Morning thoughts and a dream


1.  In the news this morning, they talked about a large group of Christians being arrested in Iran for having sipped wine as part of that ceremony they do… “The Sacrament,” Jeb says it’s called.  You know, the bread and the wine, simulated consuming of Christ?  I was always uncomfortable with the idea back in my childhood church days.  Seemed like symbolic cannibalism to me, but anyway…  IT’S JUST SYMBOLIC!  JUST A RITUAL!!!!

They were arrested for that and sentenced to 80 lashes each in the public square.  How ridiculously savage is that?  Sharia is such a bloody, cruel, and primitive legal system! This is worth remembering when THEY come over here and expect their religion to be respected.  How can we sincerely do that when they treat people of other religions like this?  I mean seriously….???  What are they smoking in those hookahs of theirs?

2.  Serious question that:  What do those guys smoke in their hookahs?  I’ve always wondered.

3.  Still looking for a sensible reasons that an otherwise modern and civilized looking society could be insanely cruel in its notions of “justice.”  Can anyone give me that?

4.  This is the first day of Aki Con.  I’m not all the way dressed yet, nor are the kids here yet.  We’re going to head out for it around noon.  I’m so exited!  We have such fun at these things!

5.  We’ve finally settled on a name for our bearded dragon twixt the “Draco” suggested by Jeb and the “Pumpkin” suggested by Stephen.  He’s being called Draven by default.  He’s such a sweet fellow.  He’ll eat lettuce and fruit right out of my hand and he loves to cuddle up on my breast watching television in the evening, staring at the cats getting attention quite jealously until it’s his turn.  And I love how he cocks his head and looks so attentively at everything like a little bird.

ImageImageImage

6.  I dreamed that Jeb and I moved into an old apartment complex, like from the early 1930s or something, that was supposed to be empty except for us.  It was set up like an Art Deco style labyrinth several stories high around a central courtyard.

We were warned not to explore the rest of the building even if we did happen to find open doors.  We agreed to this.  We didn’t ask why.

Our chosen apartment needed serious work before it was fit to move into, but the basic style of it was very pleasing and we liked the idea of living there.  We made it up really cozy and beautiful.

As we settled in, we kept discovering hidden doors and passages that led to other places.  We couldn’t decide if these other places were extensions of our own apartment or part of others and the landlord wouldn’t talk about them except to say that he had no idea what we were talking about.  When we went to show him, however, they’d suddenly not be there and he’d give us a look like he thought we were either crazy or just messing with him.

Sometime after this, I was cleaning in some odd corner of the apartment when I saw a rectangular opening that began chest high on the wall in front of me and about a foot or two above the floor. It was about two feet wide.

Curious, I squatted down for a closer look and saw that it led into another whole room that had more rooms and passages leading off it.  There was no furniture in there and everything was covered in a thick coat of dust.  It was also completely windowless, but not dark.  There must have been skylights, though, because the light looked like natural sunlight.

I really couldn’t resist.  I wanted to explore and so ducked through the opening.  It wasn’t separated from our apartment by a closed door after all, I reasoned, so it must be a part of our apartment, so not forbidden.

The scent of dust as I stepped down nearly choked me, but it lasted only a moment before it unexpectedly freshened into something more like sandalwood incense floating in otherwise clean air.  I turned slowly to look around me in all directions.  Dust and emptiness everywhere.

Why couldn’t I smell the dust anymore?  That was strange.

I walked toward one of the other rooms and something changed in my peripheral vision.  When I turned to look, I saw clean tabletops and the rich bright colors of an Ottoman carpet.  Exotic Oriental ornaments and elegant furnishings were suddenly all around me.

I froze in shocked surprise.  Had I stepped into forbidden territory?  Someone else’s apartment?  Someone who wasn’t supposed to be here in the first place?

But curiosity got the better of me.  After a moment holding my breath and simply listening to the sound of dead silence, I went on.  The whole place was well and thoroughly furnished.  It was gorgeous!  Especially the glass topped tables upheld by the polished white statues of various mythical creatures, and the shiny brass ornaments, crystal lamps, and beautifully painted Chinese screens.

Naturally, I had to trail my fingertips over every thing there.  No dust.  Nothing but beauty and perfection.  It made me increasingly nervous though.

I wandered into a beautifully appointed kitchen and my eyes widened at the bright red tea kettle steaming on the stove that began it’s whistling in that exact same moment.

Oh crap.  This was someone else’s apartment!  And they were going to find me here.  Oh crap, oh crap, oh crap!!!!!

I didn’t know what to do.  I thought about just running back the way I’d come but knowing I’d be heard and look terribly guilty, I just stood there fidgeting instead, waiting for the inevitable.

A young woman in a beautiful multicolored silk mu-mu with a pleasant face and long brown hair came rushing into the kitchen to grab the tea kettle off the stove.  She set it on a ceramic hot pad and then turned and smiled in my direction.

“Oh hello,” she said.  “You must be our new neighbor.”

“I.. I’m sorry,” I said.  “I didn’t know this was your apartment.  I thought it was part of ours.  You see there was this passage…”

She ignored that or perhaps found it funny because her smile widened into a grin.  “You’re just in time for tea,” she announce.  “I’m glad you’re here.”

And this is all I remember.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Anime, Family, Middle East, News and politics, religion, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Morning thoughts and a dream

  1. Draven is very handsome and has a cool home!
    Bet you had fun at Aki Con! Hope you’ll tell us about it!
    I don’t know what those guys smoke in their hookah. I you find out, let us know!
    Wow, I think your dream is very cool! I want to know more! It sounds like a great mystery story that could be made into a movie!

    HUGS and happy whee-kend!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. When I was in Turkey, it was apple flavored tobacco in the hookah. I know there are other flavors offered as well, but the apple smoke was very cool and mild.

    Like

  3. Draven is cute 🙂

    Like

  4. Deb, I never got to know you that well but considered you my mentor of sorts. I was always amazed at the brevity of your time in Iran compared to mine equaled so much more knowledge and your interest in culture. It could be because you were actually interested in the culture where I was high most of the time. Your answer to those hookah questions, it depends, I’ve seen ladies smoking flavored tobacco out in the street to relatives gathering in the back garden to smoke opium, and you better believe if it was opium I was there 🙂 Mohammad did not want me to know Farsi so I wouldn’t be able to know what he was really up to. As far as being Muslim, I was brainwashed I’m sure,, I did my five prayers daily with the exception of when we traveled…..usually to other cities to buy quantities of drugs to bring back to Shiraz…. or for Mohammad to speak to people about “DEATH TO AMRIKA”! You truly got into the Qur’an and learned it like a scholar, which I admire greatly. Your practice in Wicca is amazing too. I have a very spiritual view and know God exists because he spoke to me in the camp. I believe in God but not religion, I feel religion is another form of prejudice. But I’m amazed by your writings and how you get involved. we need to talk more if you don’t mind, meanwhile keep educating those that will listen. Salut Lori Foroozandeh

    Like

  5. ampbreia says:

    Thank you. I don’t actually practice Wicca though, so much as identify with the thinking involved: the interconnection of all things, the comprehension and acceptance of magic, of karma, spirtual life, reincarnation. I understand the mechanics of spell crafting, the power of words and imagination, but I don’t practice rituals or, in general, engage in any other religious practices. I’m not a religious person and Wicca is a religion. And I agree with you: religion is a form of prejudice. It may not mean to be but somehow can never seem to help itself. The religionists I tend to get along with best, however, are Ba’hais, Catholics, and Wiccans. I may not believe or practices all the same thing, but I usually find these ones most friendly, open minded, accepting, and unabrassive.

    I finally got a copy of your book, Lori’s Song, and will be reading it as soon as I finish the one I’m on. It took me long enough. I was very happy to find it on Kindle. That’s what I prefer these days.

    HUGS.

    Like

  6. whyzat says:

    I listened to a podcast the other day, on Skepticality, and they were interviewing a witch who teaches at an online school and has written a book: How to Defend Yourself Against the Black Arts. I don’t believe in the supernatural, so I think she’s a bit nutty, but it was a very interesting interview. The skeptical hosts were not mocking in any way, and she was very accepting of their skepticism. It’s nice when people with opposing viewpoints can have an intelligent conversation.
    I suppose that, if the fundamentalist Chrisians got their way, we would have inquests and the like to punish the unbelievers and heretics here.

    Like

  7. neegee says:

    We have a hooka bar in the college town nearby. They smoke different types of lovely flavored tobacco. it smells so sweet like pipe smoke. I wanna try it but Asthma would have me in the hospital. HA! I am so not against religions but all of them seem so silly these days to me. I am getting more and more Agnostic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

