Morning thoughts on religion and stuff…


1. Chatting with an African Pentecostal Christian online who right away introduced himself as such, I suspected his next bit would be to ask me if I were “saved,” since such introductions are usually followed by evangelists attempts.  But not this one.  No.  He merely asked if I feared god and I told him I didn’t.

His shocked response was to ask if I didn’t believe in god or creation then.

Mighty big false assumption there!  But having been raised Pentecostal myself, I knew where he was coming from.  They teach assumptions like that in Pentecostal churches.  So I explained to him that as I saw it, we were all expressions of god and therefore fear was inappropriate.

He asked what religion I was.

I told him I was an agnostic witch. 

He asked how I’d been recruited to join that church and I explained that it was neither a church nor a religion; just an acceptance of interconnectedness between all things and the reality of magic.

He said, “I’m kind of scared now to realize I’m talking to a witch.”

I responded with, “I felt kind of threatened when my Sunday school teacher used to preach ‘Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live!'” and mentioned a few other witches I’d known in that church, how I’d left and they’d stayed, and how illogical it seemed to me that they’d stayed among people who continually condemned them just for being themselves.

Next up was the discussion over the fact that, no, witches do NOT worship satan.  Satanists do (hence the name) and Satanism is really just a rebel branch of hardline Christianity.  Or a reaction to that anyway.  It has nothing to do with witches.

It was a strange conversation but only goes to show how many random off-the-wall misunderstandings we can have with various groups we are not a part of.

2. Dyslexic Satanists worship Santa.

3. What do I believe?  Whatever makes sense to me at the moment.  I’m always chasing after new ideas but there are, of course, certain bedrock ideas I’ve always held that went at odds to what Sunday-school tried to teach me way back when:

  • That God is the awareness of the cosmos and all things (including us) that exist in that cosmos are expressions thereof.  That all states of being and expression are thereby tried out.
  • Reincarnation.  I believe it happens often.  God explores itself that way.
  • That magic is real… and that it is also science we just don’t fully understand yet.  Or as Arthur C. Clark put it so much more tidily: “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.”  Magic is the mechanics of the universe and flows between all things in endless levels of being.
  • That our souls are eternal.  We’re expressions of god.  We’re energy.  We do not fade away.  We simply change forms in order to broaden our horizons as it were.
  • There is an “after life,” which is where the majority of our real lives take place.  Earth is like Star Trek’s halo deck in this equation.
  • Dreams are a place between what is here called life and death, referred to by people on the other side as “The Void” where all souls can meet and interact regardless of whether they’re in the physical or not.
  • We are expressed (humans specifically) as independent entities and as such, once breathed, can therefore make choices in the continuation of that expression.  We can ourselves express positive, neutral, or negative energies and whatever sort we send out is what comes back to us.

And that’s as far as I’m going to go with that list.  Aren’t you glad?

4. While Jeb, his son, and my daughter are marathoning on video games all weekend, Jeb turns on the television for me out in the living room since it’s many newfangled technicalities are a bit much for me.  But that’s just to keep me company, apparently, because while he’s marathoning, I’m playing on my computer writing, drawing, or socializing.  But what does he put on for me in the next room?  Ancient Aliens.

Okay, Ancient Aliens is interesting and I will admit to having a huge crush on Crazy-Hair-Guy, aka Giorgio Tsoulakas, but it goes on for hours!  And unable to help but listen to it, I’ve noticed something: it’s like a religion.  It’s all about insisting it’s real and cross-examining this idea is somehow verbotten.

They examine all these archeological finds, myths, traditions, paleontology, neural physiognomy, and strange things of all sorts and attribute them all to ancient aliens without even considering other possibilities.  No where, for instance, does it ever consider the possibility that ancient terrestrial humans developed high civilizations.  No.  It can only be aliens.

Erich Von Daniken, the author of Chariots of the Gods, is a regular on the show beside my Georgio and his attitude is a particularly interesting one.  He sincerely believes that Yaweh was an alien (which I agree he probably was) but this in no way shakes his standard religious beliefs.  It has never shaken them.  He’s Catholic I think.  Something like that.  But he’s also an Ancient Aliens Theorist.

The term “Ancient Aliens Theorists” is used repeatedly throughout the show with the same tone of pseudo-authority that any religionists might apply to themselves.

I just think it’s interesting is all.  Can’t help wandering, though, with as many conflicting religions as there are in the world at each other’s throats, do we really need another one?  LOL.

5.  I’m noticing these days that many people my age are looking old to me – guys in particular.  I’m 51 and some of them look as old to me now as people that age did when I was in my 20s.  It’s kind of disorienting to realize this.  So I’ve resolved not to judge Demi Moore on her relationship with Ashton Kucher.  It’s perfectly understandable.

Meanwhile, I’m wondering… if I see them that way, do they see me the same way?  I don’t feel old.  Do they?  And when I look in the mirror, though I’m not happy with my reflection, I only see my plumpness, not my age. 

Do I have blinders on?  Selective vision, what have you..?

Anyway… Good morning!

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Aliens, Books, Computers and Internet, Family, History, Magic, Relationships, religion, social pychology, Spiritual, Thoughts and Dreams, Time, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Morning thoughts on religion and stuff…

  1. zeal4living2 says:

    I enjoyed reading your spiritual thoughts. At least you are thinking about it. Most people dont think at all but just accept what is dished up to them. I was somewhat disappointed when your list stopped.

    Like

  2. ampbreia says:

    I’m sorry, LOL. And here I thought I was being mercifcul stopping there. I was only listing the most immediate of my solid beliefs. I pretty much question everything so everything is open to cross examination. I think it’s a bad idea to ever stop questioning. Wouldn’t want to stagnate, you know?

    Like

  3. I always enjoy hearing what people think (and feel) about spiritual things.
    I am a questioner! Been that way since I learned to talk as a baby! I was the “Why”-kid!!! I read and question and search and am very open-minded.
    I don’t feel very deep or spiritual…even tho I was raised in religion. I am finding I just live for the moment. Religion seems oppressive and divides people. That bothers me. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Wow, I’m just a few years older than you…I am finding people in their 40’s are looking old! Ha! I remember thinking my 2nd grade teacher was ancient. Then years later a friend send me the teachers obit when she died…I did the math…she was only 43 when she was my teacher! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your #2 is fun! ๐Ÿ˜€ I heard the one about dyslexic people praying to Dog. ๐Ÿ™‚
    HUGS!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. ampbreia says:

    LOL. You must have been an entertaining and sometime exasperating kid to the poor adults that had to answer all your questions. I totally approve of that! And I’m surprised at you’re being older than me. I’ve always thought of you as very youthful. That’s something interesting…. Einstein described his own genious as only intense curiousity that never quit. Yet the parietal lobe (?) of his brain examined after his death in his 60s told something more: it was 50% larger than the average brain of a person that age and the various aspects of his brain in general showed it to be more akin to that of a man in his 20s. The deduction that was made from this was either that he was born with an unusually advanced brain OR he developed it because he never stopped asking questions and regularly put time aside just to think these out. I’m more inclined to believe the latter. Bet your brain is something like his.

    Like

  5. “Dyslexic Satanists worship Santa.” ๐Ÿ™‚ I am a Baha’i and see Wiccans as followers of an ancient female Messenger of God, whose Teachings are as valid, for Her followers, as Christ’s Teachings are for His.

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      That’s interesting. I never heard that before… but then Wicca isn’t a religion I know very much about. What was her name and when did she bring these messages?

      Like

  6. I like reading what you have to say about spiritual things. I respect everyone’s beliefs, but I don’t consider myself to be apart of any religion. I just believe what I believe and I don’t push my beliefs onto anyone.

    But I don’t understand why anyone should fear the Great Spirit? I don’t. But then, I believe the Great Spirit is a kind being, that loves us all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

