Things I’ve been learning about Sims


1.  They can just spin and change into whatever wherever they are no matter what they’re doing at the time.  They’ll even do it in front of others.

2.  Sometimes they just spin and nothing…and I mean NOTHING.  Which is to say, they love streaking and skinny dipping.  Seriously, no modesty lost here, just a few blurred pixels in strategic places.

3.  Some of them love dumpster diving.  It doesn’t matter how sophisticated a personage you made them.  When you least expect it, there they’ll be, head down in a dumpster, legs waving like scissors to the open sky.  *SIGH*

4.  You can put them in the nicest outfit to go someplace special and sometimes they’ll just spin at the last second to wearing holey torn jeans and stained top with flip flops.

 5.  When appliances malfunction, your sim can’t or won’t fix it, and the repairman charges too much for nothing, it’s generally less expensive and frustrating to go into build mode, delete the offending appliance, and replace it.  This is what good goddesses do and sims take for granted.

6.  Sims can be very stubborn.  Just because the car pool is there to take them to work or an interview and you’re telling them to go, doesn’t mean they’ll go.  If they prefer, they’ll stay home snogging or snoring or they’ll  go swimming and nothing you can do or say is going to change their mind.

7.  Sim witches, once they get handy with that wand, tend to set themselves and other afire a lot.  Just have someone extinguish them and send them home to wash the soot off.  They’ll never think of that on their own.

8.  Yes, your sim can turn into a zombie and crave brains under the light of a full moon even if he isn’t bitten by a zombie.  It’s quite annoying, but it does fade away after a while.

9.  The new bookshelf sliding door is really neat and the sims clearly recognize it as a door.  Unfortunately, they can’t figure out how to open it.  Very sad.

10.  Hitting the tab key will get all the extraneous data fields off the screen so you can take a nice picture.  My daughter showed me how to do that.  Unfortunately, being somewhat senile in my old age, I can’t recall how she said I could actually take the picture.  Could anyone please clue me in on that?

11.  If you have more than one door into a structure, your sims will not necessarily go in by the obvious front entry.  No.  They’ll go in the most round about and longest way possible.  It’s what they do.  I don’t know why.

12.  A frustrated sim will go and read a book in the park in the middle of the night.  Apparently, they don’t have to have to deal with muggers.  Besides, the starlight, frog song, and jumping fish in the pond can be very soothing.  Better watch out for zombies, werewolves, and vampires if there’s a full moon though.  That’s YOUR job as the good god/goddess.  Your sim couldn’t care less.

13.  Zombies can be surprisingly flirty.  Don’t let your sim fall for one.  Send here straight home if you have to.  She may stomp her feet and protest, but it’s for her own good.  Interestingly, this is one thing you can always tell your sim to do and be obeyed even if they don’t want to do it.  I wonder why that is?

I’ve been designing fun places for my sims to go on dates that don’t involve disappearing into rabbit holes: a family friendly night club that is none the less hot (I keep having to disconnect the FX party machine; I should just replace it), a huge labyrinth full of surprises, and a spa lounge.  That last was prounounced by the game to be “Very trendy!” and “Hotter than that time Hank Goddard caught fire!” 

Not sure what that last means.  Hank Goddard happens to be one of the sims I’m playing with and he hasn’t caught fire yet.  Hopefully, I can keep that from happening.

Does anyone have suggestions or tips on this?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Design, Sims, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Things I’ve been learning about Sims

  1. jr cline says:

    I don’t have any tips or suggestions. I haven’t played sims in a long time. Image it’s a totally different experience than it was back then.

    Like

  2. Ooh, the zombies are flirty?! :-)D

    I have no tips for you. You know more about this than I do.

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. I don’t have any tips or suggestions. The only Sim games I’ve played are the Urbz and a few MySims games.

    Like

Leave a Reply

