Dreams and random thoughts


1.  Actually, I’m not that random.  I just give people that impression sometimes  – okay, maybe a lot – because I have a gift for extrapolation and will often take such broad leaps to get there that it can be confusing from the outside looking in. 

He-he.  This is something Jeb and I have in common.  We do it to each other all the time in our conversations followed by a “Keep up Dear.  Keep up.”

2.  I dreamt last night that Jeb and I and some kids (grandkids or our kids when they young) were at a weird sort of tropical resort.  It was like an artificial island built of structures floating on huge rafts connected with floating piers in the middle of the ocean, almost village-like but luxurious too.  If you went into the basement level of any of the structures, there were big picture windows through which you could look out at the underwater scenery.  This “island” was HUGE.

Right in our room, Jeb built something like a flying carpet for us to get around on.  Well, really, it was more of a foam and carpet covered board with a special layer of something called “Hyper Lev Comb” attached to the bottom (a white plastic-like, honeycombed patterned filigree with magnetic properties that somehow repelled against the sea beneath the resort or even open sea).  We hopped on with the kids and went zipping all over the resort on it, albeit only two feet above whatever surface was nearest us.  It was fun.

At some point, we got into a line inside one of the large structures that led to an outdoor water park.  It also led past rest rooms and showers.  Jeb and the kids got off to utilize the facilities while I held our place in line from my perch atop the board.  Up ahead, there were people shouting something but I couldn’t make out the words.  It was a protest of some sort.

Meanwhile, I’m still moving with the line and suddenly find myself beside one of the protestors, who’s standing beside the line with a can of blue spray paint in his hand.  He sprays my head and face with it in the same moment.

Merely annoyed, I grumble, “Way to go Einstein.  Way NOT to win supporters for your cause,” and then I hop off the board to go and wash the blue off in the restroom. 

When I come out, I find the board taken apart, its pieces scattered around the opening, and the annoying protestor nowhere in sight.  But when I find him, I am determined to do him considerable harm.  Someone needs to whip that whelp!  But Jeb woke me up before I could get it done.  Damned protestor is luckier than he knows!

“Beat him up Jeb!” were the first words out of my mouth when I opened my eyes.  I mean, heck, if he’s going to wake me up before I can do it, then he needs to do it, right?

3.  I find myself increasingly antagonistic towards manipulation attempts as I grow older, even if I’m not the intended subject of it.  This past week or two, I’ve been hyper alert and hostile toward it to an extreme that approaches pathology and it seems like I see things pertaining to it everywhere. I don’t know what the hell has gotten into me.  A hormone transition perhaps?  Heres a sampling of some of the things I saw that triggered me:

A poster someone posted on Facebook that said something to affect of “I wondered why so many thousands of people followed Hitler in doing/allowing such horrible things.  Then I realized Americans are going the same way.”  I’m pretty sure I have the wording wrong since I couldn’t find the dang thing a second time, but this was how I interpreted it and I wondered, “going the same way, how?” because the author didn’t specify. 

I should hope Americans today would never tolerate a holocaust in our midst!  Did they simply mean that people were being manipulated against their better natures?  It struck me that this very probably was what they meant and this I could see, but they should have said so.  I’d have appreciated the clarification because the very statement along had put me on edge.

A friend and fellow author, also an escapee from Iran, had reposted some church propaganda just because she thought it was interesting, which it is, but I also saw it as extremely negative and manipulative in nature.  She was passing it on out of simple curiosity but in so doing, was she also supporting the church’s agenda? A rather dark agenda in my opinion because it relies on negative motivations to further itself as you can see for yourself if you read it. 

In response to the article rather than my friend, I commented rather grumpily, “So…. you’re comparing god to a mob boss? Why? Everyone leaves their physical body one time or another and the final exit is often poetic in one way or another, making a higher language assessment on the person’s accomplishments or failings in their life mission. Either way, physical existence is only a tiny fraction of life over all. You live, you learn and you go on to the greater things or you fail and take remedial until you get it right. It’s all okay. There’s a limit to the weight a single finite physical life deserves.” 

I just hope I haven’t irritated my friend in so doing.  I suspect I should probably have refrained.  It was just such a big trigger for me!  I’m so tired of obvious power oriented religious manipulations.  Are they really not that obvious to everyone?  It confounds me sometimes to find they’re not.

Oh.  And I’m sick of political manipulation by the same token.

 Another main trigger, REPEATEDLY, have been party oriented grievances I receive from Move On now and then.  Don’t get me wrong.  I like Move On.  I think it’s a great way to do the good things we so rarely seem to accomplish through voting alone.  I’m interested in real solutions to the problems real people have.  The interest does NOT extend into party politics.  I don’t give a damn which party is buying the damn so-called votes and which party is unfairly attacking the other.  I’m pretty sure they both are.  I don’t even know how to verbalize how much political attack and counter attack ads annoy the crap out of me.  BAH!  Circular file!

4.  Still having a chuckle over a quote of my old buddy, George Carlin, going around again:  “The real reason that we can’t have the Ten Commandments in a courthouse:  You cannot post ‘Thou shalt not steal,’ ‘Thous shalt not commit adultery,’ and ‘Thou shalt not lie’ in a building full of lawyers, judges, and politicians.  It creates a hostile work environment.”  He was so spot on!

And here I’ll stop.  Aren’t you glad?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Architecture, Computers and Internet, News and politics, religion, social pychology, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dreams and random thoughts

  1. jr cline says:

    Carlin is right. He was right a lot!

    Like

  2. I like reading about your dreams and thoughts!

    Sometimes things/words DO trigger us and we have to speak our mind. I’ve learned if we don’t speak up, people often take it to mean we agree with them.

    That is a GREAT quote! 🙂
    It makes me think of…an older friend told me George Carlin used to do a comedy bit as The Hippy Dippy Weatherman…so I looked it up! It is funny! 😀

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

    • Ampbreia says:

      George is a favorite of mine. We were pen pals for a while before he died. He was such a sweetheart. He did, however, have a unique ability to piss people off with unrestrained truth. I loved that about him though. He didn’t pull any punches. He just told it like it was and you could take it or leave it. He’s my idol!

      Like

  3. neegee says:

    Like Hitler today? Too late they did that to the Native American Indians. I hope people learn from history.
    Politics makes me edgy too. I wish the solutions were easier but the system has become a complex system of catering to money makers.
    Oh world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

