Don’t be a scroogy sultan


I don’t have a high opinion of religion in general. I see it mostly as a tool used by the “Elite” to control the masses and obfuscate true spirituality. It distracts with rote and ritual. It puts so many layers of varnish on Meta-language and the teachings of avatars as to make the real meanings nigh completely oblique to those within… even when they’re obvious to those without.

It both exasperates and amuses me to see someone within deny this only to prove it by reciting the predominant rote, often word for word, with not the least sign of independant assessment.

There’s a lot to be said for taking things on face value. It’s honest at least even if it seems naieve.

You will know the tree by the fruit it bears. It’s an adage, but, I think, a very true one. It’s all about practical discernment.

If someone tells you they’re righteous or trying to act that way and they do terrible things based on that premise, you can rest assured they’re full of Sh*t. That’s how I see the Westborough Babptist, churches that teach hellfire and guilt, those that force or coerce conversion on others, those that kill/torture/abuse/sideline others based solely on their religion, and Muslims that want or practice Sharia in any manner, shape, or form.

Yeah, don’t even try to tell me who sharia is their business alone. It’s not. It’s a whole bloody busybody system for controlling other people’s lives and doing so through acts of extreme cruelty and oppression. There is nothing good in that whatsoever. It’s as plain as the apples on an apple tree. But Muslims can’t see it through all the shallac that’s been applied to their religion.

Amusingly, some people of other religions are also blinded by the Islamic shallac… not because they believe in it themselves but more because the secretly fear that calling out the Islamic shallac would make them vulnerable to either Islamic temper tantrum OR their own shallac being called out in return. So when Muslims recite the old taqya shallac of “Islam is a religion of peace” there are always some fools who will eat that with a spoon despite ample evidence to the contrary.

Idiots.

Purge the dross from your ideology and you will never have to fear a nasty turnabout such as is happening to Islam now. Such as will grow progressively worse until all the dross will be burned away and all the dross spinners alike. Spider webs in flames. Just watch those insidious threads curling up and melting into nothing. And it won’t break my heart at all.

All that aside, there are some things I actually do appreciate about religion: things like charity, kindness, unity, hospitality, art, and metasymbology (which usually manages to outshine the shallac). People find hope and moral strength in some of it even though religion is not actually required for these things but rather serves as a cruch for those who would otherwise feel themselves spirtually weak. Most of the rituals it puts into practice are actual magick forms and a good portion of those are actually… well… Good. And holidays. Happy ones. Opportunities to come together and express gratitude in life both physical and non-physical.

Not all holidays are happy in religions nor are the magick forms always good.

Shi-ite Muslims, for instance, have a holiday commemorating the slaughter of Imam Ali, the son-in-law of prophet Muhammad, who, ironically, conquered Persia, forced Islam on it, and beheaded thousands of Perisian. Yet they beat themselves and their sons, even babies, with barbed chains and swords while the women and girls listen the eulogies of Ali and wail for him in darkend mosques/masjids. Disgusting. Must be an aquired taste.

Pentacostal Christians practice ritual channelling of spirits but with no apparent controls beyond their wrong assumption that the negative and mischievious ones can’t get into them. As a result, this can be a very disturbing thing to witness and I’ve fled a few churches I visited that did this. Now I don’t visit churches at all, but this is only a very minor reason I don’t.

Anyway, not good, but at least not even close to as damaging as the above mentioned Shi-ite holiday/ritual or aztec blood rites and sacrifices of still-beating hearts.

All that said, I still resent the hell out of any people that forbid the positive practices, rituals, or holidays of any religion. I think it’s pathetic, for instance that Saudi Arabia, Brunei, Iran, and others forbid the celebration of holidays like Christmas and Valentines days. Or that some non-Muslim religious types forbid celebrations of any kind. These are what you call stick-in-the-mud’s. Like wicked Phoebe in a episode where the Charmed ones are tainted with black magick, I’d like to turn them into real sticks in the mud for being such sour sorts. You forbid hope, joy, and gratitude and all you have left is dross.

The Sultan of Brunei says his ban on Christmas is because it’s celebration “could damage the faith of Muslims.” Anything that makes Muslims question their faith is called “fitna.” The is the category any positive aspects of other religions fall into in Islam. Meanwhile, he’s step-by-step installing draconian sharia law in place of compassion and civil/human rights.

1393379_764514700242374_1089731996_n

How fragile are some religions that must forbid the good in order to keep people mired in a sea of negativity and oppression?

Pulls down lower eye-lid and stick tongue out that Islamist monstrosities in power.

Akanbe01

Merry Christmas to everyone else. I hope you enjoy, share, and cherish it no matter what.

1627190-1920x1080-desktopnexus-com.jpg

Basically, I hope you dance.

About Ampbreia

I'm an ex-Pentacostal, ex-Muslim, ecclectic Agnostic with slightly Wiccan leanings. I am not affiliated with any organized religion or political platform, but I do believe in magic and all things wise and wonderful. I work as an admin in a calibration lab. I've published 2 books so far this year: Lost in Foreign Passions: Love and betrayal, passion and loss in the heart of an alien land (a memoir of my time as a Muslimah and living in Iran for a year), written under my previous married name, Debra Kamza, and Dream Lover (a paranormal romance, the tale of witch that summons her favorite character out of a Bewitched spin-off and the actor who plays him as well). I'm constantly writing stories and poems, thoughts and dreams, and quite a few opinions - many of which are not popular but oh well. Bite me. I'm interested in art, animals, the paranormal, and people. I love to dance, all sorts, but have been studying belly dance since 2006 and LOVE it! I love anime too and love dressing up and going to conventions. My writing runs the gummut of historical, science fiction, fantasy, romance, and erotica. Beware: I may not be safe reading for work. Just saying....
This entry was posted in Art, Dancing, Magic, Middle East, News and politics, Paranormal, religion, Seasons, social pychology, Spiritual and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t be a scroogy sultan

  1. Blessed Christmas, Debra and family. I honour everyone’s positive celebrations.

    Like

  2. Argus says:

    Everyone should have Freedom Of Religion … oops, make that ‘Freedom of Belief’. No? I changed it because religions and freedom are contradictions—I watched a TV doco the other night: the cuckoo in the nest, as soon as strong enough, chucked out all the other (real) eggs whilst Mother bird placidly sat by and watched.

    When confronted with a rabid dog reasoning with it won’t work.
    Invasive religionists are in effect mad dogs. Not good (some more mad than others, some more active than others—but all quite irrational).

    Having actively pushed ‘total freedom’ all of my long life I (too late) see the fault in that ideal. Freedom does indeed carry within it the seeds of its own destruction.
    We need a better system, but in the meantime the Islamic invasion will win. The best I can hope for is a delaying action that will see me (and my way of life) safely dead first …

    Like

    • Ampbreia says:

      Are you British? Why so fatalistic? Do you really not understand how bad it would be to live under Sharia law if you were allowed to live at all or how quickly it could happen? I can’t imagine just letting that happen, just assuming it will. I plan on fighting it with everything I have in me. PeeCeeism will do nothing but further it, so I have sworn off PeeCeeism entirely where Islam is concerned. Freedom isn’t at fault for what’s happening in Europe and many other places. PeeCeeism and cultural relativism is. Fight those things. Call a spade a spade. Murder and rape are murder and rape no matter who commits them. And allowing people into our nations who don’t agree to assimilate and follow our laws must stop… even if it hurts their feelings. Immigration has always been a tactic well employed in Islamic expansionism. Another thing that can nip it in the bud is closing mosques that preach terrorism and to not allow funding of mosques and madrassas by outside nations like Saudi Arabia or Iran. Japan, China, and Russia are employing these methods and they’re turning back the tide. If the tide is not turned back we will all suffer for it. Please don’t just roll over and surrender. A take over can happen fast. Look at Indonesia and Lebanon, for instance. For them, it was almost overnight. Take overs like that result in the enslavement of women and mass beheadings of thousands of non-Muslims and marginal Muslims too. I see nothing remotely acceptable about that. Do you?

      Like

  3. Argus says:

    If you read any of my posts you’ll see where I’m coming from. Apologies for the sarcasms I often use, it’s the only tool a despairing person has left sometimes.

    Yes, I’m British. And kiwi (both) currently living in the deep south of NZ.

    I’ve considered posting to the effect that literature promoting both violence and ant-social behaviours be banned (Putin tried that, but even he had to backtrack very smartly).

    But to ban literature is to go hard against the tenets of Freedom as I’ve been espousing them myself. I always used to think that in fully open forum the bad would lose.
    Not so—the bad will win. What did the Americans use to wryly say during the Vietnam unpleasantness— “We regret that it was necessary to destroy the village to save it”
    I tell everyone that yes, it IS an invasion, and yes, it is fourth generation warfare (4GW) but brilliantly applied. The drowned kid, the soggy refugees, are simply disposable tools used by the tens of thousands of militants; the greater glory of their ‘religion’.

    I’d post on this too but feel that I’ve done it to death and may be losing my audience (such as it is). People will see only what they want to see and they don’t want what I offer.

    PC? Don’t get me started …

    I like what I’ve seen so far of your writings, don’t stop.

    Like

Leave a comment