Stray Thoughts and a Better World


Image

1.  Seeing this pond idea someone developed into reality like pure magic, I thought first, ‘Huh.  I could do that by the side of my house where I have the garden I can’t manage to keep up with now.  It always floods during the wet season due to an underground stream there.  It’d be a lot of work, but I have a neighbor who’s a landscaper that’s offered to cut us a deal if we ever needed some work done, so it’s not outside the realm of possibility.  Might consider this.’  My second thought was, ‘Oh!  I can have my cake and eat it too!’  See, because if I had a swimming pond there like this one, I could plant my garden in clean soil in floating containers.  Fewer weeds will be able to get into them and NO slugs!  Slugs can’t swim!  My plants couldn’t get flooded by ground water either… just maybe rain overhead….  Hmm.  Must be a way to mitigate this; some sort of filtered runoff system? But hey, when I had weeds to pull that had planted themselves via wind currents, or when I wanted to pick some veggies on a hot summer day, I could just wade in and do it.  It’d be a pleasure.

2.  The news these days seems all bad; heartbreaking so.  So I’m limiting my intake.  Still it sneaks under the wire at me.  There’s nowhere I can really hide from it and when it finds me I must then needs treat it like any other problem (LOTS of very heavy problems) and acces it for possible solutions.  This in itself is a problem because there’s more there than anyone can adequately deal with.  Still, I have my ideas.  Can’t help it.  Those sneak under the wire at me too.

3.  Population control. It wouldn’t need to be as draconian as the methods China had to employ to get their population under control.  Understand that they needed to do it that way because the majority of the population believed in having a minimum of 10 children per family and weren’t going to stop doing that even if they devoured every last resource they had.  I don’t think we have that problem here in the U.S. where small families of only 2 or 3 children are more the norm. 

The problem here comes more from unexpected and unwanted pregnancies.  Okay, probably immigrants from places where large families are the norm as well.  Either way, I think it would be wise for everyone from adolescence up to have birth control patches in placed to be removed only when the person has reached full adulthood, decided they are ready for children, and can prove they are physically, emotionally, and financially fit to do a good job. 

This would not only decrease our national reproductive rates, but it would make sure that only good parents have children, one has them by accident, and there will be no off-spring induced poverty putting excess weight on our social support systems, schools, roads, housing, and natural resources of all sorts.  Traffic, crimes (pretty often the result of crowding and poor upbringing), pollution, will lessen.  The job market will improve with the lessening population pressures.  As too the housing market and all markets.  Fewer other species will go extinct with less pressure from us on them.

3.  We should not engage in trade with countries that hate us.  Whatever it is, we can get it elsewhere, oil included.

4.  No one’s special aptitudes or talents should go to waste.  Schooling, public or private, should include job training and apprenticeships into paying jobs upon graduation.  No one has to look for work.  No one ends up homeless when it takes too long.  They’re trained for the position they will take from the first time they show interest in a particular profession.  This can potentially change as they grow older and there should be leeway for that as well.

5.  Another thing that should be taught – or at least encouraged – in schools, is thinking for ourselves; problem solving 101 without having to go to authorities/leaders for “right” answers all the time.  Both objective though and subjective introspection should be given ample leeway because when they don’t, leaders/authorities gain power over us and they WILL take advantage of it to do very often very unethical things.  This power needs to be wrested from the power mongering types.

6.  Anyone in whatever leadership we still have that wants to go to war with some other country should himself get in a ring with the leader of that other country (assuming mutual bellicosity) and duke it out to the death.  We should NEVER offer up our son’s or daughter’s lives in their stead.

7.  Violent criminals should undergo permanent serotonin therapy and psychiatric treatment to prevent their ever being violent again.  But if they’re too far beyond the pale, they should just then be put to sleep at the local dog pond and no more angsting over it.  Some can be reformed, some can’t.  Read about it in your Library of Congress.

8.  Dogs and cats should NOT be put to sleep at the local dog pond.  That’s just stupid and fairly evil; a very rotten response to the unconditional love and loyalty they’ve given us.

9.  Money gleaned from taxation should ONLY go toward public infrastructure and social programs.  It should not be loaned to other countries or to overpay politicians or political campaigns or bigwigs private jets to China or anywhere.  Enough already.  We don’t need royalty anymore.  We need support for the people by the people.  The leaders allowed must always remember they work for us and are in no wise above us or exempt from common law.

10.  Laws should only concern themselves with our public lives and interaction with others.  My freedoms stop where your begins and vis versus.  Do unto others as you would have done unto you.  If it hurts no one, then do as you please.  Laws that go beyond these maxims are extraneous and oppressive.

11.  Yay!  Sakura Con is this weekend!  Can hardly wait!

12.  Yay!  Easter is on Sunday and I… er… I mean the Easter Bunny gets to hide eggs all over Mom’s garden for the grandkiddies and oh the Easter Bunny is really good at this!  Baskets too!  Well, sand pails in this case… but you know.

13.  Jeb actually asked me if I wanted a live pet bunny for Easter.  Of course I said yes.  I love bunnies!  Can’t believe he thought of that though.  I didn’t think he liked them.  Wow.  Happiness!

 

 

 

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Animals, Architecture, Design, Family, News and politics, Pets, Relationships, social pychology, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stray Thoughts and a Better World

  1. On the one-hand, you call for forced birth control, and only “good parents” allowed to have children. On the other, teaching people to think for themselves. Who defines “good parents”?

    Like

  2. Ampbreia says:

    Just the simple stuff: No history of severe violence or abuse against others, physically fit, emotionally sound, and financially capable of supporting a child to age 18. Getting anymore detailed than that (religion, DNA, race, income level, ect.) would open the door to an unfair population distribution and classicism, so those items should be ruled out as considerations of anyone but the prospective parents. Nonetheless, if you know your offspring is likely to be disabled as a result of some DNA issue or other, you should be able to prove yourself ready and capable of managing it.

    Like

  3. theinfiniterally says:

    I think a lot of these have great merit.

    Like

  4. I LOVE the way you think!
    Right on!
    Have fun at Sakura Con!
    Happy Easter!
    Yay for the bunny!
    Can’t wait to see photos!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  5. That pond looks awesome. I think it’s a neat idea.

    Like

  6. jr cline says:

    Those are some great ideas.
    Enjoy your pet bunny.

    Like

Leave a Reply

