Stray thoughts and magic


I’m too busy for this with year-end closing all that, but my brain is not being cooperative this morning… not focussing.  There are too many musings fluttering around in my head like the wings of birds trapped in an attic, beating against the glass of the dormer over and over again to no avail.  Don’t want them to end up like the little dead owlets in John Glaze’s picture so I’d better just let them out in order of lesser to greater significance.  I feel I must be orderly about it.  I’m primarily a secretary after all.

1.  I know I always say I’ll show the pictures of my designs on HGTV and then I almost never do because as soon as I say I will, something goes wrong: either MGTV stops cooperating or I simply stop liking the design for whatever reason so… Well, I’ve been working on two more.

One is of my actual house that I live in.  Jeb mentioned at various times after I painted the front and garage doors purple, that it was about time we painted the rest of the house as well, that he needed to finish the guest bathroom (5 years later but who’s counting), and that we could stand to redesign the kitchen as well.  So one day, when he asked me to try and redesign the kitchen plan on my HGTV, I couldn’t stop there of course.  No.  The kitchen is attached the rest of the house.  It’s not an island on its own… so I ended up recreating the whole house plan, the better to try out new colors and variations within the parameters we actually live in.

I’m not impressed with our house’s plan, but I have rendered it quite accurately and can see that though I can’t much improve on its spacial issues and flow, I can definitely make it look more spiffy.  Have done to some degree so far.  Did better at this after having worked on my second plan for awhile and serendipitously discovered how to do some things I’d been stumped on previously.

The other is yet another dream house.  I started out trying to recreate from one that I did in a trial architectural program a few years ago.  I ended up deciding the program wasn’t worth it and lost my design when the trial ended.  Still, I’d dreamed that house in great detail so it wasn’t like I couldn’t dredge it back out of my brain easily enough but in doing so, I immediately saw it’s drawbacks.  Namely, it was huge (aka super expensive) and had lots of stairs and ramps.

I should say here that I LOVED houses with lots of stairs and complexity when I was younger.  Now not so much.  I find the stair of my own split level somewhat daunting when I come home tired from work.

So I started big and multi-level and ended up smallish and on one level but cute, practical, and quite elegant if I do say so myself.  You, however, do not have to agree.

The new plan looks nothing like the old one.

I hope to show you all pictures of them later once I get some but don’t hold your breath waiting.  You already know how I am about these things.

When Jeb was going to take his afternoon bath on Sunday, I showed him a little of the new design and as I did so, we both noted things that could stand improving.  He told me to work on them while he was bathing and show him again afterwards.  I worked on them for a while, but then the program got flakey, so I shut it down and restarted.  When I restarted, I accidentally brought up our own house plan instead and then decided that, since I’d learned some new tricks and all, I might as well rework the kitchen design a bit.

When Jeb came out, I showed him the kitchen plan and he said, “Oh good, we can move the flour canisters and stuff over there,” pointing to the spot my computer would be sitting on the island had I drawn it in.  I hadn’t.

“Uh, no,” I said.  “I didn’t draw it in yet, but my computer would still be there.”

“But your computer would be in the other room,” he said.

“What other room?” I asked.  “Where else could it go?”

“In that study you showed me where our desks are facing each other on either side of the fireplace.”

LOL.  He was talking about the dream house.  Our real kitchen looks nothing like that.  Doesn’t have nearly as much room in it.

2.  I’m reading The Jinni and the Golem now and it’s a  wonderfully readable tasty morsel!  I’m nearly as suggestible as a green kid, too, so naturally, I’m Googling round about for golem information now.  The description in the book, similar to others I’ve read, sounded exactly like the Elohim creating Adam in the Garden of Eden myth as too other beings in certain southwestern American and South American Indian myths. In the Indian legends, if I remember correctly, it’s not necessarily about creating one golem so much as resuscitating and entire dead race… their ground up bones being added to clay, reshaped, and the breath of Life being given back to them, in all cases after some dire calamity, a major extinction event they couldn’t be saved from originally.

singularly or plural, though, I think that’s interesting.  It puts an interesting slant on the whole idea of the Elohim forbidding Adam and Eve only the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge.  What does that mean?  A golem is designed as a beast of burden.  It lives only for the orders given it.  Could knowledge of itself endanger that purpose?  Of course it could…  Must dig at this some more.  Intrigued.

Myth or not, they all describe the same type of magic working so self-evidently that I must assume that a person that believes in any one of these myths, must accept the others as well, however reluctantly and I suspect they would be reluctant to because every religionist I know of has a strong tendency to think their religion is the only right one.  Still… logic and all.

Ha.  As if human kind were Vulcans or something.  LOL.

3.  Read an article linked by my friend Dana the other day.  Though not the main subject, it mentioned blood magic at some length and it rang a certain bell with me.  I mean, I knew about it’s uses in sympathetic magic spells and have used it that way with great success but… here’s what I didn’t think of… didn’t  know or perhaps refused to consider if the idea had come upon me: magic can happen whether you plan it or not.  No spells required.

Spells are for the sole purpose of spiritual language, a pneumatic device type direction and organization of the lines of power.  They’re there regardless.  But if you don’t know or don’t acknowledge what you’re doing… well put the right ingredients together and it’ll happen anyway; only it won’t be under your conscious control.  The ramifications of that are a little unnerving and I really should have known.  Reading the article, I had a real Uh-oh moment.

Bear in mind that blood (the blood of the castor or recipient) is a powerful ingredient in binding magic.

Keep also in mind that if you bind someone to you; you will likely end up bond yourself.  I like to stomp my foot at this point and say it isn’t fair but, in all honesty, I can’t.  It’s perfectly fair as certainly as wishes granted and works rendered have CONSEQUENCES.

Oops.

4.  The elegance of higher language confounds me yet again.  Synchronicity in nature and time and feeling.  It’s a poetry.  Rhythm in heartbeats and tides and aural frequency.  The larger meaning of seemingly random small things.  Nothing is quite so random as it seems.  For someone, there’s always a message there.

All things are connected and communications from one side of the veil to the other and throughout our interconnecting realities happen through synchronic means and poetry.  This is the reason that meanings are attached to objects and why this objects are used in spells and poetry alike.

This higher language is most obvious in dreams, but it’s just as present in our “waking” reality.  We’re just so often less in tune with it, to distracted with mundane concerns to pay it proper attention and see what is really there to be seen.

I’ll stop now.  Much to do!

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Aliens, Architecture, Books, Computers and Internet, Design, Magic, Paranormal, Relationships, religion, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stray thoughts and magic

  1. whyzat says:

    The TV show “Supernatural” had a Golem episode that was pretty good. Maybe you saw last week’s Sleepy Hollow with the golem. I’ve heard a number of stories associated with them that makes them sound like a Jewish invention.
    It’s fun to dream of you perfect house. Sometimes I say, “If I ever build another house…” Then I stop because I know I will never build another house!

    Like

  2. ampbreia says:

    The hubs and I started to watch Supernatural several months ago but he lost interest and we stopped after seeing only two episodes. Now you’ve made us both decide to try it again and we started over last night. I think we’ll stick with it this time, I hope. Looks like it might be fun after all.

    And yes, the golem legend (or whatever it is) is quite Jewish. Apparently, there is something in the Torah that describes it making and, as I mentioned, says that Adam was a golem. I’d like to see the part where it says that. Hopefully, I can dig that up. But it’s interesting: Adam being a golem, made only for blind obedience, and Eve only to keep him company so he, what, wouldn’t fall into loneliness, aloneness, and fall apart, thus ending his use as a servant? Not sure. Only that began to change with the advent of the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge (a symbol of something, I’m sure) and he became an independent being, capable of free thought and full of devine potential. I see some serious story fodder here. What happens when an automaton becomes self-aware? Becomes human?

    Build another house? You already built one? Your own design? I want to see! I love seeing dreams made real!

    Like

Leave a Reply

