God?


You say potate-o, I say potat-o…

For the past few days, I’ve watched an argument between atheists and Christians as to how the universe was created and have been amused at how close their explanations come to one another whether they call it Chance, Intelligent Design, or God.

“God” is an ancient word that refers to a being of supernatural power that either created all that is or has charge of natural processes beyond our capability of controlling.  Nowadays, Christians use it to mean their Creator God and dismiss all others.  Muslims will say that their god is the same god but call him Allah, which means The One God to make clear they’re not just dismissing all the others; the others just don’t exist.  Same difference in viewpoint though.

Religious ideas were/are the science of ancient times.  They were not a thing apart.  They were how people back when believed things came to be.  So now people embrace the old ideas or embrace the new ones, or diplomatically try straddling the two.  And none are wholly wrong.  In fact, we have no way of knowing the ultimate TRUTH(s); just the judgement/imagination to choose whatever makes the most sense to us as individuals.

Cognitive dissonance is what you suffer when your true personal beliefs come into direct contrast with beliefs you have been sternly indoctrinated in, given that you feel the authority doing the indoctrinating must not be questioned without sin being incurred.  Once upon a time, back when I was actually what you’d call a religious type person, I had a big problem with this kind of stress.  Eventually, I decided it was NOT worth it.

Most of the books of the Old Testament (and hence the Koran) contain source material from the ancient Mesopotamians.  In pre-Bible Mesopotamian lore, you find the story of the Garden of Eden, the creation of Man, the Flood, the Tower of Babel, etc.  These are stories the Hebrews would have heard all the time while they were captive in Babylon so naturally, they just adopted them.

It wasn’t just stories to the Mesopotamians, however; it was their history and that’s exactly the way they taught it to the Hebrews.  There is a difference between how it was taught and how it was received though. The Mesopotamians called their creator beings The Elohim, which translates roughly as Those From Whom Heavens to Earth Came, and there were 72 of them.  They said these Elohim created the Black-headed People (the Mesopotamians) for semi-intelligent slave labor by infusing a part of themselves into a native specie of hominid.  The Hebrews interpreted the same beings as Gods who’d created EVERYthing but ended up, post captivity, worshipping only one of these and later denying the others even existed.  We know this happened at the time of Abraham when, after nearly making a blood sacrifice of his son, he is made to take a vow that he would put no other god before Yahweh.

Whether the story about Abraham is from the Mesopotamian history or simply added on my the Hebrews later I no longer recall (though I think it the latter).  Anyway…

So Yahweh is/was or probably is/was the classic Ancient Alien.  Therefore not the End All, Be All that churches, mosques, and synagogues tend to teach.

Does this bother me?  No.  Does it bother you?  If so, why?

If you ask me if I believe in God, I’ll want to know which one you’re talking about and what your definition of God is.  And if it’s Yahweh/Allah, I’ll tend to call one an ancient astronaut and the other a delusion by a megalomanic mad man based on the first.  Jesus I think of as a good man and avatar, not god, but part of God as we all are but closer in conscious awareness thereto.  But I’m not talking about Yahweh or Allah when I’m talking about God.  I’m talking about an eternal, self-aware intelligent universe of which we’re all a part.  We’re the expressions of that intelligence.  Our physical manifestations are just temporary small parts of the greater All-There-Is and we’re all a part of one another.

I’ll tell you that, and you’ll probably just call me an atheist, listening no further than the fact that I don’t believe there’s a Heaven and Hell or Judgement Day as described in your ancient books or that Yahweh/Allah are the End-All-Be-All.  Oh well.  Each to their own vision of Reality. What do any of us really know after all?

 

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Design, ecology, History, Middle East, nature, Paranormal, religion, Spiritual, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to God?

  1. Your take on ancient history is quite different than mine. I don’t view the ancients as ill-informed or primitive compared to us today. Quite the opposite. We are only now catching up with the advanced understanding of our ancestors from 4,000 years ago. Somehow, we lost the knowledge. Societies and civilizations collapsed. What we presume to be myths and legends are echos from historical realities, a forgotten past which we no longer accept nor understand. These were not simpletons who failed to properly understand the world in which they lived and their place in the universe. The language and the concepts seem simplistic to us, because we require much more explanation of how things work than they — it would’ve seemed incredulous to them to have to explain to us what they so readily understood. WE are the simpletons. WE are the ones who fail to understand.

    I find it fascinating to look back upon the marvels of that world. We could NEVER, even with all our impressive technology and machines today, reproduce the astonishing complexity of the Great Pyramid. Yet, they managed to construct it without any of it. There was never a “stone age” or a “bronze age” or any sort of deliniated progression. The ancients understood metallurgy from the very beginning. To a man, their knowledge dwarfs our own. Where or how we’ve reached such an ill-informed rendering of the past absolutely confounds me.

    That being said, I have to say, I love your thoughts and your process. You have a unique blend of sensibilities and I respect your openness to understand and examine possibilities of the unknown. This is both honorable and refreshing. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

    • Ampbreia says:

      On the contrary, I believe the Mesopotamians were quite advanced. Not so sure about the Hebrews. The were nomads, after all, and quite primitive in their practices and, apparently, their interpretation of other people’s lore. I think there were many advanced civilizations before the Mesopotamians as well. I’ve seen plenty of evidenced for it. And yes, I agree, time and civilizations are not nearly so linear as they appear. There’s the matter of Ooparts and unbelievably ancient ruins being found for instance. There are quite a few past life regressees as well as remote viewers and other OBE’ers that mention structures like the pyramids being formed with stones levitated into place via a capella vibrations. It sounds like magic, but could as easily be a technology we have simply lost over the aeons. Anyway, thank for your kind tolerance of my wild notions about things. I appreciate that.

      Like

  2. I don’t know what I believe. I grew up in a Baptist home but so many of the beliefs they hold to sicken the grown-up me. It’s mostly the fact that if I challenge any of their beliefs their only real answer is “it’s in the Bible” and the fact that everyone picks and chooses what parts of the Bible that they want to follow while saying things like “it’s all or nothing”. No it’s not. Not for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

