The Doctor is In


We drove down a busy highway eclosed in a glowing silver fog, thick as pea soup. Jeb was my Doctor Who and I was his companion of the moment. Did that make his old brown Buick a TARDIS (Time And Relative Dimension In Space)? I’m not sure. Looked like an ordinary car to me but I suppose it COULD have been a TARDIS in disguise.

The Doctor was glancing from side to side as often as he was to the front, clearly looking for something in the fog and making me nervous that the one thing he wasn’t looking at was all the other traffic. I braced myself for impact at any moment now.

“OH!! OH, Oh, oooooh!!!!” he suddenly exclaimed, full of excitement. And then he jumped suddenly out of the car (aka TARDIS).

OMG! Did he just do that? Yikes! I thrust back the cup-holding dividing arm, jumped into the driver’s seat, and cranked the wheel to the right, into the margin, just missing hitting the car ahead by maybe a single foot, if that.

I had to sit way forward in the seat to reach the petal, which put my head below the dashboard for a moment. I popped up then, having hit the brake but seeing that there was a man in a trench coat and top hat walking slowly in the margin, I realized I’d have to get back out into traffic to avoid hitting him. I was stopping way too slowly.

In the rearview mirror, I was relieved to see my crazy Doctor somehow safe in the margin picking up a… oh. It was his sonic screwdrivver. WTH?

I pulled off on the very next exit, thinking to drive across the overpass and go back around to pick up Jeb, but the steering wheel wouldn’t turn that way. No. Instead the car turned into the parking lot of a convenience store on the righthand corner and parked, all on its own initiative. Damn headstrong thing! I could NOT get it started again!

So while I’m sitting there fuming and slapping the dashboard, up walks the Doctor and I stare at him in disbelief before quietly sliding back over to the passenger side and letting him in.

“How did you do that?” I asked him.

He shrugged, smiling mysteriously, eyes baiting me with pure mischief.

“WHY did you do that?!” I demanded, hitting him on the shoulder.

“Why did I do what?” he asked, looking genuinely clueless.

“You know what you did!” I shouted, “You jumped out of the car in the middle of the foggy highway! What were you thinking?!”

“Oh that. I was just think that, Oh! There’s the screwdriver I lost last week.”

“I should slap you so hard you regenerate!” I growled at him.

The doctor was unperturbed of course. He started up the TARDIS again and I noticed it had somehow transformed itself into a dusky rose colored monster truck with a luxurious interior.

We drove on back to the highway and the mist that went on forever. We dissolved into the fog. For a while, it was all that I could see.

Then we were sans TARDIS in some sort of huge building. The furnishing were elegant and comfortable. the lighting was dim but in a good way… atmospheric.

“Welcome to Hell,” said the Doctor. But he wasn’t really the Doctor after-all.  He’d changed into someone I didn’t recognize and I realized I’d been duped. The real Doctor was back on the foggy highway somewhere. The one that had me was an imposter. A bad guy.

I wasn’t worried about the Doctor. I knew from experience he dealt with worse all the time. He’d be terribly bored if he didn’t have these life challenges to deal with all the time. It was his secret to longevity.

As for me, I wasn’t afraid. It was a comfortable Hell after all and I had no doubt that I could leave if I really needed to, that I wasn’t in any real danger. It was like that feeling you get when you visit a fake haunted house at Halloween. Everything there is geared to scare you, but nothing to hurt you. If they hurt you, it’s all over for them so they don’t dare.

This is all I remember clearly. There was something about a girl there that I loaned a piece of clothing to, but it’s all disjointed. I woke up around then.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Aliens, dreams, Thoughts and Dreams, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Doctor is In

  1. You have really interesting dreams. I haven’t had any interesting dreams lately. At least ones that I can remember.

    Like

  2. The Hallowe’en Dream, no doubt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

