Back Into Time – 1


Stale cigaretts, ashes, and fast food wrapers. That was what I noticed most about his car as the clean bright snow-capped mountains, trees, and fields swept past. His face was worn, his hair gone grey, yet I remembered as we drove, remembered this soul in a place outside of time. Here were the seasons turned and the years actually meant something, I was aware again of what we were.

“It’s hard to remember too much. You lose focus. You forget what you’re doing. You forget where you are.”

“Where am I?”

“In Smart-Ass-Ville. Don’t do this, Ceres.”

“I have to. I don’t want to forget you or lose my way back here.”

I loved how the springy thick green moss grew everywhere, even beneath the flowing crystalline waters of the brook, and bloomed in tiny stars of rainbow hues. I loved the trackless forest, the white throated roar of countless falls, and the way the trees sang, the scent of flowers and warm pine mulch…

“Forget me?” she asked, incredulous. “You dolt. It’s yourself you’re going to forget. You have to leave something behind and that’s what it’s most likely to be.”

“Not so. Well, not necessarily. I know of more than a few who’ve remembered.”

She doesn’t try to argue this time; instead asking, “Have you decided on destination then?”

“Yes!” I grin at her. “I’m going back to where I’ve just come from.”

“Oh no. Not there.” She looks panic stricken for a moment. “Seriously?”

“Totally.”

I hand her the little blue disk and she takes it, a deep crease furrowing her otherwise luminous smooth brow.

And so I’d gone back into Time. The transition itself I cannot recall. But I remembered him; remembered that one of the reasons I came was simply because he was here and he’d need me. We’d been friends long before time began and had met up often in the Garden of Elysium out past the belief territories. Only last time he hadn’t been there and I’d gone back into Time again in hope of retrieving him.

Just a story idea I’m playing with.  Tell me what you think?

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in ensoulment, Fiction, Paranormal, Relationships, soul, Spiritual, Time, time-travel, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back Into Time – 1

  1. Most whimsical, on the surface, but given the possibilities latent in Quantum Mechanics, carry it forward and see where it leads.

    Like

  2. jr cline says:

    Catches my imagination. I like tripping through time and space.

    Like

Leave a Reply

