Oh for the Painted Ladies


DSC08148_49_50_tonemapped copy

There’s something special about San Francisco row houses, also known as “Painted Ladies.”  They’re colorful, artsy, full of intricate architectural frills, graceful, stately, cozy, elegant…. They’re vestiges of another time keeping up with the present just fine, thank you very much.  They’re part of pattern, superficially all alike, yet each one is different, very much its own individual.

Victorian Houses, San Francisco 6309234732_071972c568_z bad54ce5ecbacf1c77805042892cfb26 617f9c77fef133f5bb5d5b1488f32ad9 181b7a56fed76fe3e3560767fa1c83ca 800px-Haight_Ashbury11 2e005de83f7ca20c969999fc9ea2c1de

Inside, they’re a curious eclectic blend of old and new, haute style and quaintness.  They have a very new age feel to them despite being built in Victorian and Edwardian fashion.

P_Victorian M_Old_World_interior_Chateau_de_Vie jony-ive-home-san-francisco4 ARGUS    DIGITAL CAMERA 362052e80d371ceb081eaa63d0bf8d80

I guess I’d kind of love living in one, if not for all those stairs.  Stairs hurt me. 

I can’t help but find stairs fascinating, though, similarly to the way I find doors fascinating.  metaphorically, they’re both transition points.  But doors are portal to parallel spaces whereas stairs ascend or descend between places, progressing or digressing.

But with these houses, I always see the stairs going up into a kind of heaven.  I may be out of breath by the time I make it to the top, but I’m going to be high above the mundane when I get there, in a higher place in every sense of meaning, and the views of the city, the Palace of Fine Arts, and the San Francisco Bay is going to be breathtaking!

I may never come down again.  I may just nest there like a happy little bird.

Yeah, I’m busy designing a bunch of them in Sims 3.  They’re beautiful, what can I say?  And the Sims can climb all those stairs for me so I don’t have to.  What a deal, eh?

Okay, enough from the peanut gallery.  Back to work with my daydreaming self.  You too slacker!

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Design, Thoughts and Dreams. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oh for the Painted Ladies

  1. sistermae says:

    This are beautiful I love colorful, what can I say colorful makes me happy happy happy….Are any of your books on Kindle?

    Like

  2. Ampbreia says:

    Happy is good. I couldn’t get enough of gawking at the beautiful things when I visited San Francisco this September last. They really light the eyes, don’t they? And yes, both my books are on Kindle. My Kindle that I got for Christmas a few years ago is one of my favorite toys.

    Like

  3. Beautiful photos! 🙂 I lived in SF for almost eight years. It is still one of my favorite cities! 🙂
    Yes, daydreaming is fun. 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. The stairs, anywhere in San Francisco, are a delightful counterpoint to all that wonderful cuisine one encounters. This is true in the Painted Ladies, and on the Filbert Steps.

    Like

  5. Ampbreia says:

    Ah. Because climbing all those stairs helps you work of some of the calories from that wonderful cuisine?

    Like

Leave a Reply

