Morning rambles


1.  The kitty brigade, Phoebe and Cole, who were totally aloof to me the night before last, wanted to help me sew last night.  And by “help” I mean playing tag in the huge hoop skirted ball gown I was trying to shorten, batting at it, at each other, dive bombing through it, ducking under it while I struggled to maneuver it around on my lap, plucking at the thread, and then biting it in half for me, no matter my continuous chorus of “No, NO, NOOOOOO!!!!!” and repeatedly shooing them away.  Yet I was determined to finish and kept sewing on it until my fingers got too sore to sew any longer, only a foot short of completing the round.

Jeb said, “Just throw it over there;” (the other couch), “you can finish it later.”

So I did.  I gave it a toss to the other couch only to see both cats fasten their sights on it. 

Before I could stop her, Phoebe had, of course, taken a flying leap up onto it. 

Don’t worry Amy.  Your dress has somehow survived these attentions.  I hung it up right after prying Phoebe out it.

2.  The night before last I dreamed of living in a group marriage with two spry old-but-sexy men and two women my own age (all friends) in a flying saucer I’d helped design that orbited the earth at a low altitude.  I wondered up wondered what I’d eaten to have such a weird dream.

3.  This morning, other that the obvious Freudian issues in the dream, it occurred to me what the dream might mean: escapism pure and simple.  For me, that would mean free from earthly constraints (but not without a social structure), flight, and dancing (which for me feels a lot like dream flight) without having to belong to a particular group or form.  So yeah, it’s a night club design inspiration.  I can see it clearly now.  Must work on that.  Pictures later if my system cooperates.

4.  Fun this weekend!  A hay ride, games, and a story telling bonfire at Hamlin park, a Witches Black and White Masquerade Ball (dancing, costumes, live music, a belly dance performance, dinner, & an auction) with a coven in Fife, and corn mazes.  I totally love this time of year!

5.  Ha.  Choice of 3 black costumes or 1 white one to wear to the ball, and one mix.  You’ve seen these before, but here they are again:

 IMG_0969

I’m the veiled one.  Don’t know if I could stand wearing the hat all night.  And the dress, being black velvet, is a warm one.  Might be okay for the outdoor even tomorrow night (even better if Amy will wear her witch costume too), but I don’t think I’d care to dance in it.

IMG_1744

My actual belly dance costume that, I suppose, could be counted as a costume proper since I’m only a 7-year student and not a professional because, frankly, my belly is not a pretty thing.  Maybe with the body sock on and the fact that there will lots of other belly dancers at the ball it might be okay.  T’would definitely feel daring though albeit definitely not to warm to dance in.  What do you think?

Maybe black lace Victorian ball gown with spider accoutrements, doing a black widow look.  I’ll post that one later.  I don’t have any good pictures of it at present.

For white, I only have this one, though I could stand to lose the dumb looking gold garland thingy:

IMG_1751

Oh… and for the whole black and white thing, I suppose I could always wear this one.. but modified somehow to support me better.  It’s a little too ….erm… as is.  Kind of a boring costume really.

IMG_1738

Decisions, decisions.

6.  I wish I weren’t so fat or “pleasantly plump” or short or rotund.

7.  I think I need a new dress.

8.  Okay, I don’t.  But chocolate would be nice in lieu of what I really need…

…to make up my mind. 

9.  Yeah.  That’s it.

10.  Not.  But that would be a start.

11.  I may settle for the dress.  That’s me.  Always settling.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Costumes, Dancing, Holidays, Music, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Morning rambles

  1. Oh! You look beautiful! I love your costumes and your spirit and your attitude! Whichever costume you chose, you will look great and have fun fun FUN!!! 🙂

    I love this time of year, too…and all the Fall and Halloween activities! Your plans for the weekend are GREAT!!! The Ball sounds amazing!!! 🙂 We have several haunted houses here, also, the corn maze, a Fall Festival with many activities, etc. I’m excited!!! (Can you tell?!!!!! :-P)

    Ha! on the kitties “helping”! 😀 And Ha on your #’s 7 thru’ 11!!! 😀

    If I had chocolate, I’d give it to you! 🙂

    Wow, on the dream! I’ve been having some pretty strange dreams recently…yes, even stranger than my “normal” dreams. I always think about them and try to figure them out.

    HUGS and Happy Ramblin’!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. I think you look beautiful in your costumes.

    Like

  3. I hope you have a fun weekend — the costumes all look great !!!

    Like

  4. I don’t know what you ate, but I loved your dream. Nothing wrong with having a good imagination

    Like

  5. neegee says:

    i like the black and white one best though. Love your costumes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

