Where Sharia Comes From


A friend of mine, commenting on my last blog, made the comment that Sharia was perversion of Islam.  I know his intentions are kind ones, that’s he’s trying to give Islam/Muslims the benefit of the doubt when they insist that Islam is peaceful and Sharia not really Islam, but I must respectfully disagree on this point.  Sharia is not a perversion of Islam.  It is rather Islam in its purest form.

He is not alone in disbelieving this.  Many well-intended non-Muslims and even Muslims believe it too and all are thereby puzzled at the existence of apostates from Islam like me.  My own husband was puzzled about it the other day and asked how I could have ever been attracted to Islam once and yet now be so vehemently opposed to it.

I was actually surprised he asked.  We’ve been together for 15 years now.  Surely in all that time I might have told him enough about it or he might have read my book, Lost in Foreign Passions.  But I didn’t and he didn’t. 

So I told him about how Reza (my Iranian ex) used to never let me alone for a minute when we were newly wed and still living stateside. We went to our classes together and we worked together as well.  I literally had to run to bathroom and lock the door to keep him from following me even there.  If ever I tried to leave the apartment without him, he’d either follow me without an invite, or he’d drag me back saying how he missed me so when I was out of sight and then tirading when I’d protest I wanted to be alone. He tiraded to the point that once a passing motorist, thinking he was trying to abduct me because I wasn’t going back with his willingly, actually got out of his car and hit Reza over the head with a crow bar to get him off me.

He also kept me away from family for the most part.  He was establishing absolute control over me and how I viewed Islam.  He would select passages in the Koran for me to read and gave me rosy interpretations of them every time their exact meaning eluded me.  He would hold the book open and wouldn’t let me touch it at all (despite having once loaned it to me briefly and reluctantly on condition that I not touch the actual print) because, as a non-Muslim, my handling of it might taint the pages in some way.  Wanting to believe the best of him, I assumed this to be a ritual caveat of some sort, and refused to be insulted by it.  As the the Hadith (stories about the prophet), I never even heard of them until just before we left the U.S. and a Saudi sister at Islamic seminar gave me some in a little book.  End result though, is that I got a spoon-fed version of Islam that way: very rosy, sweet, wise, tolerant, and female friendly.

What a joke!  It was anything but any of those things as I began finding out for myself some 3 months after we’d arrived in Iran.  He’d just hit me with two whammies at once then: he’d gotten a full-time job at the Engalab (revolution) Ministry and, SURPRISE, we weren’t ever going home to the States.  He’d previously lied to me that we would because he knew I wouldn’t come with him otherwise.  But when he went to work, leaving me with his parents to watch me, I finally had time to read the Koran, hadiths, and a book called Najubalageh (written by the prophet’s son-in-law, Ali) without being spoon-fed this time because his parents couldn’t speak enough English to do so.  That’s when I started to see the real Islam.

The other part about seeing the real Islam was observing how it was employed in these erstwhile believer’s daily lives.  The took every word in the Koran not as allegory or past tense as Christian often do the bible, but rather as literal fact.  They considered it a sin to do otherwise.  It guided every aspect of their lives down to the tiniest ridiculous detail.  But when the Koran wasn’t clear to them in a particular matter, they would then consult the Imams (clergy), who would then give them advice that matched what I was reading in the hadith and Najulbalgeh.  The bulk of that advice came from the hadith, in fact, though the average non-clerical Shia Iranian would often tell me that the hadith didn’t count for Shias.  It was only for Sunnis.  The imams were above that sentiment however.

This system as described in the paragraph above is exactly where Sharia Law comes from in ever Islamic nations that practices it and it is always, without exception, very totalitarian, misogynist, and cruel in its expression.  Some examples follow.  I will refrain from interpreting them for you.  I’ll just let you read them the way a believing Muslim would: literally…

About the Treatment of Non-Muslims

Koran, Sura 4:144: “Believers, do not choose the unbelievers rather than the faithful as your friends.  Would you give Allah a clear proof against yourselves?”

Sura 8:13:  When thy Lord revealed to the angels saying ‘I am with you so make firm those who believe.  I will cast terror into the hears of those who disbelieve.  Smite them above their necks and smite off all finger-tips.’

Sura 8:40: And fight them until there is no persecution and religion is wholly to Allah.  But if the desist, the surely Allah is Watchful of what they do.

Sura 9:5:  And when the forbidden months have passed, slay the idolaters wherever you find them and take them captive and beleaguer them and lie in wait for them at every place of ambush.  But if the repent and observe prayer and pay the zakat (tithes), then leave their way free.  Surely, Allah is Most Forgiving, Merciful.

Sura 9:14:  Fight them that Allah many punish them at your hands and humiliate them and help you to victory over them and relieve the minds of a people who believe.

Sura 9:29:  FIght those who do not profess the true faith (Islam) till they pay the Jiziya (tribute) with the hand of humility.

Sura 47:4:  When you meet the unbelievers in the Jihad, strike off their heads and when you have laid them low, bind your captives firmly.  Then grant them their freedom or take ransom from them until war shall lay down her burdens.

Sura 9:23:  Oh you who believe!  Do not take your fathers and your brothers for guardian if they love unbelief more than belief; and whoever of you takes them for a guardian, these it is that are the unjust.

The Haddith, vol. 1, no. 14:  The Prophet said ‘None of you will have faith till he loves me more than his father, his children, and all mankind.

About Women

Koran, Sura 2:88: Women who are divorced shall wait, keeping themselves apart for three monthly course.  And it is not lawful for them that they should conceal that which Allah hath created in their wombs if they are believers in Allah and the last day.  And their husbands would do better to take them back in that case if they desire a reconciliation.  And they (women) have rights similar to those (of men) over them in kindness, and men are a degree above them.  Allah is Mighty, Wise.

Sura 2.282:  But if he who oweth the debt is of low understanding or weak or unable himself to dictate, then let the guardian of his interests dictate them in (terms of) equity.  ANd call to witness, from among your men, two witnesses.  And if tow men be not at hand, then a man and two women, of such as ye approve as witnesses, so that if the one erreth (through forgetfulness) the other will remember.

Nahjulbalagha, Khutba 83: O People!  Women suffer from three deficiencies: of faith, of mind, and a share in heritage.  Their deficiency in religion is apparent from the fac that at certain times (during menses) they keep away from prayers and fasting.  Deficiency of mind could be gauged from the circumstance that two female witnesses are considered equal to one male.  Deficiency in shares of heritage is plain from the incident that their share is equal to half the share of male (family) members.

The following I should explain is in references to the surviving women and children after a battle…

Koran, Sura 4:2, 3:  Give unto orphans their wealth, exchange not the good for the bad (in your management) nor absorb their wealth.  Lo!  That would be a great sin.  And if ye fear that ye will not deal fairly by the orphans, marry of the women who seem good to you, two or three, or four, and if ye fear that ye cannot do justice (to so many) then only one or (the captives/slaves) that your right hand possesses.  Thus it is more likely that ye will not do injustice.

Sura 4:24:  Also prohibited are women already married except those whom your right hand possess (captives/slaves).

Nahjul Balagha, Saying 121: Jealousy in women is unpardonable but in man it is a sign of his faith in religion (because Islam has permitted polygamy and prohibited polyandry).

Koran, Sura 4:15:  And for those who are guilty of indecency among your women, call to witness against them four from among you; then if they bear witness, confine them to the houses until death takes them away or Allah opens some way for them.

Okay, I didn’t want to have to interpret anything here and I won’t, but I will tell you how I’ve seen this verse interpreted into Sharia: solitary confinement until death for lesbianism, masturbation, indecent exposure (as in found unhijabbed in public), or for a woman who has been recaptured following her marriage to a non-Muslim, which is forbidden.  It’s not clear cut, though, so it’s not used the same at all time but is whatever the Islamic judge says it is at the time.  It is not, however, the punishment or justification of adultery.  No.  That’s something different.

Illicit Sex

Koran, Sura 24:2:  The adulterer and the adulteress, scourge ye each of them with a hundred stripes and let not pity for the twain withhold you from obedience to Allah if you believe in Alhhad and the last day.  And let a party of believers witness their punishment.

Even though this punishment is a sadistic one, it is not as cruel as the punishment Muslims mete out for adultery prescribed not by the Koran, but by the Hadith.  A white burial sack is placed over the accused one’s head (usually, but not always) and she is buried, standing, up to her chest.  Then people gather to throw palm sized rocks (big enough to hurt, too small to immediately kill) at her, slowly smashing her head and upper body until she dies.

The Hadith, vol. 3, no. 508:  The Prophet said ‘O Unais!  Go to the wife of this (man) and if she confesses (that she has committed adultery), then stone her to death.’

Muslim 680:  The Prophet said, ‘When an unmarried couple fornicate they should receive 100 lashes and banishment for one year.  In the cases of a married male committing adultery with a married female, they shall receive 100 lashes and be stoned to death.  If one of the pair is unmarried, one hundred lashes and exile for a year.

Muslim 682:  The Prophet said: ‘Do not stone the adulteress who is pregnant until she has had her child.’  After the birth she was put into a ditch up to her chest and the Prophet commanded them to stone her.  Khalis came forward with a stone which he threw at her head and there spurted blood on his face and he cursed her.  The gentle prophet prayed over her and she was buried.

Hadith Malik 493:1520:  Ma’iz bin Malik came to Abu Bakr and said ‘I am a base fellow for I have committed adultery.’

Abu Bakr replied, ‘repent before the Lord and tell no one else.’  The man still felt guilt and to Umar who gave him the same reply.  Still feeling guilty, he went to the Prophet who asked if he was ill or mad, married or single.  On hearing that Ma’iz was healthy and married, the prophet ordered him to be stoned to death.

Hadith Malik 493:1524:  The prophet was told ‘My son was employed with this man.  He committed adultery with his wife.  I gave 100 sheep and a slave girl in compensation.’

The prophet said, ‘Take back your sheep and your slave girl.  Your son will receive 100 lashes and a year in exile.  As to the adulteress, she has confessed and will be stoned.’

Hadith Malik 493:1530:  Ibn Shihab said that a man committing sodomy should be stoned where he be married or unmarried.

This is just a small sampling of Sharia law.  It is known, world wide, to be extremely inhumane in practice, despite the fact that Allah is often called “Merciful,” prophet Muhammed called “gentle,” and Jesus being considered one of their other prophets.

The Koran claims to be the next book following that of the Biblical New Testament and yet it significantly diverges from it:

The Bible is arranged chronologically and the Kan is arranged, loosely, by subject with the verses arranged in a mathematical formula designed to make sure it stays in that exact order.  You delete or add any verses and it throws the formula off.  It’s a cleaver formula the Muslims are proud to point out.  It has something to do with the number 19, but, being I am not mathematically inclined, I never made sense of it and unable to relay it here.

The Koran is heavier on law than it is on history the way the Bible is.  It claims to be the book that follows the New Testament doesn’t effectively do so.  For one thing, it harkens back to Abrahamic law… Not Mosaic law, mind you, but Abraham: a very coarse and brutal legal system.  Also, it pointedly states that it’s blasphemy to say that Christ is god.  There are more stories in it about the childhood experiences of Maryam and Christ in the Koran than in the Bible (probably derived from the Apocrypha to which Muhammad was exposed as a child via stories in the market place, but next to nothing about Christ’s teachings as an adult.

The biggest difference is that whereas Christ’s most important teaching is “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you,” the very root of humanism, is in the New Testament, but nowhere in the Koran.  Humanism runs counter to the laws of Abraham’s time and Islam.  Punishment under the old laws, you see, often involves torture, maiming, and excruciatingly painful prolonged executions and the “Do unto others” clause undoes the whole thing.  This is why it’s missing from the Koran.  This is why Islamic Sharia is brutal and inhuman to the core.  Terrorism and Sharia alike are NOT perversions of Islam; they are pure Islam.  Please don’t be fooled by empty PeeCee claims to the contrary.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Family, History, Marriage, Middle East, religion, Terrorism, Uncategorized, Women's Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where Sharia Comes From

  1. Tracy says:

    Excellent writing, as always.
    This is something I struggle with. I am not a judgmental person, I am the epitome of live and let live. I hear the comment frequently from people around me “Not all Muslims are like that”. The Muslim religion is very strict, there aren’t a lot of grey areas. It was based on cruelty and harshness and dictating behavior through punishment and debasement. I find it hard to not judge.

    Like

  2. Thank you for this post and your last one.
    You are teaching me many things I did NOT know.
    HUGS!!!

    Like

  3. kaylar says:

    good grief. i mean, thank you, good to know. i admit to being naive, and trusting in the angel that gave this to Mohammed. proof that there are dark angels, too. or if it is just human agenda, which imho, the old Testament is, dark enough that it was hard to read all of this. i’m so glad you escaped. (i’ve followed you since xanga days. bels_kaylar)

    Like

Leave a Reply

