War isn’t natural


My grand uncles, Wallington and Earl, were in their teens and riding in the back seat when they were in a car accident involving a logging truck near Iron Mountain, MI, in 1943.  Before their eyes, their parents were thrown through the windshield and decapitated by the falling glass.  They sat there frozen in horror for hours before the wreck was discovered.

The boys were brought home and their married elder sister (my grandmother) moved back in there with her husband Millard and baby Keith in order to finish raising them in familiar territory.  Millard was the only one who could make them smile and even laugh in those dark days with his clownish antics, often back flipping away from them in the middle of a conversation or teaching them to do daredevil tricks on their bikes.  But Wallington and Earl were deeply disturbed by what they’d seen and both seemed to harbor a death wish… drinking too much, starting brawls, driving recklessly and at high speed, being generally reckless in everything they did.

Pearl Harbor and the resulting joining in of the U.S. in WWII was the answer to that dark wish.  Both joined as soon as they were old enough: Wallington to the European theater; Earl to the Asian theater.

Wallington was captured with team mates by Nazis at the Battle of the Bulge after they’d blown up a bridge and ended up stuck on the wrong side.  He has never talked about what happened to him in the German POW camp.  I only know that he and his team escaped together after months in captivity but were in very bad shape and more than a little crazy by the time they got back to their own troops.  None of them were able even to talk about how they’d done it.

Earl was downed in his plane in the middle of a rice paddy.  A kind elderly Japanese couple pulled him from the burning wreckage and hid him in their basement for months while he healed.  When the Japanese soldiers came to investigate the wreckage, they lied and told them the pilot had died in the flames.  Later, they repatriated him with American troops at much risk to themselves.

Both brothers met their older brother George (who was a Navy chaplain) while rehabilitating in Hawaii and it was a very joyous reunion, especially since the whole family had thought Wallington and Earl were dead up until then and been in mourning.

That’s all I know about their war histories, despite the fact that my younger grand uncles were at many a family get-together while I was growing up.  I only knew them for singing and playing the accordion and being generally jolly but a little crazy.  Their eyes would tear up and their faces suddenly go very still whenever the war was even mentioned… and one of the brothers (not sure which) was reputed to have dealt with a rat problem in his house once by shooting them through the walls with his pistol.  Oh yes, and the surviving rats DID leave, en masse.  I don’t blame them.

My father-in-law was in the war too, at Guadal Cannal, and he too would tear up every time the war was mentioned and never talked about it.

Same for many vets I’ve known of many wars since then.  One guy I knew in college had gone to Canada to avoid a draft once upon a time and so was not a war veteran at all in this lifetime, but his energy signature said otherwise.  I knew it even before he told me about his dreams, that he’d died in some Asian war in his life just past (Vietnam I think) and the American Civil war as well.  The dreams he told me about, nightmares, really confirmed it.  He was living this life determined not to be involved in any war ever again.

War isn’t natural… not for most people.  Some people who have never even gone hunting and killed an animal before, are being suddenly asked to kill fellow humans.  In normal society, only psychos commit senseless mass murder and them we lock away or execute because they are a danger to society.  In war, everyone is pressured into killing fellow human beings whether they like it or not.

Our “brave” leaders commit thousand of our young people to killing and being killed.  They give them grand causes to fight for.  The only one I can get behind is defending our people on our shores.  Everything else is Bull Sh*t.  No matter how good a cause it may sound like, it really isn’t.  At the end of the day, good people, innocents will die and the minds of survivors on both ends of the weapon will be shattered by what they’d seen and experienced.

War isn’t natural to the normal human mind.  It’s psychotic behavior.  If we have to compartmentalize something to make a space for something that ugly in our minds, there’s something wrong with that.  It should give us pause.  We should hold suspect anyone, god or man, who commands us to make war under any circumstance short of direct national/personal defense.  This should never involve military entanglement in other countries’ domestic affairs. 

Don’t send our people to fight for damn oil rights.  Don’t send them on a hidden political agenda or to fuel war economy.  Don’t send them to “fight for god.”  How stupid an idea is that?  Religious politics have always been Machiavellian.  Don’t even try to tell them that fighting overseas is somehow defending their home.  It’s not. Don’t send them as World Police.  Countries have their own destinies to work through just as individual souls do.

War is too slippery a slope and way too hard to recover from.  Sometimes it takes many lifetimes.  It’s not sane.

Just saying….

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in guns, News and politics, social pychology, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to War isn’t natural

  1. cocosangel says:

    What a wonderful post. I loved reading it, and agree with you 100%. I love the way you have shown the PTSD of your Grand Uncles, after seen the parents in the accident.

    Like

  2. cocosangel says:

    Reblogged this on cocosangel and commented:
    What a wonderful post. I loved reading it, and agree with you 100%. I love the way you have shown the PTSD of your Grand Uncles, after seen the parents in the accident.

    Like

  3. Great story. I don’t know about most of the wars since, but I think the US involvement in WW2 was valuable and necessary. But a lot of vets returned with PTSD, and back then it wasn’t dealt with.

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      Perhaps. We did have to respond to the bombing of Pearl Harbor or it might have happened again. Perhaps the Halocaust as well, but as far as I know, the horrific extent of that wasn’t discovered until the end of the war. But our reaction to Pearl Harbor didn’t need to go as far as it did. Hiroshima and Nagasaki didn’t need to happen for instance. Japan was already on its knees ready to surrender. Their people were starving. Their own armies had destroyed the crops of anyone not actively partipating in the war. They were out of appropriate metal to make bullets of and were melting down every bit of scrap metal they could fine and used those home-made bullets only reluctantly, often ignoring U.S. passovers entirely. The belligerance there was fueled by ambitious generals. The people themselves just wanted to live in peace and had to be forced into participation by the Japanese military. I suspect much of war is fueled by ambitious generals, leaders, and corporations. Normal people just want to live in peace. They don’t want or need horror up close and personal in their real lives.

      Like

  4. I have a number of family members and friends who have HAD to go to war. And some of them as young college age men. I’ve watched them. I’ve observed their lives. I’ve listened to the few stories they’ve finally been able to share. 😦 I hate war. Wish there never had to be war.
    I don’t agree with war…but, I, also, don’t agree with standing by while innocent people are being mistreated. For example, if I was a woman, with small children, in a country where I was being mistreated (raped, tortured, etc) by men of my own country (men under the guise of militants or soldiers, etc.), I’d wish and pray for another country to get involved and help so that my children could have life and a future.
    Sadly, as long as there are human beings there will be “war”…in relationships, in families, in communities, in countries.
    HUGS

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      I suppose it is neccessary to send in the calvary once in a while to rescue innocents as Teddy Roosevelt once did to rescue the wife and children of a murdered diplomat in the Middle-East. I forget which country. If only it would stop there in other cases as it did in that one! The trouble is, it seldom does. The truth is there are powerful people in this world who make huge profit out of warfare and they do tend to keep things going long after the point of any good being done.

      Like

      • doesitevenmatter3 says:

        So true! It always seems like war is for political or financial gain. That is disheartening. And when it’s “in the name of God” or “religion” it is really disturbing. 😦 My oldest brother was drafted to go to Viet Nam when he was barely 18. I was a little kid, but I saw how it affected him then and clear to today. 😦

        Like

  5. Great post. I agree with what you said.

    Like

Leave a Reply

