Back in BDUs


I dreamt I was suddenly in a co-ed barracks from I-don’t-know-where being ordered to get dressed in my old size 7 Army BDUs and to put on some kind of silky long johns underneath.  Busses were coming to take us on bivouac somewhere.

The BDUs, along with my old boots were unceremoniously dumped at my feet.  I stared at them in dismay.

“I don’t think it will fit anymore,” I told the Sergeant.  “It’s been 10 years or so since last I put it on.”

In real life, it’s been about 20 years or so since I wore that uniform.  10 years has been the duration of my current celibate marriage.  Celibate like Basic Training was.  Hmm.  Totally beside the point, right?

“PUT IT ON ANYWAY!!!” the Sergeant barked at me.

Sighing and shaking my head, I complied. 

Much to my surprise, I was, in fact, able to put them on though they were so tight I could barely breathe and my top half (though mind-you, BDU are baggy) was so constrained it felt as though I’d been tied into an old-fashioned whale bone corset.

“Don’t forget your boots!” the sergeant ordered, “And be sure you spit shine them.”

Normally, because of my dancing exercises, I have no trouble bending over and touching the floor with the palms of my hands, legs straight… but not with this too-tight constricting clothing on.  I tried and fell flat on my face.

“While you’re down there,” the disapproving sergeant ordered, “GIVE ME 20!!!”

So I knocked out 20 breathless push ups and promptly blacked out.

When I came to, I was in a strange room, sans the too-tight BDUs.  This time, I was wearing a simple negligée, head propped against a pile of pillow on a large 4-poster bed. 

The place looked very poor and unkempt.  The posts were broken at varying heights.  The frame of the canopy over them was therefore hanging loose and unevenly over them.  The sheer drapes on it old and torn.  The white paint on the bed stands and two wardrobes was bubbled and peeled in places as though exposed to the weather… which they were actually.  The wood floor was just unvarnished planks.

There was no wall on the right side of the bed.  It was just open to a grassy yard separated from the bedroom by only a long and fairly dirty looking narrow swimming pool.  A full moon was shining down on it from a starry sky.

I didn’t know this place; not in real life and not in any dreams I’ve had before.  So I got up and started snooping around. 

One wardrobe was locked… as was the bedroom door that must have led to the rest of the house.  The other wardrobe was stuffed with quilts that were in much better condition than anything else in the room.

Outside, I suddenly heard the sound of music… something about sleds and skiing… something that reminded me of Christmas, but not overtly so.

I realized my only way out of the room was over or through the dirty pools but now noticed the Constantia wire topped storm fencing around it.

Someone rattled the door knob as though unlocking the door and I took a running leap at the pool, was aware of falling short, and woke before I hit the water.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Back in BDUs

  1. whyzat says:

    Good thing you didn’t have to find out what was in the pool! Dreams always make me wonder what in the hell my brain is doing!

    Like

  2. I have sometimes dreamed of being back in the Army, which for me was 42 years ago. My marriage was more or less celibate, for the last year of my wife’s decline. It isn’t easy, but it’s a matter of chastity.

    Like

  3. You have the most interesting dreams! I’m glad you woke before you hit the water!
    Do you ever sit and figure out what you think your dreams mean? Why you had them?
    I’m curious about dreams, but have never studied interpretation, etc.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. A celibate marriage? The entire 10yrs??? I endured a few years of a celibate marriage before my ex-husband left me for another woman. It was a miserable time but much of the misery was unrelated to celibacy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

