The weekend past


1.  Talking with one of my online friends on Friday, he asked if I believed in religion. 

I told him no. 

He asked, “Why not?”

I’m more inclined to think when asked that way, “Why should I?”  but replied more simply: “I don’t like the bars around my thinking.  I don’t like the limits.  It doesn’t suit me.”

“Do you know the difference between secular government and religion?” he asked but didn’t wait for the immediate answer I had for that: “Law just tells you what you can and cannot do.  Religion tells you how to think for yourself.”

I almost laughed when he said that.  Nothing has been further from my experience.  Back in my religious days, I recall religion telling me what to think and do; not HOW to think for myself.  Religion damned much of what I am in both senses of the word.  Breaking free was a mind opening experience.  But I just gave him the cliff notes version of that.

Later I was telling him how my 2nd husband used to jangle my nerves all the time by continually exploding about things that happened in his life that, mostly, I’d had nothing to do with.  He’d yell about being teased on the bus as a kindergartener.  He’d yell about the traffic on his way home from work…. He’d yell and he’d throw things constantly.  I got so used to it I’d anticipate it the moment he came home and it would give me stomach cramps.  In response, my energies would run a little wild and fry his treasured electronics on occasion.  Well, not “fry” exactly; just put out of commission for a while.

I never hurt him personally with those energies, though I saw his hair lift once as an energy ball flew from my solar plexus, skimmed his head, and then landed in his stereo system and television, which immediately shut off and couldn’t be turned back on for a few hours.

My friend assumed that I meant I’d simply broken the equipment.  I hadn’t, of course, but I let him believe this far simpler idea.  But even so…. hm.  I couldn’t believe what he said next:  “But it was good.”

“What was good?”

“That he yelled a lot and kept you on your toes.”

“Excuse me?” I asked.  “How can you call that good?  It made me sick to my stomach and unable to really control my energy around him.”

I’m going to go out on a limb here and assume he didn’t understand about the energy, let alone female psychology.

“But it was good, you see, because most women like that.  It keeps them from becoming bored with a man.”  He then went on to explain how men could better “protect” women by making them scared around them.  I forget the exact words he used, but something along those lines. 

More correctly, I thought, it keeps them from wanting to be around such men.  I didn’t want to talk to him much longer.  I don’t dislike him or anything for his honest opinions, I just totally don’t identify.

Do you?

I also told him about how laws didn’t protect women in Iran, but only protected the right of the men in their life to either kill them or make them obedient.  I pointed out that too often it’s the men in these women’s lives they need protecting from.

He just didn’t get it.  I think he tought this a perfect situation for men and women to be in.  Need I even bother to say how vehemently I disagree?

2.  Cleaning the cat box downstairs on Friday, I heard meowing out back.  Our wild kitty, Muffin, doesn’t meow much, so I was certain it had to be Phoebe, who’d right away climbed a tall tree when she went out on Monday and we’d been able neither to reach her nor coax her down.  So I went to check.

She wasn’t at the door.  I called her again.  Nothing.  I thought I must have imagined it.

I was just cleaning the guinea pig cage when I heard it again.

This time she was at the back door.  She’d gotten down!  I picked her up and cuddled her, never mind the pine needles stuck to her fur.  She purred her heart out… up until Jeb came down and insisted she have a bath before letting her roam the house free.

Phoebe HATES baths so it took both us to get her bathed.  Afterwards, though, bundled in towels, she was soon purring again.

She got even with us though.  She kept us up all night, scratching and meowing at the door for attention.  I finally let her in.  She hopped on the bed and soon chased Jeb out with her constant anxious attentions.

In the morning, Jeb told me that he hadn’t slept well because his office floor was rather hard.

I stared at him.  Asked, “Why did you sleep on the garage floor?  Wasn’t it rather hard and cold? Why not on the couch in the living room?”

He stared back.

“I said my office, not the garage.  Too noisy with the aquarium pumps and the crickets out in the living room.”

Don’t know why I said “garage.”  I never know what’s going to come out of my mouth first thing in the morning.  LOL.

3.  Saturday afternoon and evening was really nice.  We kidnapped my daughter Amy from her hubby and kidlings and went out to dinner at Emory’s on the shore of Lake Stevens.  We got to sit out on the deck and enjoy the warm summer breezes and the fresh lakeside ambience. 

Afterward, we went to see that movie The Mortal Instruments: The City of Bones.  It was a lot of fun and it’s way too tempting to tell you all about it, but I don’t want to spoil it for anyone.  Ended with quite of few threads dangling though, which exasperated Amy and Jeb but cheered me.  This means there will be sequels.  Yay!

4.  Amy has a new nickname for me… at least I think it’s a nickname.  She says I’m “Adorkable” because of my habit of arm dancing constantly.  Other people just yawn and stretch… I do belly dancing arm movements, sometime sneaky on the sly and sometimes in full grand scale.  Hey, it works for me.  It doesn’t really look too odd does it?  I’m sure I’m not the only one who does this.

How was your weekend?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Family, Kids, Magic, Marriage, Middle East, Movies, Paranormal, Pets, Relationships, religion, Uncategorized, Women's Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The weekend past

  1. Debra, please IM me on FB I’d like to ask you some questions about that energy you disperse:) I think I might have something similar but just unsure how to use it since most electrical appliances break or quit working properly when I’m around them. Does that hint at anything?? Thanks so you DID rewrite Foreign Passions…..who published it?

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      Yes, I published it myself through Amazon Create Space in February along with a romance novel I wrote called Dream Lover. It was so much easier this way and Amazon was so helpful!

      Like

    • ampbreia says:

      I don’t really know how to answer on facebook nor how to private message here but the energy has a strong emotional component to it. I didn’t want to hurt him so I simply didn’t, but the energy had to go somewhere. You know how you get that churning weight in the pit of your stomach when you’re either really upset or excited about something? It feels like it needs a physical release and when you can’t give it that you just stand there feeling like you’re going to explode. I rarely allow myself to feel that strongly about anything anymore but this was in my late twenties and I was still pretty much a diamond in the rough. Didn’t know myself yet, felt trapped and helpless, didn’t have much confidence, was still very angry about what happened in Iran and the loss of my son. So I had all this excess energy. I’m sure you know exactly what I’m talking about. I’d feel it building in my stomach and the heat of it burning up toward my solar plexus, which was where it would stop and then shoot outward. It was like a big ball of static electricity. I could see his hair lift when it skimmed over his head, and then all the elctronics on the other side of him would crash (stereo, speakers, television, VHS/VCR).

      It wasn’t a power outtage. The room lights and oven and such still worked. It was just those things that didn’t. And it was just temporary. Once I’d calmed down they’d work again.

      It’s just a sign I think of a natural witch with too much pent up energy waiting to explode. You’re probably still very raw and stressed out from what you went through. Sounds like you’re channeling it the same way I did. It actually kind of scares me to think of what would happen if it went into a person instead of electronics.

      My friend Danna just posted something this morning about how to train your energies so they don’t fly wild. If I can find it again, I’ll share it on facebook for you in case you missed seeing.

      Like

      • Thank you and YES I’d like to learn more about this because come to think of it, these electronics seem to go OUT when I’m stressed or upset. I can go down and turn the dryer on and it won’t shut off, but if John does it it’s fine, I’ve screwed up TV’s, alarm clocks and microwaves:)

        Like

  2. I agree on not believing in religion, well we both have somewhat of a similar experience in Iran, but in my view: Religion is another form of prejudice (if you don’t do this your not going to heaven, if you are not a Catholic God won’t recognize you as a true child of God) tooooo many judgmental comments from a group of people who aren’t supposed to be judgmental!! I’m spiritual as to I BELIEVE IN GOD, but on my own terms. And as long as I don’t intentionally harm anyone and do what I feel is morally correct to help others, I feel I will be OK when it comes judgment time by the ONE ENTITY that CAN JUDGE YOU! Just my opinion.

    Like

  3. #1. Wow! I don’t identify with his way of thinking either. (Wow. I’m still shaking my head!)
    Glad you had a fun time at the movie on Sat-Day! I like danglin’ threads, too! I like sequels to some movies! 🙂
    I’m glad Phoebe is okay! and you are both bathed! 😉 😀
    “Adorkable” is a wonderful nickname! Keep arm-dancin’! 🙂
    HUGS and Happy Monday!!! 🙂

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      Turned out that Phoebe’s peskiness all night may have been for more than getting our attention for herself. Our other cat, Cole, had followed me into the storage room unbeknownst to me and gotten locked in. We didn’t realize that until the next morning. Phoebe had been trying to get us down there to let him out. HUGS good morning!

      Like

  4. Well, I don’t identify with that person’s way of thinking either. I know I don’t like to be around guys, or anyone, who yells about everything. I don’t know how he can think most women like that.

    The Mortal Instruments movie is based on a book, I think. Glad to hear it was good.

    My weekend was good. I had fun on Saturday meeting authors and Sunday I just rested.

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      I think some poor guys are so clueless about women that they could benefit from some sort of class on the subject in high school… and vis-versa too I suppose. Sometimes we seem like two different species entirely, LOL.

      Which authors did you meet? Was it at a convention?

      Like

      • It was at a Comic bookstore called Comix Connection. For the past 5 or 6 years, they’ve done what they call a Creator Cookout. They have a number of authors at the store to sign books and chat with the fans. They also make food on the grill for the people coming there to eat. During the cookout, they also accept donations for the Pennsylvania food bank.

        This year was my second time going. Last year I went there to see Brian Keene. He was there again this year and I went to meet him again. He’s a very nice guy. He signed four books for me. I also met Mary SanGiovanni and got a few books signed by her. She’s nice too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

