Soul Musings


1.  Sometimes in the night, when I lay there restless, awake, and thinking for a long time, unable to shut down the pesky muse (who bears a striking resemblance to Tinkerbell), Jeb will sense it no matter how quiet I am.  He’ll sigh and say, “You’re getting up, aren’t you?” and I’ll admit that I am.  

I’ll go to my computer and write, research, or draw whatever it is my muse is insisting on at the time until it’s safely out of my system.  But when I go back to bed and Jeb kindly asks if I need the light to see my way about, I always say no.  The truth is that I close my eyes the moment I enter our dark room.  All my senses are tuned.  I can feel the room around me.  I don’t need the light.  Also, I don’t want it to distract me if that makes sense.  I can see images behind my eyelids, patterns, mandellas, messages trying to form that I hope I will take into dreams with me and expand.

I think I must have been blind in some other life.  There’s a part of me that really doesn’t need to see in order to discern the reality surrounding me.  At least that’s how it feels and the feeling is strangely comforting.  There are no monsters in my dark.

2.  I saw a study recently where they interviewed Near Death Experiencers (NDEers) who happened to be stone blind in this physical reality.  But they could see as well as any sighted person when they were out of body.  What’s more, they described the same sights in the Afterlife  that sighted people do.

3.  Something about the Serpens of Beta Reticuli that kind of surprised me was the fact that they were so compassionate and spiritual but also religious in a way our world’s religions could well identify with.  A former pope I know of certainly did and so did certain Shia Muslims.  Like their identifier, religion controls their lives in that they have certain ways of doing things in accordance with it, certain songs and rituals, certain times of day they pray, and the same vision of an after world that our NDEers have – except theirs doesn’t require the experience.  It’s just very simply acknowledged in their faith.  They believe, as I do, that all things in the Cosmos are connected in a great and self-aware intelligence.  Religion is not something they fight about though.  It’s not divisive for them as it is for humans.  There is some indication that Serpens have instilled religion in humans but with different results than what they were obviously expecting.  I wonder if they’re sorry about that?

4.  Religion in our world bothers me in certain ways.  It’s okay for people that don’t trust/know themselves quite well enough to give them confidence in the unseen, but it doesn’t work for me.  Not here.  Not in the way it is now.

It bugs me that people out of body will experience and report back things about the spirit and the afterlife and religious people will often dismiss them out of hand if it doesn’t meet with their paradigms. 

I think of my mother who was all kinds of disturbed at the ghosts of family members my siblings and I interacted with.  She was sure we were making it up because she couldn’t account for ghosts in her religious doctrine.  She’s Pentecostal and thinks ghosts must be demons.  Yet she says she believes the soul is eternal (which I agree with) and that there is an afterlife…

It bugs me that religion makes rules up for people to follow that involve even telling people what they can and can’t think.  I think whatever I do for my own reasons and I’m never going to deny it just because some religion or other says that wrong of me.  Ditto for doing whatever seems right for me.  If I’m not hurting anyone, they just leave me alone at it.  Only if I hurting someone do you have the right to intervene and maybe point that out.

I’m insulted and amused, but mostly insulted, when religious people state that non-religious people lack a “moral compass” just because they are not religious, or at least not their religion.

Really?  Personally, I think being religious can really skew our innate moral compasses even if it doesn’t always do so.

5.  I remember how it was most particularly when I was Muslim.  There were rules for everything right down to the minutia of daily life: how and what to eat, how to pray, whom to associate with and who not, how to go to the bathroom, how to bathe, how to dress, rules about sex, property, relationships, etc. and so forth. 

It was maddening!  It seemed that those who lived by these things couldn’t do anything for themselves unless a religious teacher, Koran, Najubalaghei, or hadith told them exactly how to do it and what was proper or not.

It wasn’t until long after I left Islam and  Islamic terror attacks (over 19,000 to date), that I realized how bad a thing this really was: people who are unaccustomed to honestly thinking for themselves really can’t tell right from wrong.  They can’t even question their religion/authorities (a capital offense in Islam).  They figure if they follow the directives of their religion and/or the example of their prophet it’s totally right.  Even if their religion and the example of their prophet calls for savagely violent conduct and the extermination or subjugation of all other people.

I’ve known about Mohammad’s mass murder of the Jews of Khaybar, the looting, the rapes, and enslavement of non-Muslims for a long time (albeit not while I was still Muslim) but it somehow didn’t dawn on me that modern terrorists were doing what they were doing just because Mohammad had set the example.  That changed this June when the Boko Haram and ISIS started going particularly ape-sh*t and genocidal and even western Muslims started showing support of them. 

It puzzled me so much that they could do this that I began accepting Facebook invites from Muslims I didn’t know just so that I could have hope of understanding their mind set.

Meanwhile, I read about other apostates from Islam who’d left Islam specifically because Mohammad’s behavior at the Battle of Khaybar offended their sense of humanity.  That was when I realized.  So I thought maybe Muslims in general just didn’t know this was what terrorists were emulating.  I didn’t back in the day after all.  Maybe if they knew, they’d apostate too in favor of humanity.

I looked over the internet to see what Muslims, if any, were saying about the battle of Khaybar.  Much to my disappointment, I found that it was not only well-known among Muslims but they were actually proud of it.  Proud that their prophet committed these obvious crimes against humanity and proud that the terrorists among them do the same.  They even went as far as calling it “noble” of all things!

I no longer consider them or their religion redeemable.  It’s a cancer among us.

6.  Right and wrong.  Maybe I’m being unfair.  Maybe it’s not all that black and white.  But it seems to me that if it’s unharmonious, destructive, cruel, and oppressive to people its WRONG.  But Islamists don’t see it that way at all.  They think it’s right.  I just wonder if they’d like to be treated the way they treat non-Muslims.  I suspect they’d whine about it to beat the band and call it grotesquely unfair.

Had one say I didn’t have the right to be called human and another that my heart was rotten if I criticized Prophet Mohammad for committing genocide or clerics for calling for it against the Jews and Christians or non-Muslims in general.  Apparently, committing genocide is okay but criticizing the prophet is not.

7.  Souls speaking from the other side have often said the religious concepts of Heaven and Hell were wrong; fairy tales even.  There is an afterlife, but souls are only segregated from one another by free choice and character.  Like naturally coalesces around like.  Some just see what they want or expect to see.  There is no punishment or reward.  That only happens on earth. 

8.  Karma only happens on earth.  What goes around comes around here because we are limited in the physical and cannot see the greater whole.  We either get along or we don’t.  You get what you get.  The parameters are heavily dependent on your own conduct.  But only here. 

Here is where it matters.  Don’t justify the harming of others unless you wish to justify their harming you in return.  Treat others the way you want to be treated and life will be better for everyone. 

I sincerely wish they taught that very simple thing in all religions since those of us who are not religious still have to live among them.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Aliens, Art, Computers and Internet, Middle East, News and politics, Paranormal, Relationships, religion, social pychology, Terrorism, Thoughts and Dreams, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soul Musings

  1. We Baha’is believe, first of all, that faith is rooted in the Golden Rule. With regard to the afterlife, Biblical alliteration seems way off the mark- especially references to anything physical (“Wailing and gnashing of teeth”-what teeth?

    Like

  2. “It bugs me that people out of body will experience and report back things about the spirit and the afterlife and religious people will often dismiss them out of hand if it doesn’t meet with their paradigms.”
    I’ve thought a lot about this. It’s always interested me.
    You have deep, important soul musings.
    I can relate to the seeing in the dark. I am that way, too.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

