The Bear


I was visiting a village surrounded by a deep thick woods that the people there only rarely ventured into.  They considered it dangerous in some way, which struck both my waking and my dreaming self as rather odd… and unworthy somehow.  Not sure that’s the right word for it, but I was a little disdainful of them on that account.  How could they not love and appreciate that beautiful forest?  And how primitive they seemed to me.  They were very rustic in their ways and full of superstitious fears but I was unable to suss from them what it was they feared so much about the forest.

Belatedly, I realized they feared me too because I’d come out of that forest they’d never met someone from outside their village before, Hence, they assumed I must be dangerous.   I’m sketchy on what loggerheads exactly we came to, but I’d gone there to help and, finding them hostile, prepared to leave again instead.

If they were afraid of my coming out of the forest, they were even more afraid of my going back into it.  A team of them set out to stop me.  They had something like tractors for running up strands of barbed wire that they were then going to electrify around the perimeter of the village.

I’d hidden it as counterproductive up until then, but I was capable of flight in the dream and extremely annoyed at the lengths these people were going to keep me in the village where they didn’t appear to like me in the first place.  I mean really, how irrationally irritating could they possibly be?

Even so, I was careful to wait until I wasn’t being watched for a minute and then flew up and over the fence into the forest.

One person saw me do that and screamed out what she’d seen, but the others didn’t believe her.  They only saw me suddenly on the other side of the fence and seemed certain there was some other explanation for it.  Much to may amazement, they then decided to open the fence back up and send hunters after me.

The tree canopy was too thick for me to fly through, so I was forced to fly low, dodging my trackers as I went.

Near the outer edge of the forest, I saw a little log shed.  I was tiring by then and my trackers fallen far behind, so I figured it would be safe to rest there.  I landed softly on a thick carpet of fallen leaves and tried the door.  It creaked open to admit me.  The floor was of wood with a big hole in one corner but otherwise solid.  The door had a dead bolt which I immediately threw before curling up on an old mattress in one corner.

Suddenly, I heard the low voices of the hunters outside and the cracking of twigs round about and froze, barely daring to breathe, feeling that I might have neatly trapped myself here.  But they never tried the door.  They way they moved and talked, it was as though they were oblivious to the shed.

I moved slightly with the musty scent and feeling of a warm presence somewhere to my right.  It was darker in there than it had been before so I cautiously reached a hand out and encountered deep thick fur.  It’s owner was very large and it took my eyes a while to adjust sufficient to really make it out in my petrified state.

OMG it was a bear!  And it was just curling up next to me.  Unlike the villagers, though, it didn’t seem one bit hostile toward me.

I began petting it, talking to it, babbling mindlessly I guess… really just trying to make sure he knew I wasn’t hostile towards him either.  Really quite friendly in fact.  It was clear he was aware of me and very relaxed by my presence.  It was as though he were tame.

As a gesture of friendship, I offered him the last of some cookies I had in a bag I carried on my shoulder.  He willingly accepted this and moved to lay his head across my lap so I could better stroke his forehead and funny little ears.

I wondered if he’d try to keep me too should I choose to leave, but I was in no hurry to go anymore.

He sighed as though dropping into sleep, but I heard his gruff voice instead… speaking not in words exactly, but directly into my head:  “Don’t worry.  I’m only here to protect you.  But if you should be able to get me more cookies later on, I’d be most obliged.”

And that’s all I can recall of this silly dream.  I should have jotted it down when it was fresher.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Bear

  1. I love your dreams! And I’m so glad you write them down! 🙂
    I shall keep some cookies in my pockets from now on…just in case.
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…I nominated you for a Liebster Award…then I saw JR already did! But, if you want to see the questions for my nominees and answer them…I’d love to read your answers! 🙂 Come see my post! 🙂

    Like

  2. I remember being able to fly in dreams, and it getting me out of one or two tight spots. Sadly I’ve not been able to marshall this talent in recent adventures

    Like

Leave a Reply

