Thoughts on Immigration


Is it just me, or is legalizing illegal immigration some kind of weird oxymoran?

I couldn’t get citizenship for my Iranian born son even though I was born and still am an American citizen. He was past the age of sponsorship by the time I was finally in contact with him but I paid to put through his paperwork anyway, only to be told that he had to go through Special Registration even to get a vis…a to visit since Iran is such a well-known sponsor of terrorism against the U.S. My son’s reaction was one of fury when I told him that so, no, he never did get his citizenship. And now Obama is inviting in thousands of undocumented alien Muslims while refusing sanctuary to Yazidis, Christians, and apostates from Islam. WTF?

Okay, but aren’t undocumented aliens in other countries, Iran among them, arrested and deported if they’re lucky? Why the hell should the U.S. be any different? Being different in this area does NOT necessarily make us better. It might make us foolish in fact.

It seems we have a chimp in the White House. He thought cutting a deal with the terrorist regime of Iran was a good idea too and he expects nothing in return from them, not even a modicrum of good behavior.

Okay, though, all that aside, legal immigration can be a daunting obstacle course for many and there are times when think it would be better if people could move freely throughout the world so long as they behave in accordance with the laws and mores of the countries they move to AND can support themselves therein.

These simple rules should apply:
1. respect the flag, the laws, and the people of the nation you’re in. Don’t come here burning our flag, demanding Sharia, or protesting our ways. You do, you get deported. Period.

2. Commit a violent crime (rape, torture, assault, murder) against anyone and you get punished before being deported. You have no reason to expect protection under our laws if you weren’t born here and haven’t sworn your fealty to this nation. You could be dropped from a helicopter into shark infested waters for all I care if you are found to be practicing or even contributing to acts of terrorism.

3. Support yourself. Don’t come here expecting handouts. We’re all struggling enough to support our own. You don’t get privileged treatment.

Otherwise, fine:

“Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame,
With conquering limbs astride from land to land;
Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand
A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame
Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name
Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand
Glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command
The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame.

“Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!” cries she
With silent lips. ‘Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!'”

Just behave yourself properly once you get here and no one will contest your right to stay.  We’ll even welcome you.  We’re not asking for that much in return.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Family, Middle East, News and politics, Relationships, Terrorism, Uncategorized, work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

