New Year


Happy New Year everyone!  What did you do?

I redecorated my aquarium and terrarium…

Image

Image

(The dome in there to right is to protect some tropical seedlings I’m getting started in there).

…and then Jeb and I went to the Seattle Center where a big dance was being held in the Center House.

The Space Needle and Chihuli Glass House looked spectacular at night…

ImageImage

Image

Inside the Center House, the toy train village was set up:

ImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

DSC00195 DSC00196 Yes, I do love toy train villages.  I used to have one as a kid that was about the size of a shallow coffin in its plywood box that I kept under my bed.  I made mountains and tunnels and planted fake little forests and gardens amid the tiny houses, shops, people, and cars I collected to go with the train.   When I was 19 and went on my very first plane ride ever, I looked down at the ground far below in great excitement and it was like looking down on my  own little train set.  This could be why I have the occasional strange dreams about cities in boxes, LOL.

Anyway, the huge dance floor in the Center House is surrounded by food vendors and table, which has, in the past, with politer more intelligent crowds, allowed plenty of room both to sit and dance when the band came on.

DSC00198

They were called The Nines due not only to their spiffy dress, but also to the fact that there are 9 singers among them.  They had a huge musical range as a result of this, covering songs popular as far back as the 60s all the way up to present, though with a definite proclivity for the 80s, which is good.

We had some fun dancing before it got too crowded on the dance floor and got our picture taken, albeit vaguely, by Marcus Yam of the Seattle Times:

Picture_by_MarcusYam_SeattleTimes

I’m the one in the red dress with the long hair and flower and you can sort of see Jeb’s face there in front of me.  Don’t you just love the way the guy in the center of the picture is dressed?

I got a few colorful pictures of the crowd as well, people doing fun things with the pink glow sticks and crowns T-Mobile was passing out:

DSC00201 DSC00202

At one point, The Nines brought a little boy onstage and handed him the microphone.  It looked like they were just going to have fun, getting a kid to say something cute or the like, but no.  They brought him up there to sing and sing he did, WONDERFULLY, like Michael Jackson did as a kid.  He was that good!

Image

It was a fun evening, but Seattle intelligence quotient has none the less hit rock bottom in my estimation.  See all these people?  They were NOT what I’d call either a polite or intelligent crowd.

ImageImage

They are standing ON the dance floor like moronic bumps on a log doing nothing but crowding it with their mostly motionless and fairly brainless bodies.  What was WRONG with them!  Were they just a special brand of stupid to do such a thing?

At least the kids, from toddlers up to teens knew what to do: they danced.  But the adults with them did that whole stupid bumps on logs like thing.  Or maybe it was the zombie apocalypse or something.

We danced a set and a half, but then had to leave because the dance floor was getting more and more crowded with stupid people just standing there and Jeb couldn’t stand it anymore.  I told him to calm down, that we could solve this dilemma just by swing dancing.  That would force them all to step back to where they belonged, but he wouldn’t go for it.  He knows how, but has confidence issues there and a perfectly understandable leeriness of zombie like crowds.

Oh well, it was fun while it lasted.  I got this picture of the EMP with the Space Needle behind it:

DSC00205

We left around 9:30, plenty of time to drive home before any drunks would be hitting the roads, and it was a good thing we did too.  Apparently there was a gun incident after we left.  No one got shot.  Someone just spotted the gun in this guys pocket and the police had him tackled and on the ground before he could do anything with it.  I also heard something about some protestors that began shooting bottle rockets around very indiscriminately having to be subdued before they could hurt anyone and some jerk trying to burn Neighbor’s Night Club out when it was filled with a New Year’s Eve Party.  Apparently, they were just following the typical terrorist format of behavior.  Wish I could understand why.  Despite all that, no one was hurt or killed.  Guardian Angels, it seems, were out in full force and working their little wings off.

Meanwhile, we sat at home eating chocolate while we watched the news run up of 2013 on out big screen until it was time for the fireworks at which time we toasted one another with half frozen sparkling cider and watched this:

// <![CDATA[
src=”http://www.king5.com/templates/belo_embedWrapper.js?storyid=238324181&pos=top&swfw=470″&gt;
// ]]>

Foggy it might have been, but I think it was pretty beautiful.

Uhmm… could someone please tell me the proper way to embed video code here?  I can’t seem to figure it out.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Architecture, Costumes, Dancing, guns, Holidays, Music, News and politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Year

  1. jr cline says:

    My son and I made a toy train village when he was young. I do toy trains. I should seek out some train shows and take pictures. Thank you for sharing the adventure!

    Like

  2. Pretty! It looks like fun 🙂

    And just to let you know, as a Christmas gift my boyfriend got me your book Dream Lover. So, I will reading that this year 🙂

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      It was very pretty… just weird how everyone was acting this year. I’ve been to several of the New Year’s Eve parties previously and this is the first I’ve seen where people actually crowded the dance floor without dancing for the most part. How could they just suddenly not know better any more? It’s not as thought there weren’t sitting/standing room aplenty off the dance floor. So why the sudden extreme rudeness? GAH. Don’t mind me. Still a bit grumpy. You have cheered me, though, to know your sweety got you my book and that you’ll soon be reading it. I just hope you will have fun with my little story and not find it overly shocking. The spell, btw, is a real one and I’ve used it with amazing affect previously. It was the first I ever personally crafted as a matter of fact. I only changed a few details in there just in case…. Not that you would ever need to use such a thing.

      Like

  3. Glad you got home safe and sound!
    The things you did to welcome the new year look like fun! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…the Guardian Angels are appreciated! 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh…I’ve been able to download videos from my own computer and from youtube, etc., by clicking on “add or insert video”…then chose the one I want from the choices on the left.
    Hope this helps.

    Like

    • ampbreia says:

      Thank you. I was looking for something like that and didn’t find it. Maybe I wasn’t looking in the right place. Haven’t been feeling too well the last day or two so probably not noticing some things I otherwise would. You know?

      Like

      • When you go to your Dashboard…you see “Posts” in the left side of the page. When you chose “Add New” you then get a choice of “Add Media”…then “Insert Media” and you have a list of choices…from there you can download YouTube videos, etc.
        I hope it works for you. And I hope you feel better soon.
        HUGS!!! 😉

        Like

  5. Dian Gansen says:

    That train village is realistic! Very cute.)
    I’m glad you got out early; New Year’s Eve kinda scares me, but then, I never like crowds.
    We heard lots of fireworks even though they’re illegal in the city! Oh well, apparently no one burned down their house!

    Like

  6. nciteful says:

    Love the vibrant colors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

