Broadway Broad Day


1.  Gee that spelling looks foreign this morning.

2.  Ahem.  I wake up, right in the middle of a good dream because something keeps knocking at my brain.  Before I go insane, I hold my pillow to my head and screaming out the words I said “I think I love you!” to my bed….

3.  Need. More. Coffee…..!!!!!!

4.  In other news, I posted a request on Facebook – a heart-felt plea really – for dance club suggestions and a somewhat local friend (a long drive away but still…) suggested Club Broadway, saying it had opened back up again. 

 ClubBroadway-EverettWA_1611_Everett_Ave_02

It was built in the 1800s and used by the Masons as their club house for many years before becoming a nightclub circa 1980.  It has 3 floors and a separate dance area and bar on each as well as some live theater and restaurant space.  It also had some huge and gorgeous chandeliers…

1

… a gallery overlooking the top floor dance area, some fabulous light works, and lots of art deco decor.

There was Pop Rock on the top floor, Country on the middle floor, Rap Crap in the basement, and comedians in the theater.  Various rooms were rented out for banquets and receptions that were catered by the club.

In the 2000s, gambling machines and an electronic bull came to occupy the basement area, but the other floors remained the same.

I love Club Broadway – once called The Vibe for awhile.  Okay, it’s not even on Broadway.  It’s on Everett Avenue.  But back in the 80s and 90s it was a really happening place and that was what it was called then and how I tend to think of it.

l

Since then, however, the place has mostly been dead.  Not entirely dead, just MOSTLY dead.  It would go through its spurts of activity, new owners, whatever, trying things out with it.  But none have managed it well so it didn’t stay open as a club for very long, not after 1999 anyway.  Back then, we used to really shake our tushies there.

That was before gambling became legal off the Indian reservations in the state of Washington and every night club changed its focus from dancing to gambling.  Broadway had plenty of room for both, but both somehow stopped happening.  Only the gambling kept on.  Most people stopped coming to the dance halls.  I don’t know why.  We still did, but it’s rather too echoey when you find yourself alone there while everyone else is downstairs gambling.

Gee, I must be old to be reminiscing about the good old days like this.

Anyway, Jeb and I drove past there on Saturday night to see if what my friend had said was true and it wasn’t.  The place had closed again and had a For Sale sign on it.  So the next day, I Google it and found it priced at $2,500,000, which sounds like a LOT of money.  But I can’t stop thinking about it.

I know from reviews and my own experiences with the place what may have gone wrong… that it was, in fact, a perfect storm of things going wrong.  Where to start?  No.  I can summarize: mostly it was poor management, probably owing to its wide diversity overwhelming the manager(s).  Also, it’s website was rarely updated or user friendly.  Oh.  And it seemed to have attracted a rough crowd.  This last was not clarified.  I can only assume drunkards or druggies getting rowdy.

There were several other nice, albeit smaller, clubs in this area that tried to circumvent that last problem by not serving alcohol and refusing admittance to anyone that looked stoned or had gained a reputation for it.  They failed because people snuck their forbidden goodies in anyhow, leading to the places being shut down by law enforcement.

5.  We’d need to win the lottery in order to afford the Broadway but if we did…

  • I think we might name it the New P3 or Ampbreia’s Place or… I don’t know, just something different to get it past its current bad rep.
  • I’d like to get one of those lighted dance floors with the changing colors for the top floor dance floor at least like this…
  • dsc_0130 
  • or even this… 05023397 but bigger of course.
  • I want to get a foam and/or smoke generator up there as well.  I recall one of the clubs that went under in 90s had a foam generator.  It was the coolest thing!  This foam would bubble out of it all over the dance floor until you were dancing in it to your arm pits, but it wasn’t wet.  I don’t know what it was.  There for a while your playing in this wonderful sudsy foam and then it just dissipates into thin air.  Really great stuff!
  • 1-110615103556
  • The kids area would seriously love one of those too!
  • I don’t know how to go about hiring bands and I don’t trust the local DJs not to “mix it up” like they are wont to do these days.  I want music; not cacophony.  So maybe use Pandora for the upstairs club and figure out something else for the middle floor… Not country, maybe ball room.  There are lots of schools around here that teach it, after all, but few places that actually host it.  So, you know, a mix of big band music, salsa, and ballads.  There should be dance lessons and mixers offered there in the early evening too.
  • The bottom floor should be devoted to kids, not gambling, not even kid gambling like you find in places like Chuck E Cheese.  No.  Slides, climbing walls, rappels into foam or ball pits, or play sets like these…
  • 549602489_217indoor_play_system_play_centre_indoor_play
  • …along with several monitors just to keep an eye on things, albeit not baby sitters.  No kids in diapers unless their parents are there taking care of them and those that behave too badly, scream, bully, or pick fights would have to go of course.  That would be posted in the rules.  So yes, it could be an opportunity for young parents AND their kids to get out and have a good time but not an opportunity for them to completely load their responsibilities off on someone else.
  • No alcohol would be served in the club so teenagers could dance there right along with the adults.  Yes, they’d have to watch out for predatory adult males, but that’s true anywhere.  Responsible parents will have already given them warning hopefully and sexual harassment of anyone by anyone is already against the law and doesn’t have to be tolerated.
  • I wouldn’t hire bar tenders but simply have the function carried out by vendors.
  • Starbucks on the 3rd floor.
  • Jamba Juice on the 2nd floor.
  • Baskin Robins on the 1st floor.
  • Maybe do something with the restaurant… Maybe a Sherri’s?  I like Sherri’s.  Maybe just my wild-ass cooking….
  • Definitely the theater will go back to comedy, karoke, poetry readings, or story tellers and the like.  Probably belly dancers too since I belly dance myself and know about a zillion other ladies that belly dance.  The others dance better than me and have nicer figures for it though, so it will be them dancing, not me.  I’m not shy or anything.  I just know my limitations.
  • There’s also an area on the 2nd floor that could have games like pool tables, foos ball, and air hockey.
  • I think it might be handy to have a drug sniffing dog on guard in the club at all times, maybe even 1 per floor as I wouldn’t want this club to meet with the same fate as the others in this area did due to creepy careless types sneaking illegal stuff in thereby ruing it
  • There would be a resonable cover charge.
  • There would also be loads of special events: Halloween party, costume balls, Yule ball, New Years, anime events, Steam Punk, Sci-Fi, May Day, Cinco De Mayo, bazaars now and then, conventions…
  • There’s a shop-like area on the corner of the 1st floor that could be a place for people to trade books, clothing, and houseware, cash-free.  Just trade.  Take something good.  Leave something good.  There was a place like that at my college way back when and it was really a good thing for everyone.

What do you think?  Too crazy a dream?

We really need to win the lottery.  We’d make our town a better place if we did.  We’d make it a lot more fun than it is now.  Every town needs to have a place like this one.  Don’t you think?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Anime, Computers and Internet, Costumes, Dancing, Family, Holidays, Kids, Recipes/Food, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Broadway Broad Day

  1. jr cline says:

    I think that is a great vision! It could happen. Build on this. Maybe a business plan and then find some investors who share the vision!

    Like

  2. I love these ideas, Debra. The best things happen because someone dared to dream big. I hope you do win the lottery, or at least attract like-minded people with bucks.

    Like

  3. Great ideas. I really like dance floor that has flowers on it.

    Like

  4. An AMAZING dream! 🙂 You, and your ideas, would turn this place into such a hot spot!
    I hope you win the lottery and get the opportunity!
    People would flock there and have a blast!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  5. I would travel to visit your club! Please win the lottery. ;p

    Like

Leave a Reply

