Random Observations


1.  A difference in opinion is not worth getting uptight over, much less fighting or breaking up friendships.  We are much more than the opinions we happen to hold at any particular time.  We live, we experience, we change as we go along.  We can differ without coming to blows or bad feelings I think. 

2.  I will HURT you only if you try to force your beliefs on me or force pretty much anything on me.  Let’s just stop at words; be respectful, be polite;  accept each other as art in the making worthy of unconditional love, all of us supporting the process, none of us stopping it.

3.  Just because you were taught something by some authority figure or other doesn’t mean it’s right.  Ask yourself: does it feel right?  Is it wholesome?  What does your still, small, voice have to say about it?  Does your personal experience in any strongly tangible way support its reality? 

4.  Granted, not all things are tangible in the physical plane.  Where our feelings/intuition live, though; that’s another matter.

5.  Just because you were taught something, doesn’t mean you learned it.  I’ve had algebra taught me MANY times.  Still don’t get it.  It’s complete nonsense as far as I’m concerned.  I just don’t hum on that frequency.  I’m pretty sure learning Mandarin Chinese would be MUCH easier.

6.  My mother and I have shared dreams before, each from our own perspective.  Of these, two come to mind: her teaching me to fly from the deck of her house at a time when in waking life I was newly divorced.  She remembered teaching me.  I remembered her teaching me… not in one night but over many nights.  The meaning in this one is very clear to me. 

The other dream we shared was on a rainy night when torrents were pounding on the roof and lightening cracked across the sky like a whip. 

I dreamed the Snohomish River Valley below was flooded as it often has, but this time it was flooding all the way up to our backyard, something it’s never done before since we’re at least 100 feet above it and probably more.  It was creeping across the grass to the daylight basement and we were all taking what we needed from the house and stowing it in the motor home.  The engine was already idling as we did so. 

She dreamed the downstairs was flooding and she was moving things upstairs while there was still a chance to. 

We both dreamed of driving away from our flood home, motor home full of family and whatever small things we could save, headed for the mountains in the midst of a storm to beat all storms.  Meaning?  Not sure yet, but the real rainstorm probably influenced it, jogged the prescience or whatever is.

3.  There used to be a dead zone at the side of the house.  Not sure what poisoned it, but for years nothing would grow there no matter how carefully tended, even with new soil put in.  My mom, being persistent a green thumb extraordinaire, kept on it, and finally succeeded in getting peppers to grow there after 15 years of trying.

4.  Once, when she first gardened the back yard, she was digging and happened upon the still smelly corpse of a black dog that had been buried there some time before we moved in.  As her spade struck it, it growled and she let out a yip and fell backward on her bum.  Not understanding and thinking she was acting pretty silly, my first reaction was to giggle at her.  I hadn’t heard the growl that time.  A few minutes later, we both did.  It turned out to be a raven on the fence messing with our heads.  We quickly reburied the dog all the same.

5.  I love that house.  So much happened there and it’s gotten more beautiful over time as its been filled with love and artsy endeavors and surrounded with flowers.

6.  Trying to recreate Mom’s house (my home as a teenager and young adult for awhile) on Sims 3, I was doing well at first and then had to stop, realizing I had made some structural areas based on my false assumption that the downstairs is directly beneath the whole main (upstairs) level. 

It’s not.  The levels are offset from each other by about 20 feet!  And each has it’s own foundation at a completely different gradient.  The offset explains a lot and worries me a bit.  Not sure why.  I do remember that the basement used to flood through the back wall a lot when I still lived there.  Not sure what they did about that.

7.  Tried all over again to recreate the house last night.  Fail.  Sims 3 doesn’t handle split levelling or gradient changes under a structure all that well.  So I went back to my original effort which really does bear a much closer resemblance, albeit not exact.  Anyway, it’s pretty and the spirit is there.  So I moved in Sim Mom and Fred, dog Peppy, and a cat named Purranha.  Pictures later.

8.  Got home tired from work yesterday, had played only a few on my Sims, when step-son comes up and asks when I’ll have dinner ready.  I felt profoundly taken for granted; grumpy even.  Asked him, “Who said I was cooking?”  So he turns to his father instead and asks the same question.  His father then cooks.  All he does all day is sit in his room playing video games.  He’s 19.  He should get a job and move out.  Kid needs to be useful around the house, not dependent, if he’s going to be our room-mate as an adult.  He needs to cook too!  Grr.

9.  Must get around to posting Mardi Gras and Sakura Con pictures.  I keep doing everything else instead.

10.  Right now, I need to get working.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Family, Recipes/Food, Relationships, religion, Sims, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random Observations

  1. theinfiniterally says:

    Agreed on all points. Except the parts I wouldn’t know about, which I’ll take your word for. 😉

    Like

  2. I hope you had fun at Sakura con! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Ravens are such clever imprinters of vision and sound. I don’t take differences of opinion personally. An opinion is a reflection of one’s life experience, level of understanding, and underlying hopes/fears. Stepson really needs to get a serious life, preferably away from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

