A man being wrong? Mark the date!

    Like

  3. ampbreia says:

    LOL. Not that he’d ever admit or anything as outrageous as that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

