The Color Purple


 945828_586300591408832_1454213470_n

My friend Dana posted this picture of a purple door on his facebook yesterday and I fell in love with it!  I love Victorianna and I especially love purple!  Oh, and I have a thing for any sort of portals and tween places.

I asked Dana what the color meant and he told me that the color indicated a witch lived there. 

Now that’s my kind of door!

He also added THIS explanation much later in the day.

Anyhow, my husband works in the lab next to my office so I invited him in to see the door.  I didn’t expect him to like it since he can be pretty conservative in many ways and, let’s face it, purple doors just aren’t.  I was just hoping…. You know?  But guess what?

He loved it!

Testing this, I asked him if I could paint our front door like this and I nearly fell out of my chair when he said “Yes, absolutely!” 

Now I must hurry to get the paint before he can change his mind or the rains come.

Interesting he said “Yes” for another reason.  Last year (or the year before?) when I painted the deck railing royal garnet and black without asking him first – since there could be no denying it needed a paint job – he liked it a lot but balked at my painting the door royal garnet.  Royal garnet is a rich dark red, the sort you see a lot in Chinese architecture, and red symbolizes welcome.  He didn’t say why; he just said no.

Yet he criticized the house design I was working on the other evening as being unwelcoming because I put the main entryway on the side rather than the front.  Go figure!  Now he wants me to be welcoming?

I told him that an unwelcoming front, also hidden by trees, was fine by me because I wanted my privacy at home.  I might want to run around nude without the neighbors stopping to stare or calling the police, you know?

But purple is a better color.  I am a witch and I love the color purple.

Jeb’s being very open to trying new things lately, so either the color purple is resonating in him or maybe it’s that whole “Once in Blue Moon” thing.  He even volunteered to try plantains after I showed him a picture Nciteful had posted of a fried one:

20130819004x900

Doesn’t this look yummy?

Wasting no time, I hurried and got some plantains for dinner last night: straight ones still green but just starting to turn yellow.  I peeled them, sliced them vertically, and fried them (flat side first) in a mixture of coconut oil and margarine, seasoning them with Johnny Season Salt and a good sprinkling of cinnamon.  And he loved them!  Even said he liked them better than potatoes and I was welcome to do them again any time I wanted.

This, despite the fact that I burned the rounded side.  See, the flat side took a fair amount of time to turn nice and crispy golden… 15 or 20 minute, so I assumed that, like chicken does, that the other side would take just as long.  WRONGO!  The other side cooked waaaaay faster than I thought it would.  But it was still good on the flat side.  Just had to scrape the burn away… 

Ah well!  You live and learn…

…to find your PURPLE side!

Have you found yours yet?

Eureka says I!

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Architecture, Design, Recipes/Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Color Purple

  1. I love the purple door. At this point in my life, I would never tell a woman I loved she could not paint our home or any part of it any color she wanted. Alas, my wife is with another man now, and I am alone.

    Like

  2. rainbow76 says:

    That is a kool door and entrance! When I had my house, I chose red and black. Red being for the door. My husband at the time couldn’t deny me that cause he knew it was my way or no way lol. I love plantains boiled or fried, either way they’re good. Glad your husband said yes so you can paint the door in the color you like. I love red so I am thinking I wanna do my bedroom in red. We’ll see lol. Have a great weekend! 🙂

    Like

  3. That’s a neat door. I bet your door will look great painted like that.

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      I’m betting that too… even if my door isn’t exactly the same design. Mine has 6 carved squares and a half-circle window atop with an etched rose in it. I think the color will suit it very well.

      Like

  4. whyzat says:

    I like the door, too, and might paint ours some bold color, but it’s varnished oak and we paid extra for it. Maybe the back door…

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      Yeah, it’s hard to deny the appeal of varnished oak for sure… and I have that too, but only on the inside. The outside has always been painted. Right now it’s a boring pale gray that matches the siding. The previous owner did that. Time for a change now!

      Like

  5. I LOVE that door!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂
    I found my purple side when I was a little girl! 🙂
    HUGS and Happy Whee-kend!!! 🙂

    Like

  6. nciteful says:

    Your hubby and I seem to think along the same paths. The front door and trim on my house is a bright China red.

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      Do you? He wouldn’t let me paint our door red… but he’s letting me paint it purple. It would be pretty either way. Better than the gray it is now. But I guess he and I both love purple even more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

